We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mountain Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn

Save Saved
You added A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
705 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3C7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Canmore B&B and Inns
Chestermere, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mountain Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing weekend! Was there for a wedding and everything was fantastic. Great rooms, food, service!! I would recommend it to all. Very romantic for couples. In a good area close to everything. The food was unreal as were the views. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    17
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
81
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a wedding and weekend stay at the Bear and Bison - what a fabulous time! We had all 10 rooms booked for ourselves and were able to soak up the mountain atmosphere in a relaxed way - what a stress-free wedding, thanks to the entire staff at the inn! The rooms were quaint and unique and the food was unbelievable. We also had our two young children with us and their tastes were catered to as well. The staff all were extremely friendly and polite, making sure to pay attention to every detail, which made our bride and groom relax and be able to enjoy their entire weekend.

If I had only one thing to offer (since we should never settle and always strive for better :) it would be to erect a larger sign, or put one near the parking entrance - it was easy to miss.

Thanks for a memorable weekend and know that I will be recommending your hospitality to all!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

You can't go wrong at the Bear & Bison. The team and staff consisting of Marc and many others made mine and my wife's wedding just perfect. They didn't miss anything and my guests were just blown away as well. The food was world class just as their level of professionalism and service. My wife Raegen and I will always recommend The Bear & Bison Inn to everyone. Look no further when seeking for a great place for your venue.

Room Tip: No pools or fitness centre, but then again your in Canmore go walk. It has extremely nice rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We wanted a place to escape. Everything was perfect from start to finish. Marc, who welcomed us, made us feel exactly where we wanted to be. We really enjoyed our time at this place and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we were looking for a place to get away for 24 hours which was close to our home in Calgary. We have been to a Bear and Bison several times before and once again it was a great place to go to. When we got there we were welcomed warmly and given an upgrade from what we had booked.
When we enquired about restaurants to eat that they were very helpful.
The breakfast was superb as usual. The chef who is taking over from the owner while he is in England for a year is doing a great job.
We would highly recommend this b&b to anyone.

Room Tip: the rooms on the top floor have great light and wonderful views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We just held our wedding here last weekend and it was everything we could have hoped for! The staff were amazing, the inn was beautiful and the food was delicious! Our families had a wonderful time and couldn't say enough about it. This is the perfect venue for an intimate wedding or celebration - highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I had the great fortune of having our wedding and the Bear and Bison Inn this September. It was so amazing. Everything. Having a small wedding allowed us to invite all of our guests to stay either at the Inn itself or just next door, which created such an intimate atmosphere for us and our guests. The rooms are so lovely, and everything from the soaker tubs in the rooms, the hot tub outside and the garden was absolutely perfect. Our wedding was held on the grounds and the reception there as well, which was so beautiful and cozy-exactly what we wanted. The food that was prepared for us from the family style breakfast, the basket lunches and of course our reception dinner was the most delicious food and set out in a style that really made everything perfect. All of the staff-Charlotte, Lonny, Mark and Jared are so kind and helpful and we couldn't have done it without them. This is a fantastic place and I we will be back for sure!

Room Tip: All of them are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn

Address: 705 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by mountains this Bed & Breakfast style Inn is owner operated since 2002 by professional chef Lonny. All guest rooms have been designed for your comfort. 4 poster beds and jacuzzi tubs with views of the rocky mountains from either your balcony or patio. The Inn serves a 3 course breakfast with its B&B rates, you will not want to miss the food. Specialising in small group weddings (2 to 60 persons), the Inn has won awards for service and hospitality and local landscaping. Set below Lady Macdonald mountain in Canmore Alberta you can access hiking trail, mountain biking, cross country and downhill skiing within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Bear And Bison Canadian Country Hotel Canmore
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn
A Bear And Bison Canadian Country Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.