We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fire Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Fire Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Fire Mountain Lodge Aug 8-10, 2012 and enjoyed it. We had a 2 bedroom suite that had 2 ensuites as well as a half bath downstairs. Both bedrooms were lovely. The view off our balcony was awesome and we found that the condo had all we needed. We used the outdoor hot tub that was thru the gym facility, as well as our bbq on our deck. The kitchen was stocked well (minus tinfoil) which I probably should've known better and brought myself! Close walk to downtown for any bars or restaurants. We were in town for a wedding, so we were unable to do any hiking, but there's always next time. My only complaint was that the condo had a some dings and dents here and there on the walls, so probably time for a paint touch up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Kowi,

Thanks for the great review. Delighted to see you appreciated the awesome mountain views, hot tub, BBQ & kitchen. We do re-paint the walls as part of our periodic deep cleans. I hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the Rockies!

Kind regards,
-Adrian,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
37
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Fire Mountain Lodge for Thanksgiving weekend in a 2 bedroom condo set up. First, the good stuff: The place was nice and we got a great view out the balcony window of the mountains. All the appliances worked well and the place was modern and relatively clean. Quite close to downtown Canmore (3 min. drive). Even though there's no staff on the premises, when we needed supplies for our room ( we needed more towels and bed sheets), they brought it promptly to our room.
Not so good stuff: The parking is very, very tight so if you have a big car, you might be in trouble. Some of the cleanness is questionable. The one bed sheet had a live bug in it and we checked it out throughly to make sure it wasn't a bedbug because it really did look like one. Also, we found a used bandaid stuck to another bed sheet. Yuck! Thirdly, if you have problems with stairs, this place has no elevators so make sure you request a main floor unit. You'll still get stairs (all units are 2 floors) but at least you have only one set to climb. Lastly, the booking staff at this place phoned us 2 weeks before our arrival to tell us that they were overbooked and that they had to move us to a completely different location. That was fine with us but when we got to our assigned condo, turned out that other people were staying there and they had moved us again but didn't bother to tell us! We had to phone the main office and find out for ourselves what had happened. Very inconvenient (as were travelling with 2 kids and 2 seniors) and very unprofessional. Next time, we might try another place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the great views, our appliances, and location at Fire Mountain Lodge. As there is no on site front desk staff, glad to hear that linens were brought promptly to your suite. I apologize for the lack of cleanliness in the suite, and will follow up with the head of the housekeeping department. I also apologize for the confusion with communication betweeen front desk and yourself. I will make sure in future that communication is much clearer. We do try to make all guests stay both memorable and enjoyable and would like to welcome you back in the future as a repeat guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria bc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. Thursday and Friday in early September 2012. When we arrived we needed to check in at a completely different building a short drive away. We promptly returned to change our room as the bedrooms in our unit were downstairs, not up, as implied by the photos. We changed to a room that had upstairs bedrooms with a view of the mountains. Lovely. In the morning we set about making coffee and thought it odd there was water in the coffee pot already. It did not work and I guess the last folks did not report it. We were brought a new coffee pot also not working. Just as promptly a third pot arrived fresh out of the box. We did use the BBQ to cook dinner the second night and were able to enjoy the patio. We never did get to the hot tub. Internet service was poor/slow. Overall the room was comfortable and quiet. The guest in the room facing the paved lot said they could hear the train. We chose Canmore for its proximity to Banff. Grocery shopping is a short drive away. This lodging was 1/2 way through our trip so we did some laundry here too. Laundry, dish and dishwasher soap were all provided. These little things are not always included and I appreciated that. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with bedrooms upstairs and the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Hi Family Travels,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor! Great to see you appreciated the mountain views, BBQ, patio, location, laundry equipment and supplied detergents. Apologies for the coffee machine that didn't work upon your arrival, but glad to see we got that sorted for you. Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

-Adrian.
Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at these serviced apartments many times several years ago and were always very pleased.

However, it seems that this establishment and its management have gone way downhill.

The rooms were old and poky, tattered around the edges. Incomplete set of plates, pots, etc. (some unclean). They advertise Internet access, but it did not work and despite many calls to reception to sort out the issue, nothing was done.

