We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy room, awesome hosts, fantastic food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Alpina B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stella Alpina B&B
Save
You added Stella Alpina B&B to your Saves list
1009 9th Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1Z5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Canmore B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cosy room, awesome hosts, fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Stella Alpina for 2 nights with our 5 week old son and in a word the weekend was perfect! Anneke and Carmelo were lovely hosts and we really enjoyed their company. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The were so accomodating, especially considering the fact that we had a tiny baby with us. Even our little boy was happy staying here, he hardly made a sound the whole weekend! We will definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
41
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our room was huge and could accommodate up to five people with a room divider. We couldn't beat the proximity of Stella's to downtown, which was only a couple of minute walk. The area is very quiet with the Bow River also very close.

Breakfast was arranged at a common time (you can make other arrangements), but this allowed us to meet some of the other guests. Carmelo and Anneke have us now hooked on mushrooms as a result of their wild mushroom omelettes. Given the social atmosphere of breakfast, it ended up running longer than usual with long conversations with our hosts and fellow guests, but that wasn't a bad thing.

Carmelo and Anneke are wonderful hosts and after 16 years of running a B&B, they seem to genuinely enjoy it and the people they meet.

The only thing for us that we thought could be improved was the mattress and pillows, which we found hard and uncomfortable. We appreciate bedding is always a personal thing, so our issue may not be your issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Carmelo and Anneke would be the most friendly and helpful hosts we have encountrered anywhere in the world (and we have stayed at many B and B's ). Large well appointed rooms, great breakfast and helpful advise. We had to tear ourselves away otherwise we could be still talking to Carmelo and Anneke at lunch!!!!!!!!!!!!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We found Stella Alpina a few years ago when we were looking for a B & B in Canmore. We recently stayed there again, returning for the 4th year in a row. It has a very welcoming atmosphere and Carmelo and Anneke always treat us like long lost friends who have dropped in for a visit. The rooms are large and very comfortable with unique furnishings suitable for a mountain getaway. Breakfast is an "international" experience as we have met other guests from Australia, Europe and South America. It reminds us of dining on a cruise ship! The home made breakfasts made us want to linger and enjoy the experience. It is a perfect location from which to explore the beauty of the Canadian Rockies. We look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: The Flower Room is our favourite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stella Alpina is a wonderful place to stay. It is located in a quiet part of Canmore near a forest and very close to the Bow River. The rooms and the dining room are neat and beautifully decorated, and the garden has won local garden competitions several times. The hosts (Carmelo and Anneke) are very friendly, helpful, and interesting people who can share many interesting stories with you, particularly things related to their vast experience in exploring the many parts of the Canadian Rockies and the area's plants and wildlife. On the other hand, they are also completely unobtrusive and give you a sense of privacy when you spend time in the dining room, veranda, etc. They serve a delicious breakfast, particularly the wild mushroom omelet (made out of mushrooms that they pick in the forests). During breakfast, there are usually many interesting conversations among the guests (many of them from outside North America: during our stay, we met people from the Netherlands, France, Germany, etc.).

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed 4 days at Stells Alpina and it was a great experience. Carmelo and Anneke are charming hosts and put a lot of effort into making their guests feel welcome. We loved our time there, the B & B is spotless, the food very very good , fresh and seasonal and prepared with love. The location is perfect for exploring the Rockies and the town of Canmore has a certain charm. We met some interesting people at breakfast as we looked out over the snow capped mountains. Most of all it was the friendly, caring attention that comes naturally to Anneke and Carmelo that made our holiday there so wonderful and them such great ambassadors for their area of Canada. It is a shame this wonderful B & B is so far from Australia

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Anneke and Carmelo are excellent hosts. Their wild mushoom omlete for breakfast is excellent. Carmelo makes furniture and decor from local wood, everything from the bed frame to the tissue holder in our room had a homemade touch. The clientele, when we were there, were international, making for interesting discussions. Carmelo recommended areas to visit, and he advised an area which turned out to be the best hike of our trip. Canmore is a nice city. Don't miss the head coming out of the ground sculpture on 8th Street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stella Alpina B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Alpina B&B

Address: 1009 9th Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Canmore bed and breakfast is close to Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada. Enjoy Dutch/Italian hospitality at Stella Alpina Bed and Breakfast in Canmore, Alberta, Canada. Stella Alpina B & B is located just five minutes from Banff National Park and twenty minutes from Banff town site in the majestic Canadian Rockies. Anneke and Carmelo, your hosts, welcome you to their mountain home in Canmore where you will enter a world of uniquely Canadian crafted woodwork. Stella Alpina bed and breakfast is hidden away from the traffic and noise, but is just a short 2 – 5 minute walk from downtown Canmore(map). Stella Alpina Bed and Breakfast is in a peaceful wooded area of Canmore and wildlife corridor where the beautiful Bow River rushes nearby and the breath-taking views of the Canadian Rockies surround you, a perfect hidden retreat for honeymooners and celebrating anniversaries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stella Alpina B&B Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Alpina B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.