We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Oldish, Service Poor and NO Internet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fire Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Fire Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fire Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   121 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rooms Oldish, Service Poor and NO Internet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at these serviced apartments many times several years ago and were always very pleased.

However, it seems that this establishment and its management have gone way downhill.

The rooms were old and poky, tattered around the edges. Incomplete set of plates, pots, etc. (some unclean). They advertise Internet access, but it did not work and despite many calls to reception to sort out the issue, nothing was done.

Furthermore, we left some items of value in the room. Called later that night to inform them and were promised a call back from lost and found division, but nothing. Called them three times since, still no callback.

So add dishonest housekeeping to your list too.

Not good. Will never stay again. Much better options in Canmore in our opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hi Paul S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on tripadvisor. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I will follow up with both the Maintenance and Housekeeping departments. We do endeavor to return left items back to the guest, I will follow up with our Lost and found department.

Kind regards,

-Adrian.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
34
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hugo, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Beds were comfortable and layout good. Nice to have covered parking close by. However the cleaning service is questionable I had to wipe out the fridge and there were other things too. (vacuuming being one other thing). The view is only nice if you can sit where you can't see the junk and dumpsters. The hot tub is too small for a large complex like this.
Reservation staff is very friendly, patient, and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hi Kathy U,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you to see you appreciated comfortable beds, layout, covered parking and friendly helpful staff. I have addressed your housekeeping comments with the relevant department. We appreciate the feedback and use it to constantly improve our services.

Kind regards,
-Adrian,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our first reaction when we walked in was WOW. We couldn't believe what we had actually booked as the pictures didn't do it justice. We had originally looked at staying in Banff but we would have only got a room for the same money, so far the sake of staying 15 minutes away we ended with 2 bed/2.5 bath with kitchen, lounge, dining and laundry room and amazing views. There was a small patio with built in BBQ and outside the bedrooms downstairs there was an open garden. I'll be uploading photos when we get home so you can see for yourself but I would definitely recommend people to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in condo 101 (1st floor) which had amazing views from the lounge, if you were to stay on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Hi Barmybag,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our great property. I am happy to see you appreciated the magnificent mountain views, value, facilities and all the extra space compared to staying in a regular hotel room. It really is a home from home. I hope we can welcome you back to our suites at Fire Mountain Lodge!
Kind regards,
-Adrian
Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have stayed at another Bellstar property in Canmore in which we have had fantastic stays. We needed a third bedroom and so chose this Bellstar as it offered a third bedroom option. That was our first mistake...thinking the service and quality would be the same. Be aware...this is really a motel...with outside doors leading onto one long coridor with one flight of stairs. First of all there is no staff on site, which means you check in in another resort and also have nobody there to turn to when assistance is required. The room was all it said it would be....but the quality of the room is not the standard we have seen at Blackstone. Walls dented/rug burned/carpeting unravelling/rack in oven didn't fit this oven so couldn't lift it off the bottom as it would not stay. No flat cookie sheet to use in the oven for something as simple as baking a frozen pizza. Shower nozzle in the main bathroom had a mind of its' own so had to constantly adjut it to keep water flow on you. No water pressure in either shower. Fridge hummed loudly all the time. VERY loud for the person sleeping on the hide-a-bed. And if that isn't enough you can definitely hear the train 4 times a night! This is not the case with the Blackstone (which is just up the hill). With no staff on the property the partiers had the stairwell all to themselves as late as they wanted!!!!! No need to adhere to the quiet times as there is nobody there to monitor that. Sure we could "call the number at the other property" but there is no phone in the master bedroom and waking up the lucky people that may be sleeping to go get my cellphone and the number was not an option! Lastly, the hottub faces a 9 foot fence...with no views/was luke warm at best with jets one could barely feel. Looked VERY tired. Bottom line..not worth the money. The Bellstar label was deceiving. Never again!

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel unless you are lulled by the sound of the train going by 4 times a night o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Hi DonY,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We do offer 24/7 on call service from our neighbouring property, the Lodges At Canmore. I will have maintenance look into the shower & oven issues you experienced.

Kind regards,
-Adrian
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed for one month in a nice two bedroom suite with two bathrooms and great views of the surrounding mountains.

We had a big Gas BBQ on the balcony we used frequently and a cosy gas fireplace in the living room.

After a day on the slopes the hot tub was very relaxing for us!

The main street with its shops and restaurant is in walking distance.(Thai Pagoda Restaurant with a hugh beer selection is our favorite!)

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

One thing would be great: If you come for a month a "midstay cleaning" would be nice in the wintertime!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Hi JR,
I am delighted to see you had a great stay at Fire Mountain Lodge, appreciating our mountain views, BBQ, balcony, gas fireplace and Hot Tub! We are happy to offer a mid-stay clean for a reasonable charge. Happy to see you found our staff friendly and helpful.
Hope to welcome you back someday soon. Thank you for the wonderful review!

Kind regards,
-Adrian
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at the 3 bedrooms suite and it was very nice, except the wifi signal is very weak and just available in several area. The kicthen is full equipped and the room is very clean and comfortable. We've enjoyed our stay but hope the wifi would be improved.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Hi Robert H,

I am glad you enjoyed our clean, comfortable and well equipped suites. I will address your Wi-Fi comments with our technicians. I am glad to say the majority of the property has fairly comprehensive coverage, but we will certainly look into any improvements we can make.

Kind regards,

-Adrian,
Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Fire Mountain Lodge for a week this winter and absolutely loved it. We had a three bedroom suite which was more than enough room for us. The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen was very well equipped and the entire place was beautifully decorated and charming.

Even though they were very busy, we didn't hear our neighbours at all. It was quiet and peaceful - just what we were looking for in a getaway.

It was so nice to wake up everyday and look out the huge windows and all you see are mountains.

Room Tip: We had one of the pet friendly rooms. But they are all great with the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_FireMtnLodge, Manager at Fire Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Hi Ann G,

Thank you for the really positive review of our wonderful property. As you correctly pointed out, all of our suites offer amazing mountian views. I hope we can welcome you back for another relaxing mountian retreat sometime soon.

Kind regards,
-Adrian
Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fire Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fire Mountain Lodge

Address: 121 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fire Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fire Mountain Lodge mixes the amenities of a resort experience with the privacy and independence of your own condo. Stunning views of the famed Three Sisters peaks, Lawrence Grassi Ridge and Rundle Mountain draw the breathtaking outdoors into every room, while the urban-inspired interiors entice you to stay for good. Resort Amenities •Outdoor hot tub (open year-round) •Exercise room with men's and women's change rooms •Covered parking •High speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fire Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fire Mountain Hotel Canmore
Fire Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.