Furthermore, we left some items of value in the room. Called later that night to inform them and were promised a call back from lost and found division, but nothing. Called them three times since, still no callback.

So add dishonest housekeeping to your list too.

Not good. Will never stay again. Much better options in Canmore in our opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hi Paul S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on tripadvisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I will follow up with both the Maintenance and Housekeeping departments. We do endeavor to return left items back to the guest, I will follow up with our Lost and found department.

Kind regards,

-Adrian.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Beds were comfortable and layout good. Nice to have covered parking close by. However the cleaning service is questionable I had to wipe out the fridge and there were other things too. (vacuuming being one other thing). The view is only nice if you can sit where you can't see the junk and dumpsters. The hot tub is too small for a large complex like this.
Reservation staff is very friendly, patient, and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hi Kathy U,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you to see you appreciated comfortable beds, layout, covered parking and friendly helpful staff. I have addressed your housekeeping comments with the relevant department. We appreciate the feedback and use it to constantly improve our services.

Kind regards,
-Adrian,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our first reaction when we walked in was WOW. We couldn't believe what we had actually booked as the pictures didn't do it justice. We had originally looked at staying in Banff but we would have only got a room for the same money, so far the sake of staying 15 minutes away we ended with 2 bed/2.5 bath with kitchen, lounge, dining and laundry room and amazing views. There was a small patio with built in BBQ and outside the bedrooms downstairs there was an open garden. I'll be uploading photos when we get home so you can see for yourself but I would definitely recommend people to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in condo 101 (1st floor) which had amazing views from the lounge, if you were to stay on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Hi Barmybag,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our great property. I am happy to see you appreciated the magnificent mountain views, value, facilities and all the extra space compared to staying in a regular hotel room. It really is a home from home. I hope we can welcome you back to our suites at Fire Mountain Lodge!
Kind regards,
-Adrian
Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have stayed at another Bellstar property in Canmore in which we have had fantastic stays. We needed a third bedroom and so chose this Bellstar as it offered a third bedroom option. That was our first mistake...thinking the service and quality would be the same. Be aware...this is really a motel...with outside doors leading onto one long coridor with one flight of stairs. First of all there is no staff on site, which means you check in in another resort and also have nobody there to turn to when assistance is required. The room was all it said it would be....but the quality of the room is not the standard we have seen at Blackstone. Walls dented/rug burned/carpeting unravelling/rack in oven didn't fit this oven so couldn't lift it off the bottom as it would not stay. No flat cookie sheet to use in the oven for something as simple as baking a frozen pizza. Shower nozzle in the main bathroom had a mind of its' own so had to constantly adjut it to keep water flow on you. No water pressure in either shower. Fridge hummed loudly all the time. VERY loud for the person sleeping on the hide-a-bed. And if that isn't enough you can definitely hear the train 4 times a night! This is not the case with the Blackstone (which is just up the hill). With no staff on the property the partiers had the stairwell all to themselves as late as they wanted!!!!! No need to adhere to the quiet times as there is nobody there to monitor that. Sure we could "call the number at the other property" but there is no phone in the master bedroom and waking up the lucky people that may be sleeping to go get my cellphone and the number was not an option! Lastly, the hottub faces a 9 foot fence...with no views/was luke warm at best with jets one could barely feel. Looked VERY tired. Bottom line..not worth the money. The Bellstar label was deceiving. Never again!

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel unless you are lulled by the sound of the train going by 4 times a night o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Hi DonY,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We do offer 24/7 on call service from our neighbouring property, the Lodges At Canmore. I will have maintenance look into the shower & oven issues you experienced.

Kind regards,
-Adrian
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fire Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Lodge

Address: 121 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain Lodge mixes the amenities of a resort experience with the privacy and independence of your own condo. Stunning views of the famed Three Sisters peaks, Lawrence Grassi Ridge and Rundle Mountain draw the breathtaking outdoors into every room, while the urban-inspired interiors entice you to stay for good. Resort Amenities •Outdoor hot tub (open year-round) •Exercise room with men's and women's change rooms •Covered parking •High speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fire Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Canmore
Fire Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.