We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere eles” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Drake Inn

Save Saved
You added The Drake Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Drake Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   909 Railway Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W1P3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 34 Canmore B&B and Inns
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stay somewhere eles”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

this hotel was very outdated, not impressed with it at all. It did have a nice view but that is about the only good comment I have for the lodge. I have left an item behind ( that wasent cheap) called back th next day once i realized it was not with me and they said it was not there no cleaners have seen it. Over all i was not pleased at all with the hotel, service & very mad about my item i have not gotten back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    24
    13
    8
    16
See reviews for
16
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

If you're looking for a cheaper place to stay this is it. It's a little outdated on one side (where we stayed) but everything was fresh and clean. We arrived at night and so the next morning we were amazed at the beautiful view from our window!

They have updated the rooms on the creek side so if you are there for a more then a night ask for that side (or just ask for an updated room).

The breakfast was lacking but that's ok because there is a great place to eat not far from there...The Summit Cafe (1001 Cougar Creek Dr). Sit outside and enjoy a great breakfast there.

When we plan our next trip, we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Me and my family (two young children) just spent 3 nights at the drake inn canmore, the only thing i would have to say was lacking was a modern update for the washrooms, but the view from the balconies far beyond made up for that. the two ladies that helped us at the front desk
went beyond what they needed to (the one lady even mailed hotel keys that we forgot to leave back in golden for us!!) we will deffinately return here, and would highly reccomend.

Room Tip: ask for a mountain view (i think they call them a skyview) room, well worth it, even if you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

As a rule almost every place I stay, I have enjoyed the stay wherever it is. Most of the time I have positive comments to say. I cannot say that for this motel. I will start with some things I did like about the place. It has a nice river flowing beside the motel and a good view of the mountains. Quite beautiful. I saw some nice walking paths nearby as well. It is close to many amenities and is easy to get around from this location.

We were going to a wedding in Canmore and needed to check in around 2:00 pm in order to get ready for the wedding. We called ahead to see if this could be done and was informed that would not be a problem, and there would be a ten dollar charge an hour to do so. We agreed to this and confirmed this with the person on the phone. When we got there, we told the attendant on duty that his has been arranged. She seemed upset by this and told us that there was no early check in. When we explained we had called ahead to arrange this, she asked us who we talked to. I said I did not ask for her name. She said they have rules against early check in and they could not accommodate us. We pointed to a sign on the counter at the check in desk stating “early check in – $10.00 per hour”. This is also stated on their web site. Make a long story short, she was rude and upset by this. The room was dated and smelled of disinfectant and mildew. In all fairness the room was quite clean. They have a bar below the rooms and had a hard time falling asleep from the music and people partying outside the bar. Also, there is no air conditioning and having a window open to cool off the room was impossible due to the noise.

There is better bang for the buck in this town for accommodations. No doubt I will pick another place next time in town.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, get a room by the river, not near the bar. Having said that, book ahe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The accomodation was actually a Motel ,without a lift,so if you were on second or third floor it was quite a hike with a large suitcase.The rooms were clean,and staff were helpful and polite,but the continental breakfast was very poor and the breakfast "room" only had 3 tables.The Inn itself had lots of character and beer and food was quite good,again ,staff were great,but its true ,you only get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Recommend a room away from Inn as they have late night bands
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Though the weather didn’t cooperate we still loved our time in the Canadian Rockies .Living in Hawaii it is nice to remember that there are parts of the world where the weather does indeed change. We picked The Drake for the price we where surprised by the great view’s our room had and a great location for just over a $100 tax in we got a room in downtown Canmore. For those of you who have not had a chance to visit Canmore it is an idyllic little town situated a mere one hour drive from Calgary. We checked in rented some bikes and spent two days exploring the little town with its abundance of good restaurants , interesting art galleries and great nature walks all a few minute walk from the Drake

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Drake Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments, yes rain or shine Canmore has great pricing on accomodations year round.
Enjoy your summer.
Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We spent our honeymoon in Canmore and stayed at the Drake Inn, The staff there went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as they could, we could not have asked for more. We are now saving up to spend our first anniversary back in the Rockies and without a doubt we will be staying at the Drake.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Drake Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Congratulations on your wedding day, the Drake staff look forward to your anniversary visit, please let us know when you are coming ahead of time and we can add a little romance to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Drake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Inn

Address: 909 Railway Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W1P3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Drake Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Canmore, the Drake Inn offers great rooms at unbeatable rates. Whether you're out for business or simply for pleasure, come and experience our relaxing atmosphere complimented by personable staff who always extend a warm & sincere welcome. The Drake Inn offers standard and creekside rooms and one hospitality suite. Banquet and meeting room facilities available, Full restaurant and bar with live entertainment every weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Drake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Canmore
The Drake Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.