We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, but not quiet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Bear

Save Saved
You added Hostel Bear to your Saves list
Hostel Bear
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Bear
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1002 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6, Canada (Formerly "Bear Country Lodge")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty lodging in Canmore
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, but not quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have stayed at this hostel a few times, and have always found the facilities clean and the staff friendly and helpful. But the trains that run behind the hostel are loud and bothersome. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

Room Tip: A room in the front of the hostel is probably better. But I don't know how the setup is so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for the review, I am sorry you found the train to be loud as we are indeed situated right next to it. We have joined along with each hotel along Bow Valley Trail that also run along the tracks to get them moved just to the other side of the highway. Things look positive and we hope to get this ongoing issue dealt with in the upcoming years. Next time feel free to ask at the front desk to be roomed in a front facing room and if they are available we are always happy to provide you with your requests, we also have earplugs at our front desk for anyone that may find the train a bit loud... or maybe their neighbor is a heavy snorer also :)

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    12
    15
    8
See reviews for
7
13
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a group and several of us had
Bed bug bites all over our bodies from sleeping in the rooms her. It happened in both rooms we stayed in. It does not seem like the management here takes this problem seriously. This affected our whole stay negatively. Else from the bugs the facilities are great. Very noisy common rooms though, always tv or music on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello,

I apologize your stay was not as enjoyable as we would like it to be. As stated in a previous review response we care very much so about any issues that arise during anyone's stay and take pest control very seriously. We have top of the line pest control bedding, soaps, cleaners, and in a rare case like your groups chemicals. These chemicals are 100 percent safe to humans and last on surface for 3 months. These chemicals and other products do have limitations and if there is one person that does not follow directions perfectly unfortunately that problem will follow with that person from place to place. I am happy you could see a slight positive through your negative experience and truly hope you allow us to provide you with accommodation again in the future so you can experience all that we have to offer. We have taken every precaution possible to insure any issues with your room were solved and have been inspected and have had a 100% clear notice. I hope this will make it possible for you to come and enjoy a stay with us in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Bedbugs have been a known problem for this hostel for some time now. We have been forced to stay at the hostel partly because of prior arrangement with a course we're doing and partly because of the no-cancellation/no-refund policy that applies at the hostel. If it wasn't for the money we would go somewhere else, so should probably you.

Any hostel can be unfortunate to get bedbugs but it's the way you deal with them that makes a difference. When the first member of staff find out he said "Oh we'll just spray your room and usually it lasts for a couple of months. I was a bit surprised 1) to hear that it was such a frequent thing and 2) that all they do is spray with their own equipment without getting a professional exterminator.
Bedbugs are notoriously hard creatures to get rid of and where I'm from you'd have insurance to cover these issues.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello,

I am sorry for your negative review of us. We take ever issue very seriously and all staff are trained to deal with any matter put their direction including pest control issues. We take precautions and treat rooms regularly and are inspected monthly. It is an unfortunate event that your group had someone bring these pests with them on their travels and even with the best of our efforts the issue was not able to be resolved until your group leader decided to find other accommodation. As for your understanding of our policy I am sorry you misunderstood our policy. Our policy is designed specific for all hostels within "backpackers". It is a standard policy that reflects majority of issues. There are always certain issues in which policy is changed. We also have a completely separate policy for any corporate group that we deal with. In this case your group leader was fully aware of any policy we had with them and your group had decided to stay at other accommodation with zero penalty towards your group. Proper notice was given.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is wicked! Staff is nice too.
There is a train once in a while but no big deal. I will recomend it to my family and friends. Nice hardwood floors.. Big kitchen.. Pool table.. Bar / Lounge is cool too. The Private rooms are very nice! A warm cottage feeling all around Wood & Fireplaces everywere.. Also free Wifi : )

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello Jack,

Thank you for the review we are glad we could provide you with a pleasant experience. I hope the fireplace was able to keep you warm on what has been some strange weather we have been having lately.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I went to the Hostel Bear in Canmore this past summer.The kitchen is fantastic and the location is great, even with the train tracks just on the back of the building. The problem came when I got bitten by bed bugs all over my body.Staff knew about it and the managment did not care about this issue at all.
This place is infested with bed bugs.
I am surprised no one else has ever written anything about bed bugs in this hostel.
Travellers should know!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello Janette,

I am sorry you feel as though management did not care about any issue you may have had. We take every issue very serious regardless of what that issue may be. We get inspected on a regular basis and have never been given a negative report. We have always taken every precaution possible to make sure our hostel stays pest free. In past months there was been a huge issue arise for all hotels and hostels in traveler destinations from sharing rooms that have travelers from overseas. I believe this may have been the issue with your stay as we get checked bi-weekly in our summer months and no report shows any issues. I hope you can come and allow us to provide you with accommodation again and prove to you how enjoyable a stay with us can be. Management is always available to provide any additional service needed and I hope your experience will not be a forever negative one with us.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Cache, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have stayed here mulitple times now. Staff are helpful and friendly, facilities and rooms are very clean, and you always meet super people from all over the world. I look forward to staying here each time I pass through.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thnank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed meeting some of the many different people we get daily.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Hostel bear close to a dozen times. Staff is always friendly and all areas are generally very clean. I must note that I have only stayed in private rooms with friends, so I have not had to deal with other people.

Room Tip: Second floor is ideal because MANY rooms have broken windows on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpettis, General Manager at Hostel Bear, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello Scott,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you have stayed with us so many times and I hope next time you are available to stay with us you will be able to take part in our new frequent sleeper card. We are currently working out all the design aspects of this card and hope to have it available summer of 2013. Your tip was very helpful for other travelers and have many requests for the top floor. We did have some issues with children vandalizing our lower windows. We believe we have managed to catch everyone causing the issues and are currently working to replace all our windows with newer more energy efficient windows. Sometimes good things happen when problems arise and this has allowed us to further explore our efficient outlook to be greener each and every year. We hope to have each and every window replaced by 2014.... We have a lot of windows:)

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Bear

Address: 1002 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6, Canada (Formerly "Bear Country Lodge")
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Bear 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canmore’s newest hostel! Conveniently located one block from downtown Canmore. The Hostel Bear sleeps 170 guests. The spacious dorm rooms sleep 4-10 guests, with privacy curtains and night lights on each bunk, in addition each room has its own an en suite. Private rooms are also available. Amenities include large fully equipped kitchen, free wireless access and a large common lounge. Our friendly, helpful staff are here 24 hours a day to ensure your stay exceeds expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Bear Hotel Canmore
Hostel Bear Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.