We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Francois Restaurant

Chez Francois Restaurant
1604 2 Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1M8, Canada
(403) 678-6111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 87 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Saint Jerome, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It was quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I went by myself on a Friday night for diner. The place was empty, what a shame. The waiter was very nice, made sure I did not run out of water, food was great (vegetarian pasta) and the "tarte tatin" was absolutely delightful.
Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    74
    26
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Didn't Disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I went here on Oct 28th to celebrate our anniversary.
We each had the three course dinner.
My wife ordered snails (I cannot spell escargot) as the appetizer, chicken St Jacques and chocolate mousse.
I had pate, pork with a maple glaze and chocolate mousse.
(I am getting hungry again as I type)
My wife said the snails were gritty as if they had not cleaned them. the man course was very good with chicken, shrimp and one scallop.
My pate was excellent, they make it there. The maple glaze on the pork was outstanding.
We both liked the mousse for dessert.
One glass of wine, one coke, tea and coffee and the two three course meals with tip was just over $100.00. Not an unreasonable price for a touristy town like Canmore.

Would I go back? Definitely!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“not really up to its reputation...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

we made plans specifically to stop there for lunch but were quite disappointed, probably because we heard a lot about how good this restaurant was. Perhaps the Dinner menu is a little more sophisticated than the Brunch/Lunch. overall pretty standard food/services. Not an unforgettable place.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food was very good !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visited this restaurant as the nearest to Econolodge, we liked a menue, service was good, food was very nice, pices- affordable, nice atmosphere, but no more visitors... we were alone which is pity to the restaurant !Sure they would like to serve the clients....it might because of mid-season

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor service and food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This restaurant is over rated !!!!!!!! Service is awful and the food matches the service. We went there because of locals recommendations. We ordered the eggs benny, it came cold, it took 20 minutes to get waited on, no extra coffee and so on. We went back because we thought it's just a bad day for them. Again, we tried the eggs benny same thing, cold, no extra coffee and the service was less than poor. We will never be back. If you want great eggs benny take the extra time and go to the Bison in Banff it's the best and well worth the extra 20 min drive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Francois Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Chez Francois Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Francois Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.