We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Francois Restaurant

Chez Francois Restaurant
1604 2 Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1M8, Canada
(403) 678-6111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 105 restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $14 - $56
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Canmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went for a late Sunday breakfast with family. Relaxed atmosphere, child friendly, and a very extensive breakfast menu. Everyone was very pleased with their food. The only downside was slow service. It's a big restaurant and doesn't seem to have enough staff to go around on a busy day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    87
    49
    14
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ATL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great breakfasts of eggs Benedict, french toast and crepes. Recommended to us for French dinner but we tried the breakfasts and were delighted with the food and service. I had eggs Benedict and raspberry cream cheese crepes, they were great and served with crispy fried potatoes and fruit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Will not be returning!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Recently had a short stay in Canmore and wanted to try some local restaurant's. We used reviews online and decided to give Chez Francois' a try. Our waitress greated and seated us, asked if we had any questions about the menu and was very friendly. She made some recommendations on the menu stating everything was very good but pointed out a couple of her favorites.

I ordered the Sweet Benny with Strawberry & Cream Cheese Crapes and the Canadian Back Bacon Eggs Benedict. My husband ordered Eggs Benedict with Spinish and Tomatoes and a side of sausage. When the meal came the Waitress said she forgot to place the order for the sausage but it came quickly so that was no problem. When my husband cut into his Egg it was not Hard Poached as requested and sent the meal back for the correct cooked eggs. When the plate came back it was SO hot that you knew the plate had been microwaved. The egg he had cut into was still on his plate, the spinich was not wilted and gross looking and the english muffin which also still had his original cut marks in was soggy and wet.

The waitress came around to see how we were doing and we annouced that we were done and stated that we thought the food had been microwaved as we could see the cut marks from when it was originally served. Another waitress chimes in saying "NO, I know it's new I was back there when she did it!" She was very loud, rude and half way across the room when she made her point. How embarrassing that everyone was now looking at us!

Our waitress, however, was very kind and appologized many times and with no questions removed the meal from our bill. However with this type of service I would not recommend this place to anyone!

Who microwaves food and sends it back out!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great French Restaurant in Canmore, Alberta.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were at Chez Francois for brunch and enjoyed it a lot. You must make a reservation, since it's quite busy. I recommend you the eggs benny and the crepes, they are delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You have to have the omellette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

There were no dislikes, friendly service, lovely wine and delightful food, both times round we enjoyed brunch and they did not let us down.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Francois Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country

Been to Chez Francois Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Francois Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.