We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not bad.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Drake Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Drake Inn to your Saves list
The Drake Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   909 Railway Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W1P3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 Canmore B&B and Inns
Luseland, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's not bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

It's really not that good of a hotel but it is really not that bad of a hotel either. When I checked in I got upgraded to Creekside.

Good: It had an excellent location (Right on railway avenue so you didn't have to drive to get to places). Our room had a nice 42'' flat screen TV and a mini fridge (I don't know about what the other rooms had, I had a creekside room which is a little more extravagant). The creekside view is absolutely stunning.

Bad: No air conditioning, just a plain old stand up fan (It gets really hot in Canmore during the summer.). People are allowed to smoke outside of their rooms (The smoke sometimes blows into your room (I had this problem) ). Limited parking access (If there is a party, you can almost never find a spot). Poor continental breakfast (Only toast, cereal, milk, and coffee. And it is in the office of the hotel). On the bottom floor everybody can see you. The beds creak very loudly.

Overall: Its not a bad hotel to stay in, but if you can do better for the same price or even just $10 or $20 more, take it.

Room Tip: The creekside is only $10 more than the standard room and it appeared to have a few more amenities t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    22
    9
    18
See reviews for
21
35
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Although there were not a lot of extra's, we were mainly there to sleep. They have put a lot of effort into updating their rooms, and it shows! Very friendly staff, and an inviting pub attached to the Inn! Only complaints were some paint chipping and the water pipes were a bit noisy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

this hotel was very outdated, not impressed with it at all. It did have a nice view but that is about the only good comment I have for the lodge. I have left an item behind ( that wasent cheap) called back th next day once i realized it was not with me and they said it was not there no cleaners have seen it. Over all i was not pleased at all with the hotel, service & very mad about my item i have not gotten back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

If you're looking for a cheaper place to stay this is it. It's a little outdated on one side (where we stayed) but everything was fresh and clean. We arrived at night and so the next morning we were amazed at the beautiful view from our window!

They have updated the rooms on the creek side so if you are there for a more then a night ask for that side (or just ask for an updated room).

The breakfast was lacking but that's ok because there is a great place to eat not far from there...The Summit Cafe (1001 Cougar Creek Dr). Sit outside and enjoy a great breakfast there.

When we plan our next trip, we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Me and my family (two young children) just spent 3 nights at the drake inn canmore, the only thing i would have to say was lacking was a modern update for the washrooms, but the view from the balconies far beyond made up for that. the two ladies that helped us at the front desk
went beyond what they needed to (the one lady even mailed hotel keys that we forgot to leave back in golden for us!!) we will deffinately return here, and would highly reccomend.

Room Tip: ask for a mountain view (i think they call them a skyview) room, well worth it, even if you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

As a rule almost every place I stay, I have enjoyed the stay wherever it is. Most of the time I have positive comments to say. I cannot say that for this motel. I will start with some things I did like about the place. It has a nice river flowing beside the motel and a good view of the mountains. Quite beautiful. I saw some nice walking paths nearby as well. It is close to many amenities and is easy to get around from this location.

We were going to a wedding in Canmore and needed to check in around 2:00 pm in order to get ready for the wedding. We called ahead to see if this could be done and was informed that would not be a problem, and there would be a ten dollar charge an hour to do so. We agreed to this and confirmed this with the person on the phone. When we got there, we told the attendant on duty that his has been arranged. She seemed upset by this and told us that there was no early check in. When we explained we had called ahead to arrange this, she asked us who we talked to. I said I did not ask for her name. She said they have rules against early check in and they could not accommodate us. We pointed to a sign on the counter at the check in desk stating “early check in – $10.00 per hour”. This is also stated on their web site. Make a long story short, she was rude and upset by this. The room was dated and smelled of disinfectant and mildew. In all fairness the room was quite clean. They have a bar below the rooms and had a hard time falling asleep from the music and people partying outside the bar. Also, there is no air conditioning and having a window open to cool off the room was impossible due to the noise.

There is better bang for the buck in this town for accommodations. No doubt I will pick another place next time in town.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, get a room by the river, not near the bar. Having said that, book ahe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The accomodation was actually a Motel ,without a lift,so if you were on second or third floor it was quite a hike with a large suitcase.The rooms were clean,and staff were helpful and polite,but the continental breakfast was very poor and the breakfast "room" only had 3 tables.The Inn itself had lots of character and beer and food was quite good,again ,staff were great,but its true ,you only get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Recommend a room away from Inn as they have late night bands
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Drake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Inn

Address: 909 Railway Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W1P3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Drake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Canmore, the Drake Inn offers great rooms at unbeatable rates. Whether you're out for business or simply for pleasure, come and experience our relaxing atmosphere complimented by personable staff who always extend a warm & sincere welcome. The Drake Inn offers standard and creekside rooms and one hospitality suite. Banquet and meeting room facilities available, Full restaurant and bar with live entertainment every weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Drake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Canmore
The Drake Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.