We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More great Stays at the Paintbox!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paintbox Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paintbox Lodge
Save
You added Paintbox Lodge to your Saves list
629 10th Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2A2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 32 Canmore B&B and Inns
Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“More great Stays at the Paintbox!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed at the Paintbox twice this winter in January and February and attended another cooking class session as well. As always the rooms were comfortable, the service was great and people are awesome to be around. Nothing but great things to say.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Many thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    6
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
65
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent our wedding night at the Paintbox Lodge with 18 of our guests. The rooms are beautiful with great mountain views; the tapas dinner created for us by their chef was exquisite (so was breakfast); and the service was second to none. Thanks to the staff for the perfect ending to our big day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thrilled that your stay at the Paintbox was the perfect end to your wedding. Congratulations and we look forward to seeing you for anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Strongly recommended.
The entire establishment is very well run.The staff are amazing and friendly. The warm breakfasts are healthy and delicious. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Good for couples, groups, or families.
My wife and I have stayed at the Paintbox Lodge a couple of time now, this most recent trip was for four days and three nights. Although I regularly stay at four and five star hotels the Paintbox is my favourite boutique hotel anywhere. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you kindly and we are thrilled to be your favourite boutique hotel. It's hard to describe exactly what the Paintbox is. We are part bed and breakfast but we don't live at the hotel and our guests have independence. Sometimes they even check themselves in! We are a part boutique hotel but are more casual than fancy. Glad you enjoy exactly what we are and please do come back for more. The running trails await!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here as a large group in February for a private function.
The Paintbox Lodge is absolutely lovely - decor is contemporary yet rustic. Rooms are spacious and very well kept. Linens, beds and all items were of excellent quality. We enjoyed a catered dinner courtesy of their Chef and it was as excellent as the accommodations.
Canmore is just a wee spot so it's no surprise that everything was in walking distance. The location is fantastic.
The owners & staff are as vibrant and accommodating as can be. Excellent hosts in a stunning inn.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place! The soaker tubs are fabulous after a day skiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Gratitude for your kind words and we are thrilled you and your party enjoyed your private function and private dining. The Paintbox is great for private groups for up to 18 and it is always fun to host in-house dinner parties with our private chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My parter and I had been guests of the PaintBox Lodge several times over the last several years. When we decided to get married our first thought was to gather our family at this beautiful boutique hotel in the amazing landscape of Canmore Alberta. Thomas, Sara, Malory and George welcomed our family and made our weekend the memorable weekend we wanted . This boutique hotel is one of those rare places that make travelling a pleasure. ***** stars (six if we could). We will be back again and again. P.S. The diner George prepared was amazing. P.P.S. Making the booking and arrangements was easy...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are thrilled that your wedding was what you had hoped for. For entire lodge bookings, we can host 8-18 people around our harvest table for private dining and up to 26 if we use the "kids table" in the lobby. We can do stand up tapas style for up to 45 people. The combination of Chef George's taste sensations, the Paintbox's intimate setting and happy people make for incredible times. We can't think of a better way to celebrate a marriage. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights, beginning February 10th, 2013. We were splitting our time in Alberta between Canmore and Banff....should have spent the whole time in Canmore!!! The Paintbox Lodge is a BEAUTIFUL place in a great little mountain town. The staff was SO friendly and accomodating, waking up every morning to bake us fresh bread and muffins as part of the breakfast spread. This is the kind of place you dream of owning someday...can't wait to go back. Thank you for an amazing trip....the lodge has become one of our most favorite places.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Glad you share our sentiment about Canmore. It is a truly amazing place to visit and we feel privileged to own a business in this mountain paradise. It takes our breath away everyday! Hope you can find time to make us a regular vacation stop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I cannot say enough about how beautiful this B&B is in downtown Canmore. My husband and I spend a lot of time in town (though generally staying with friends and family) and came accross the paintbox while out for a walk a few weeks after our engagement while spending time in town. Immediately we knew that this would be the perfect place for us to have our wedding and house our family members for the big day. Thomas was there for most of the weekend and was unbeleivably helpful. From trimming the bushes and ensuring the yard was prepped and beautiful for our ceremony, to making a few extra eggs for a hungry bride and her ladies! The staff made us feel very comfortable using the whole space, and I cannot say enough for the quality of food and the service that they provide. TRY THE HOMEMADE YOGURT AT BREAKFAST (I ate two of them with the granola! they're amazing)

Unfortunately any weekend we've tried to go back to stay has been booked up which is too bad. But considering how much we love this town, we are thrilled to see the success that they are experiencing. (Check out the article about them in Calgary's Avenue Magazine as well)

Thank you again to your whole team - our wedding day could not have been more amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thrilled your special day was special. The Paintbox specializes in small, casual and relaxed weddings and of course, enjoying homemade yogurt.
Don't forget we usually have availability and lower rates midweek in our quiet season. Quiet season runs from until May 17 and resumes October 15.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paintbox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paintbox Lodge

Address: 629 10th Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paintbox Lodge is an intimate boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown Canmore owned by Olympic medalist, Sara Renner and World Cup Champion, Thomas Grandi. After chasing ski racing gold in mountain towns throughout the world, they decided that paradise was in their own backyard. With a collection of ideas inspired from their travels, they have created the getaway of their dreams in Canmore. The Paintbox Lodge is a reflection of the local champions – relaxed, welcoming and professional. The magic of the Canadian Rockies takes care of the rest. Experience one of our five unique, comfortable suites and rooms. Conversations flow easily around the harvest breakfast table where guests enjoy wholesome food made with intention. Be your own barista, anytime, at the Miele coffee bar and feel free to explore Canmore on one of our complimentary town bikes. We have lots Cooking at “The BOX”. Sign up for a scheduled cooking class, or book a private dinner/cooking class for you and your friends in our Miele kitchen. Come play, (or simply relax) in our backyard paradise. Packages available year-round. We host special events, workshops, retreats and more Experience Canmore’s downtown boutique hotel, where locals send their friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paintbox Hotel Canmore
Paintbox Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paintbox Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.