We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Fire Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fire Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   121 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with another couple and our dogs. Great place for families, friends or anybody who plans a longer stay in Canmore.

We had a two bedroom place and it suited our needs perfectly. Each bedroom has an ensuite (perfect for two couples) and there is even a bathroom on the first floor. The beds were comfortable and there were even bathrobes for you.

The bathrooms are a little cramped, but we made it work.

I didn't realize this before, but the sheets/towels are only changed once you check out (they do not change it every day). If you want fresh towels/sheets every day, you will pay a surcharge.
Kitchen was great - microwave, stovetop oven, fridge and dishwasher (that didn't wash things very well we found - might want to rinse before using!) They say it's "fully stocked" but it was lacking in a few things ex. Spatulas, only 4 plates etc. so if you plan on making bigger meals, you may want to bring a few of your own things.

There is washer/dryer too, which is super convenient!

Free wifi is available and pretty good.

Overall, really happy we stayed here and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya W, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review surfergirl84,

I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Fire Mountain Lodge with your friends and your animal family. Our condo style suites are convenient with a washer & dryer in all suites, a full kitchen with all the amenities at home, and complimentary wifi internet. At Fire Mountain Lodge we do offer vacation cleans, should extra requests come in our housekeeping team is always happy to accommodate these requests. I look forward to welcoming you back to Fire Mountain Lodge in the near future.

Tanya Yurko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
34
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SW Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Overall a great experience. A group of 6 (3 couples) shared a 3 bedroom condo here for 4 nights. The condo was clean, (but a little tired..paint chips on the walls, shakey toilet, frayed carpet)..but nothing major. The condo was a touch smaller than anticipated, but overall we never felt crampt. The location was awesome, the views from the king sized bed-room and patio were amazing, the queen and double bed rooms were tight!! Room for the beds, a night stand, and that was about it. No other furniture in the room. Again not a big deal as we only slept there. The king room had a nice ensuite and the other two bedrooms shared a bathroom which was no problem. The kitchen was stocked pretty cooked with just about everything you needed to make your own meals, dishes, utensils, pots, glasses, mugs, coffe maker, microwave, fullsizd fridge, stove, etc.

The hottub was also a nicwe hot temp.

The only major drawbacks was there was the 'service' as there is no staff or front desk on site. I also tried calling the property a few times before we arrived on a few different days ...nobody answered and their 'voice mail' was full..?? Check in and check out was at another property, and would have been nice to have someone there to refer a cab company, or direct us to good places for dinner. Also towels were a little chintzy in quality and number (for 6 people for 4 days). Also, like other reviews the parking is tight!!! We had a midsize and found it very cramped, if you havce a large suv..good luck!

Overall I would certainly recommend this place. It was quiet, and smaller, with great views.A lot of the other condos views in the area would be blocked by other condos, so overall this was a good property!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela L, General Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear tragicallyhip,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Fire Mountain Lodge and taking the time to write a review. The views of Canmore are certainly breath-taking and I’m glad that you and your friends were able to enjoy it from the patio. It sounds like you had the chance to enjoy all of our amenities as well as our facilities and as we pride ourselves on providing a warm, relaxing environment for a getaway such as yours, it’s always great to hear guest feedback that reflects that.

I do apologize for not being able to reach our front desk staff at The Lodges to get the service that you were needing. We are addressing the voicemail issue and we will be revisiting the transfer button to change it to the appropriate location. I hope that you were able to enjoy the sights of Canmore and had the chance to enjoy the great restaurants Canmore had to offer.

I hope that you have the chance to revisit Canmore in the near future and if you do, please let us know that you are a return guest and we will be more than happy to provide you with a repeat guest’s rate on most dates. Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to Fire Mountain Lodge or any of our Bellstar properties sometime in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in the 2 bedroom condo and would go back. Our unit was clean and very functional for a group of 6 (three bathrooms are awesome). BBQ was a big plus. Be ready to for a tight squeeze into the parking spaces, especially for a larger vehicle (some tenants are not so considerate with leaving room for others). Wifi signal was a little weak in our unit. If you want a better view, ask for the upper units. Close enough to downtown shopping and bars.

Room Tip: Upper suites offer a better view. Wifi was a little weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Glqba,

Thanks for the awesome review. Great to see you enjoyed your stay in our clean well equipped suites and appreciated our proximity to downtown! I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
-Adrian,

“Awesome, quiet, private!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 NEW
Really enjoyed our stay in the 2 bedroom condo and would go back. Our unit was clean and very functional for a group of 6 (three bathrooms are awesome). BBQ was a big plus. Be ready to for a tight squeeze into the parking spaces, especially for a larger vehicle (some tenants are not so considerate with leaving room for others). Wifi signal was a little weak in our unit. If you want a better view, ask for the upper units. Close enough to downtown shopping and bars.

