We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn to your Saves list
A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   705 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3C7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed here while visiting family and we loved this place! Rustic decor, but very classy at the same time. Gazebo and flowers were beautiful! Stayed in Rm 7, close to hot tub. Breakfast was first class and staff were very friendly. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    19
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
92
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

A Bear & Bison was our choice of venue for our wedding ceremony and reception. The staff ensured that our day went without a glitch and that our guests (whether staying at the Inn or just there for the reception) were well taken care of. The food was amazing and no one went hungry! Far Beyond our expectations!!! Lonny and his staff deserve 5 stars for all they do!!!
We would highly recommend A Bear & Bision to anyone wanting to be treated like royalty!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed at the inn for a week and attended a wedding reception held there as well. The food was fantastic...Starting with a 3 course breakfast every morning and a never ending pot of great coffee. A picnic lunch was also provided for us one day as well. The wedding reception per the bride and grooms instructions was a 10 different dishes, served where ever we were by very polite and efficient staff members.

The inn is well set up for traveling with and without children. . They supplies some toys, games and a sandbox to keep them entertained. Each room of the 10 (I think) is different from each other to allow for different tastes. The things that were the same was the clean, orderly, homey feel to each room with so much attention to detail to meeting your needs. Each of our rooms had coffee presses, tea, coffee, kettle, creamer, sugar and the most wonderful fudge to enjoy... The bath areas included shampoo, bubble bath and lotions supplied by local merchants. These were not just your average supplies but the best scented soaps.. Our rooms were kept clean and restocked every day without any disturbance. The staff were friendly and we were always met with a smile and a "how is your day" or do you need anything. You get to know the staff on a friendly bases. The common areas for all of us included a large dining area and living room area on one floor and on the second floor a intimate reading, conversation area that includes a piano. Throughout the common area was provided for us a very light background music station playing for us to enjoy. The view from the balconies were breath taking. The common area balcony is quite large, with lots of outside comfortable, furniture with a great view of the Three sisters mountains. Also on the ground floor is a hot tub area that is set up so you can enjoy the view and still have privacy. IMHO the inn is a great place to stay as a group or individual, as it can handle each well.. I know I intend to visit again and often.

Room Tip: Share with them what your needs are....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Having our wedding at the Bear & Bison was the best decision - besides actually getting married. The service and management of the details were completely handled for us by Marc, Katie, Charlotte and Dave. We had nothing to worry about - they handled everything. The food was incredible and our guests had the best time enjoying the scenery and having the entire place to ourselves. Thanks and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast for our Daughter and Son-in Laws wedding. This place has an exceptional view of the surrounding mountains, and we were all treated with the utmost respect no matter what our age (Young or Old). Chef/Owner Lonnie had prepared the most scrumptiously delicious foods that one only dreams about. The rooms are very invitingly decorated and the beds are so comfortable that I slept without any problems having 2
back surgeries. The Staff including Mgr. Mark, Katie and Charlotte pampered us and tended to our every need or requirement. Manager Mark also prepared our farewell breakfast which was also awesome. I would like to thank all of you for making us feel so Welcome. We really enjoyed Our stay with you and would most definitely stay with you in the future.

Murray & Gerry Hopfner
Regina

Room Tip: Clean and Cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at the bear and bison for my sister's wedding and incredible, amazing, unbelivable are just a few of the ways to describe the service and accommodations. Our group booked the entire B&B so we where able to see all the rooms and more importanty the wonderful views of the 3 sisters mountain range avalible from all rooms. The food of course was amazing we have to thank Mark and Lonnie for that. The service we recieved from Katie, Charlette (really sorry if i got spelling wrong) was second to none. Like i said the view, food and amenities where great but what i found the most amazing was all of the little things. As a group we have 4 small children with us ranging from 4 years to 9 months and all of the staff where very helpfull and patient with all of the complications that can occur when travling with children (at one time Mark even noticed that my sons nose was running and came over and wiped his nose for us). Again I have nothing but great things to say about A Bear & Bison and will return myself and recomend to all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Stayed here last year, we booked a regular room and because they weren't busy we were upgraded to a honeymoon room. SO NICE! This is a perfect place for a weekend away with your partner.
The breakfast was four courses, I think, and was the best breakfast I have ever had. The owner is a chef and he is super nice and very talented in his trade.
The house is gorgeous, nicely decorated inside and out. They go above and beyond with the little extras here and there. Its nice that its not right in town so its qiuet and we went for a nice walk.
Definitely would recomment this Inn to firends and would love to come back here many times again, talking about it make me want to go right now!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn

Address: 705 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3C7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by mountains this Bed & Breakfast style Inn is owner operated since 2002 by professional chef Lonny. All guest rooms have been designed for your comfort. 4 poster beds and jacuzzi tubs with views of the rocky mountains from either your balcony or patio. The Inn serves a 3 course breakfast with its B&B rates, you will not want to miss the food. Specialising in small group weddings (2 to 60 persons), the Inn has won awards for service and hospitality and local landscaping. Set below Lady Macdonald mountain in Canmore Alberta you can access hiking trail, mountain biking, cross country and downhill skiing within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Bear And Bison Canadian Country Hotel Canmore
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn
A Bear And Bison Canadian Country Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Bear and Bison Canadian Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.