We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Wedding Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn to your Saves list
A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   705 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3C7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Canmore B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Perfect Wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

My husband and I dreamed of getting married in the Canadian Rockies and a friend of mine suggested the Bear and Bison Inn. After searching around for a venue, we stopped by the Inn to take a look. Just pulling into the driveway was enough for me and I knew that this was the place that we will be married. We wanted a small wedding and this was the perfect place to have all of our 20 guests gather together (since all were from out of town) and share in our special day. We really wanted a place where our guests could check in, drop their bags and park the cars for the weekend. We didn't want to have everyone have to drive here for the wedding, go there for pictures and then to somewhere else for the reception. The planning was absolutely seamless and our wedding day went off without a hitch. Lonny and Danielle were very accommodating to any request we had throughout the weekend. The weather cooperated and we were able to have our wedding outdoors in their beautiful garden gazebo. The reception meal was exactly what we had asked for and more. All of our guests raved at the selection of foods and the mostly the amazing Lobster Bisque we had chosen. I must say that our guests were well fed and watered and we couldn't have asked for a better place to have had our dream wedding. Our guests can't stop talking about the great service, the great food and the relaxing time they had at the Bear and Bison Inn.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, service and great food
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    19
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
87
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

Whenever possible, I prefer to stay at B&Bs for the reasons that made our recent stay at A Bear and Bison so special: genuinely gracious service, care and coddling directly by the owner, the opportunity to mingle with other guests, unique, romantic accommodations and the little unexpected delights that cinch the deal. Everything at A Bear and Bison rose to that standard. They made dinner reservations for us and recommended two of the best restaurants we've ever eaten at... served gourmet breakfasts... hosted a happy hour each evening with Lonny himself serving the drinks... packed a delicious complimentary picnic lunch every day for each guest... and extended us an exceptional rate on the most beautiful room in the Inn -- whirlpool, fireplace, king-sized bed and views of the mountains from both windows. Even the music softly piped into the dining area -- an eclectic mix of smooth jazz, R&B, country and Irish pub -- was perfect. Thanks Lonny, Danielle and all your staff for a wonderful welcome to Canada. We definitely want to return!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

My wife and I booked our wedding at the Bear and Bison for the July 1st weekend. We were nervous, never having visited Canmore, let alone the Bear and Bison Inn. We relied heavily on the rave reviews the Inn had received and we are thrilled to say they were right on the money.

In terms of a wedding service provider, Lonny and his staff were very prompt and thorough throughout the entire planning phase and proactively offered suggestions for wedding details we hadn't thought of yet. They were polite and friendly and put as at ease.

The Inn itself is magnificent - all of our expectations were far exceeded. Lonny spared no expense for room furnishings and appointments. The views are, of course, fantastic. And the food - several of my guests were almost in tears at some of the masterpieces Lonny prepared. In summary, we couldn't have picked a better Inn to host our wedding. We will definitely be back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn in July, 2006. The rooms were very clean and nicely appointed. The breakfasts were decent, although not to my taste. You do receive a picnic lunch for each night's stay which was very good. One word of caution - one of the people that we met while staying at the Inn had a dietary restriction, but this was "overlooked" during their entire stay (even after reminding the server). Also, sodas and water are provided to the guests at a charge which I found unusual for a B&B.

While the rooms are air conditioned, we found that the a/c unit was quite loud. We also discovered that some of the rooms have shower stalls and some only have whirlpool tubs which have a shower massage (I believe they refer to this as a European shower).

I noticed that one of the other posters mentioned that they were treated rudely by the host. While we were treated well in general, I did notice that the owner seemed to be a stickler for rules and seemed to get aggitated over one of our questions.

While I have stayed at nicer B&B's for the same price, I would consider staying at Bear and Bison if I was in the Canmore area again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

An absolutely fanatasic stay. Our room was divine, very romantic, tasteful and the vista's were fabulous. Breakfast, served in our room, was fit for royalty! Our host was delightful and very gracious. Thank you Lonnie & staff for making the last night of our holiday one to remember!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

Fantastic food, amazing staff, magnificent ambience... all add up to a perfect wedding. Everything at the Bear & Bison was outstanding! Our guests couldn't stop raving about the food, and the atmosphere was relaxed but elegant. We had stayed here previously for weekend retreats, and knew we would have an amazing time. Our guests were absolutely taken with the Inn and many were already wondering when they could return. Thank you so much for making our wedding so easy, comfortable and unforgettable!

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2006

My husband and I spent our 20th wedding anniversary at the Bear and Bison and it was absolutely perfect! Everything was clean, comfortable, quiet and the view is incredible. The staff went out of their way to accomodate our food preferences, and the food was delicious. We felt like movie stars at a luxury retreat. Well Done!
Heather and Jim
Calgary

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn

Address: 705 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by mountains this Bed & Breakfast style Inn is owner operated since 2002 by professional chef Lonny. All guest rooms have been designed for your comfort. 4 poster beds and jacuzzi tubs with views of the rocky mountains from either your balcony or patio. The Inn serves a 3 course breakfast with its B&B rates, you will not want to miss the food. Specialising in small group weddings (2 to 60 persons), the Inn has won awards for service and hospitality and local landscaping. Set below Lady Macdonald mountain in Canmore Alberta you can access hiking trail, mountain biking, cross country and downhill skiing within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Bear And Bison Canadian Country Hotel Canmore
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn
A Bear And Bison Canadian Country Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.