Room Tip: Upper suites offer a better view. Wifi was a little weak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainwright, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Fire Mountain is a great option for a reasonable condo accomodation in Canmore. My family and my brother and his wife stayed here with us for the weekend. We had lots of room to visit and play ( for our 14 month old) and relax with the bedrooms on another floor. We each had our own bathrooms too which was nice. Condo is close to downtown too. We always love visiting Canmore but Fire Mountain makes it that much more relaxing!

Room Tip: Rooms on upper level have valuted ceilings and the rooms are on the top level. Bottom units have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Travelagentless,

We greatly appreciate your 5* review of our property! Wonderful to see you appreciated our spacious relaxing suites and great location. Looking forward to welcome you and your family back.

Kind regads,
-Adrian,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Fire Mountain Lodge Aug 8-10, 2012 and enjoyed it. We had a 2 bedroom suite that had 2 ensuites as well as a half bath downstairs. Both bedrooms were lovely. The view off our balcony was awesome and we found that the condo had all we needed. We used the outdoor hot tub that was thru the gym facility, as well as our bbq on our deck. The kitchen was stocked well (minus tinfoil) which I probably should've known better and brought myself! Close walk to downtown for any bars or restaurants. We were in town for a wedding, so we were unable to do any hiking, but there's always next time. My only complaint was that the condo had a some dings and dents here and there on the walls, so probably time for a paint touch up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Kowi,

Thanks for the great review. Delighted to see you appreciated the awesome mountain views, hot tub, BBQ & kitchen. We do re-paint the walls as part of our periodic deep cleans. I hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the Rockies!

Kind regards,
-Adrian,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Fire Mountain Lodge for Thanksgiving weekend in a 2 bedroom condo set up. First, the good stuff: The place was nice and we got a great view out the balcony window of the mountains. All the appliances worked well and the place was modern and relatively clean. Quite close to downtown Canmore (3 min. drive). Even though there's no staff on the premises, when we needed supplies for our room ( we needed more towels and bed sheets), they brought it promptly to our room.
Not so good stuff: The parking is very, very tight so if you have a big car, you might be in trouble. Some of the cleanness is questionable. The one bed sheet had a live bug in it and we checked it out throughly to make sure it wasn't a bedbug because it really did look like one. Also, we found a used bandaid stuck to another bed sheet. Yuck! Thirdly, if you have problems with stairs, this place has no elevators so make sure you request a main floor unit. You'll still get stairs (all units are 2 floors) but at least you have only one set to climb. Lastly, the booking staff at this place phoned us 2 weeks before our arrival to tell us that they were overbooked and that they had to move us to a completely different location. That was fine with us but when we got to our assigned condo, turned out that other people were staying there and they had moved us again but didn't bother to tell us! We had to phone the main office and find out for ourselves what had happened. Very inconvenient (as were travelling with 2 kids and 2 seniors) and very unprofessional. Next time, we might try another place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the great views, our appliances, and location at Fire Mountain Lodge. As there is no on site front desk staff, glad to hear that linens were brought promptly to your suite. I apologize for the lack of cleanliness in the suite, and will follow up with the head of the housekeeping department. I also apologize for the confusion with communication betweeen front desk and yourself. I will make sure in future that communication is much clearer. We do try to make all guests stay both memorable and enjoyable and would like to welcome you back in the future as a repeat guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria bc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. Thursday and Friday in early September 2012. When we arrived we needed to check in at a completely different building a short drive away. We promptly returned to change our room as the bedrooms in our unit were downstairs, not up, as implied by the photos. We changed to a room that had upstairs bedrooms with a view of the mountains. Lovely. In the morning we set about making coffee and thought it odd there was water in the coffee pot already. It did not work and I guess the last folks did not report it. We were brought a new coffee pot also not working. Just as promptly a third pot arrived fresh out of the box. We did use the BBQ to cook dinner the second night and were able to enjoy the patio. We never did get to the hot tub. Internet service was poor/slow. Overall the room was comfortable and quiet. The guest in the room facing the paved lot said they could hear the train. We chose Canmore for its proximity to Banff. Grocery shopping is a short drive away. This lodging was 1/2 way through our trip so we did some laundry here too. Laundry, dish and dishwasher soap were all provided. These little things are not always included and I appreciated that. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with bedrooms upstairs and the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi Family Travels,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor! Great to see you appreciated the mountain views, BBQ, patio, location, laundry equipment and supplied detergents. Apologies for the coffee machine that didn't work upon your arrival, but glad to see we got that sorted for you. Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

-Adrian.
Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fire Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Lodge

Address: 121 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain Lodge mixes the amenities of a resort experience with the privacy and independence of your own condo. Stunning views of the famed Three Sisters peaks, Lawrence Grassi Ridge and Rundle Mountain draw the breathtaking outdoors into every room, while the urban-inspired interiors entice you to stay for good. Resort Amenities •Outdoor hot tub (open year-round) •Exercise room with men's and women's change rooms •Covered parking •High speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fire Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Canmore
Fire Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.