We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place for breakfast (now in the Coast Hotel)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vic's Steakhouse

Vic's Steakhouse
511 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N7, Canada
403-609-5441
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 103 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Vic’s Steakhouse, a passionately Canadian steakhouse offering Sterling Silver Beef, fine wines and unique menu items inspired by the communities where our restaurants are located.Passion for WineAt Vic’s we have searched Canada’s top wineries and breweries to build a beverage menu that we are proud to serve. Our Chefs have vigilantly selected each bottle in our collections to ensure we offer a variety of flavours to compliment each menu item. From local wineries to international favourites, our extensive wine selection has something for everyone to enjoy. On your next visit to Vic’s Steakhouse, browse our menu or ask about our monthly features.Passion for FoodVic’s Steakhouse is dedicated to preparing the finest foods and a truly enjoyable dining experience for every guest. Each restaurant showcases their own unique recipes that are carefully selected based on local clientele and created with the freshest ingredients accessible in that particular region. From the prairies to the west coast, savour the flavours of local cuisine with every bite. Although the menu varies from restaurant to restaurant, there are a few signature dishes you can find at each location. Visit our Signature Dishes webpage to learn more about these menu items.Passion for ServiceOur restaurants are passionate about providing each guest with an enjoyable and memorable experience. We believe that with a professional and interactive approach we can offer our guests an exceptional level of service and have fun too! In addition to our service team’s friendly hospitality, they are also knowledgeable and committed to the efficient execution of a consistent, timely and quality product.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Our favourite place for breakfast (now in the Coast Hotel)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We have been here several times for breakfast, usually early in the morning. Opens at 6:30. Always consistent, lots of food for the price ( we order from the menu ), and service is friendly and efficient. Recently we had breakfast on our birthday and out breakfast was free. Nice touch!! Parking is best on the west side by the outdoor ponds and small walking bridges. Vic's was in was the Radisson but now the hotel has changed names to The Coast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Made the best anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Absolutely amazing, dinner and brunch were both very good. A little pricey but worth every penny and they take care of dessert appies and coffee at least they did for me and my wife for our anniversary.
Will definitely go back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, good service. Very relaxing and enjoyable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We went to Vic's Steakhouse for supper at the recommendation of our hotel's front desk clerk. The restaurant is located on the main floor of the Radisson hotel. We were staying at another hotel, but had no trouble accessing the restaurant from the street. I had steak, my wife had chicken. Both of our meals were very delicious. Both meals came with a mashed potato dish that, unbeknownst to us, had cheese mixed into it. My wife can't eat dairy, and when we informed our server, he was more than happy to exchange it for something she could eat. Judging from other reviews, our server seemed to be more an exception to the rule, but we were very happy. We'll be eating here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We were shoved into a corner!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We went there on a Monday at 2:20pm as while their menu clearly states that lunch is being served until 3pm, we were not seated in the dining area but shoved into a seating area past the dining room with couches and a small coffee table. We were a group of 6 amd even after I stated that I have secere back problems an could not eat lunch at a coffee table the waiter only shrugged, saying their dining room was bejng set up for supper. We were the ONLY people in the restaurant but it took close to 40 min to get our meal, which cosisted of a kid's cheeseburger, two orders of calamary, brushetta flatbread, a ruben sandwich with a french onion soup and a vegetable panini with a house salad! The waitress asked in the beginning if we wanted drinks and after we stated we were still deciding didn't even come back to ask if we had decided. The food was ok. The calamary very small portion for $12. The sandwiches were plenty. The kid's cheeseburger had nothing on it and the waitress never came back so we couldn't ask for mustard. Our waters were never refilled! To top everything when we got the bill they had added a 18% automatic gratuity ans while I understand it for groups of 8 or more, 6 seemed a bit rediculous (especially sunce we were the only people in the restauant!) and I did not see anything written in the lunch menu of this at all. When I inquired with our waitress, she tated that is ther custom and it is so I don't hae to worry about it at all. Even my 10 year old daughter commented that the waitress made it sound like it's a good thing for us! I would have certainly not given an 18% for such treatment!!! I would never go back and do not recommend this place. How hard would it have been for them to clean one table after we left to prepare for supper? There is plenty of other restauants in Canmore that I'm sure would appreciate your business a whole lot more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Brunch, Terrible Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had a family brunch (7 of us) at Vic's on a Sunday morning. We were all very impressed with the selection, variety, and taste of the food. The man making omelettes was fantastic and provided a wonderful service. The big problem was with our waitress - she was surly, rude, and absent for much of our visit. Considering the fact that all she needed to do was pour coffee and clear plates, her service was appalling. After waiting for her to appear to refill coffee for some time, we found the coffee pot and filled our own, then when she reappeared she told us off, saying that we were not supposed to pour our own coffee - that was her job! The same scenario occurred with clearing plates. She made repeated rude and snide remarks to all members of our party, then upon paying the bill, she apologized for the problems with the service, adding that she "hoped it wouldn't affect her tip"! When one member of our party told her why she was not receiving a tip from him, again she came back with a rude retort. This waitress should not be working in the service industry.
The long and short of it is - the food was fantastic, but I'm not sure if we'll be going back here after the shocking treatment from the waitress. We're locals, and we know we can get treated properly elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vic's Steakhouse also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Vic's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vic's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.