We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay on the edge of the Rockies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creekside Country Inn

Creekside Country Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Creekside Country Inn to your Saves list
Creekside Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   709 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay on the edge of the Rockies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent one night at the Creekside Country Inn on our way back to the airport. The Creekside Country Inn is in a very quiet location and is somewhere between a Bed and Breakfast and a small hotel.

The room was large and very comfortable - We stayed in a few different places while we were travelling around the Rockies and this was definitely the most nicely decorated. There was a downstairs area with a lounge and bathroom. The bedroom was on the mezzanine floor. The only slight issue was that the blanket on the bed was a bit dusty and made us both cough. However we swapped it for the spare one in the cupboard and that was fine. The rest of the room was very clean though.

This was the only place we stayed at which included breakfast in the price. As we needed to leave quite quickly the next day, this was very welcome and we were very pleased with the wide choice on offer.

Overall we were very happy and would stay here again if we are in Canmore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    5
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. It is neat and clean and the views from the rooms are beautiful. The lofts are definitely more roomy than the regular rooms. Our room was basic and clean. The bathroom door hinged the wrong way and exiting the bathroom was therefore quite a mission! Breakfast was from 8 to 9:30 and was pretty decent. We played table tennis in the basement at night which was fun. Overall a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and liked it. The room we were in, the Cougar Suite, was small and the bathroom door was weird. Great bath tub for soaking - best I have ever been in.

The CCI is quiet and the Common area is wonderful for evening relaxing and reading. The Breakfasts have a wonderful choice of foods for everyone's interests.

Would stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Canmore is a charming town close to Banff. We spent 2 nights at the Creekside Country Inn which is a B&B but feels more like a cozy hotel. The Iron Goat is a great restaurant within walking distance. A long walk or drive to town for other choices. Larger rooms have a loft, continental breakfast is served from 8 - 9...early birds may be a bit disappointed by this. Eric and Peter gave us great tips for sights to see and eateries. Overall very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We would like to thank the CCI staff for the attention to the little details during our stay in Canmore. Your recommendations for eateries, directions and local flair was much appreciated. The room was cozy, set in a convenient location and very reasonable. Peter went the extra mile in providing us excellent customer service! Thank you for your hospitality

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Le Spring, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

A nice place, in a very good location. Our room was very clean, a good size with a decent en suite.

Breakfast is a little basic, but the baked goods were very nice.

I found the hosting on the impersonal side, with ours hosts a little indifferent to our presence. To sum it up as we left our keys when leaving our host didn't thank us or wish us a safe onward journey, in fact they said nothing.

Don't get me wrong it's a nice place, just not super friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at the Inn to do some exploring of Kananskis country. Positives are that it's comfortable enough and the room was pleasant and quiet. It was good being a little outside the town but a walk in (30 mins or so, but easy enough)

But we felt it was a little overpriced for what you got. And the service really could be better.and the welcome warmer. Certainly, you could get information if you asked for it, but nothing more was volunteered than that by the staff. No-one really knocked themselves out or acted as though service and warmth might be something you offer as part of being in the hospitatilty business!

For example, returning from dinner one evening, we met up with a couple who'd left their keys in their room and were locked out - there was no-one at reception to help and when they tried the cellphone number, there was only a recording. Eventually it did get sorted and they weren't without a bed for the night - but I would never expect to be in that situation when staying somewhere, I consider having someone available to help is a minimum level of service.

There's no folder of information in the room on how things worked or about local amenities or dining possiblities (though a comprehensive information rack downstairs) TV reception was very poor - if this matters to you, it might be worth specifying when booking as apparently it's better in some rooms. However, paradoxically, wi-fi recepton was fine in our room which was a plus.

In terms of eating, there's a pleasant enough pub/restaurant next door - the Iron Goat - with a terrific patio with views of the 3 Sisters mountains which makes for a good easy option if you don't want to walk/drive into the town centre.

We don't regret staying at Creekside Country Inn, but probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with goof wi-fi or tv reception when booking, if that matters to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creekside Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Country Inn

Address: 709 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Creekside Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creekside Country Inn offers Bed and Breakfast Style accommodation over looking the the Bow Valley at the entrance to Cougar Canyon. Featuring over 14,000 square feet of guest space, Canmore's Creekside Country Inn can comfortably accommodate overnight groups of up to 40 people and house up to 75 people for social gatherings, receptions, reunions, dinners and activities. Our Sunview Room and Lady MacDonald Lounge have big River-Rock fireplaces and wall-to-wall windows providing breathtaking vistas of the Canmore's surrounding Peaks. Creekside is a non-smoking property and offers many amenities such as: daily house keeping, ski storage and high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Creekside Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Country Hotel Canmore
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn
Creekside Country Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creekside Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.