We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back and dedicated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Francois Restaurant

Chez Francois Restaurant
1604 2 Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1M8, Canada
(403) 678-6111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 103 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Laid back and dedicated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

they are serious about their cooking having a great selection and tasty food. service is there when you need it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    62
    20
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Food is amazing, service outstanding, atmosphere perfect. One of the best meals we have enjoyed in the past year. Authentic french cuisine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
1 review
“Good food, bad tipping policy on Valentine's Day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had booked our Valentine's Dinner at Chez Francois as this was our first visit to Canmore and the menu and other reviews were good. We didn't realize that they would have a set menu ($60 each) which was a four course dinner. The food was very good and as much as it was more than I wanted to pay (as the quantity was more than we needed), it was Valentines Day so I was OK with it. The issue I had with the entire experience was they automatically added an 18% tip onto your bill. Our waiter had only been on the job for 5 days and as much as he tried to be organized, he had issues with answering questions about the menu, had too many tables to look after and I had to ask to have my water glass filled. Tipping should always be at the descretion of the person paying the bill in small groups and this left a bad taste in my mouth and we will not return because of it. I feel we were being gouged because it was Valentine's Day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

if you are looking for a good place to eat breakfast or lunch, this is the place for you to go in Canmore.
I am giving it a 4 instead of a 5 star, just because right before paying they have a 20% tip only option in their debit machine, which I found a bit presumptuous, left a bad taste in my mouth. however ill be back because it is a fantastic place to eat.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great breakfasts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a great breakfast here! fancy big omelette, great service, very reasonably priced. Their menu selection is vast, try something fancy that you wouldn't normally get, totally worth it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Francois Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Chez Francois Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Francois Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.