We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel poorly situated.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Crest Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Falcon Crest Lodge to your Saves list
Falcon Crest Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3K5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Dog Sledding Adventure
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
GreenLeadersGold level
Tavistock, Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good hotel poorly situated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

There is no doubt that inside the hotel the facilities, staff, level of cleanliness and comfort are very good. My concern, which is not made clear on most Tripadvisor comments, is the location. Canmore is set in a spectacular location but the layout of the hotel does not take advantage of this. We had a room at the back (number 310), on arrival we asked for a room with a mountain view and were offered one at an additional cost of $25 per night, which we declined. The literature states all rooms have panoramic views, we didn't, we had a view of the car park. The rooms at the front overlook mountains through some trees and across a busy road and train track.
This hotel is very good once inside but is quite poorly situated which, for us, was a disappointment. We made these views known while checking out and the receptionist said that the panoramic views comment in their brochure would be discussed with management.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLManager, General Manager at Falcon Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Falcon Crest Lodge, we really appreciate you sharing your experience at our Lodge. I am very pleased to hear that you found the facilities and staff to be very good. I am also happy to hear that you found your suite to be very clean and comfortable. Making sure your stay is comfortable and relaxing is our goal as your home away from home. We hope to see you back again on your next trip to Canmore.

Thank you

Cory Haggar
General Manager
403-678-6150
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    163
    25
    11
    10
See reviews for
205
401
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here twice within a 8 day span. 2 nites and then 1, heading back to Calgary. First was the one bedroom suite, nice mountain views, great kitchen and gas grill on private patio. Wonderful bed and bathroom. Very clean,quiet room and location. Originally tried to stay in Banff, but so glad we didn't after a brief visit there. Very congested and touristy, tons of the walking zombies. Canmore has everything you could need, supermarket, bakery, nice pubs, etc. and only a 15 minute drive south of Banff on a major highway. Also a lot cheaper. Second stay was on first floor which normally we hate but our sliding door opened up close to one of two hot tubs, which was great in the cool evening. As far as the perks. Tons of guide books to use during your stay. A great DVD collection to choose from. All kinds of board and card games on each floor. Daily passes for the park ( that's 20.00 itself) do think it's first come first served. . And bear spray to check out and take on your hike. And get this, as we checked out the first time heading to Jasper we inquired at the front desk where we could purchase some bear spray ( there's is only for guest staying over as it should be). The nice gentleman behind the desk gave us a can that someone gave to him as they were flying out that day, that just doesn't happen a lot anymore. We returned as we stay there on the return trip. Also they gave us 15% off as return customers. We just scratched the surface of Canadian Rockies we will be back an will stay at the Falcon Crest again.

One more thing, dont try to fly out of Canada with your hiking poles as carry on, the will make you surrender them. Different rules up there than down here. Go figure.

Room Tip: Did a lot of searching on the net for prices. Found a great deal on a travel site, then called the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLManager, General Manager at Falcon Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
WOW, what an amazing review. Thank you so much for taking the time out to let potential guests know of you experience here with us. We like to provide a lot of modern amenities so that our guests feel this is their "home away from home", and it sounds if we accomplished that for you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Cory Haggar
General Manager
403-678-6150
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainwright, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We inquired about booking 11 rooms for 30 guests for a wedding and were told to take our request to a different one of their hotels. We asked why they kept referring us to a sister resort and were told "they don't hold space"? isn't that what a reservation is? We did not want the ceremony or any part of the wedding there, just rooms ! In just 3 short confusing emails, she has completely turned us off ever returning to the hotel or any of the sister ones, if this is how they treat potential guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLManager, General Manager at Falcon Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Falcon Crest Lodge. We apologize that our policy is that we do not hold space for groups on weekends. I know this was not the answer you were looking for, and we are sorry for any inconvenience. I apologize as well that you were not happy with the level of service you were provided, customer service is something we pride ourselves on and our goal is to always have 100% guest satisfaction. We thank you for thinking of Falcon Crest Lodge for your big day and we hope you have a wonderful wedding in Canmore with many years of happiness to follow!
Thank you

Cory Haggar
General Manager
403-678-6150
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I spent four days and we are still enjoying the memories and wish we would have stayed longer! Our reservation process with Lindsay was great; professional, courteous and very knowledgeable she went out of her way to make us feel welcome even before we got there! Our room was very well appointed with comfortable furniture, a kitchen and spacious bathroom; also it had a nice balcony with a grill. The view out our sliding glass door was gorgeous. It is located one minute from downtown Cannmore and has underground parking. We are looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: Top floor with a view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLManager, General Manager at Falcon Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely visit with us. All of our staff work hard at ensuring our guests are comfortable and have all that they need during their stay. I am glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable vacation. We do hope to see you again.

Mention you are "repeat guests" to receive a special discount next time you reserve.


Cory Haggar
General Manager
403-678-6150
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel just a few days ago. Will go back again & again! Trisha helped us with our booking and she was friendly, and helpful. Comfortable beds, room with fireplace and kitchen. Quick walk to downtown! Love this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLManager, General Manager at Falcon Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that as always one of your staff was able to go above and beyond. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

See you next time.

Cory Haggar
General Manager
403-678-6150
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Mini condo with wonderful accommodations. Above average furnishings, comfortable beds and fully equipped kitchen. Kitchen appliances were exceptional and first class dinnerware. Staff was very accommodating. This would be my first choice when staying in the area again. Hot tub but no pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLManager, General Manager at Falcon Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. Please note that in the future if you are looking for pool access we can recommend an amazing public facility that is literally a stones throw from our Lodge. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Please mention you are a "repeat guest" next time you reserve to receive a special rate.

Cory Haggar
General Manager
403-678-6150
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed at the Falcon Crest Lodge with my wife, my parents also stayed in a separate room. The views were out of this world, the room was fantastic, the Vietnamese restaurant was great too. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay, drinks in the hot tub was a highlight!

The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to help

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLManager, General Manager at Falcon Crest Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Mention you have stayed with us before next time you reserve to receive a special "repeat guest" rate.


Cory Haggar
General Manager
403-678-6150
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falcon Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Crest Lodge

Address: 190 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canmore
#1 Family Hotel in Canmore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#2 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falcon Crest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are searching for luxurious mountain accommodations located within minutes of Banff National Park, the Falcon Crest Lodge in Canmore offers the perfect setting for your next Rocky Mountain Retreat. Your mountain adventures begin at the Falcon Crest Lodge. Only a five minute drive to Banff National Park, the hotel is also just a short walk from downtown Canmore. Indulge with our hotel features and amenities including granite countertops, fluffy duvet comforters, pillow top mattresses and unparalleled service when you stay at Canmore’s finest hotel. Stay at the Falcon Crest Lodge in Canmore, Alberta and understand why our guests say we are “Soaring to New Heights in Hospitality” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Falcon Crest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Crest Hotel Canmore
Falcon Crest Canmore
Falcon Crest Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Crest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.