We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paintbox Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paintbox Lodge
Save Saved
You added Paintbox Lodge to your Saves list
629 10th Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2A2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 33 Canmore B&B and Inns
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We may have only stayed one night, but we wish it could have been much longer. The facilities were incredible. The beds were warm, large, cozy, comfortable, in a word - amazing. The rooms were clean, comfortable, spacious, and make you feel like you're at a ski lodge. The breakfast the next day was made from natural ingredients and was extremely delicious. We could not have asked for a better stay and we would recommend staying to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Gratitude for your review and we are pleased you liked our lodge. Come stay with us again and try our quiet season midweek package. Complimentary cheese platter with award winning Sylvan Star Gouda and homemade crackers! Best time of the year to visit as town is mellow. Thanks again for staying and taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    5
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
60
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from our first kid-free weekend in over a year, and decided to stay at the Paintbox Lodge in the Loft Suite. It was fabulous. Most importantly, the king-size bed was really comfortable. The continental breakfasts they provided were home-made and so delicious. We wouldn't hesitate to return to Paintbox, and recommend it to our friends and family.

It's a real gem in Canmore!

Room Tip: The loft suite is great, especially the huge bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for finding the time to write a review after you returned from your first weekend away from kids and resumed your busy lives. Reviews like yours really do make a difference for our business and we are touched. Glad you enjoyed the Loft Suite, bath tub and breakfast and the king sized bed. Would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavely, Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I loved that this lodge is downtown and not on the strip with all of the cookie cutter places to stay. It has true charm and character. I loved the homey feel. Our room was small (Studio Suite) but in Canmore it's all about being on the hiking trails, shopping or eating!! I loved their breakfast too - interesting and healthy. I do believe the hotel stay can be part of the vacation. I myself worked many summers in neighboring Banff establishments so I especially enjoyed the service and attention to detail. I love that they sourced local artisans for things like the great mugs to the cleaning staff (Olympic athletes no less!!). It felt like a great representation of the area.

I ventured out to the complimentary yoga session - it was not close - but worth the trip. I would recommend getting the schedule and making that a part of your trip. What a thoughtful, local touch.
I had wanted to use one of the complimentary bikes but since there isn't staff around continually it wasn't easy to know about signing the paperwork required etc. So if you want to use a bike ask up front and get the paperwork straightened away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Glad you had a good stay, enjoyed the complimentary yoga and the breakfast. Thank you for your review. Sorry you missed out on the town bikes. We are a little different from the usual hotel in that we are small and the owners and manager do not live at the lodge. While we aren't always onsite we are always reachable by phone. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The location was ideal but most of all we were made welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We had a party there catered by a local chef which was great fun. Rooms were cute and very clean . We only stayed for three nights but explores the area and local trails are within easy reach. We would strongly recommend this lodge

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Glad you enjoyed the private dinner, breakfast and Canmore. The Paintbox is a great venue for family reunions and in this particular party we had 30 for a sit down dinner around our long harvest table and the "kids" table in the lobby. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see the clan again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Canmore Banff area is one of the real beauty spots in North America. When booking the room at the Paintbox Lodge, I asked specifically if there was a good view from the room. There are many many places to stay in this lovely region and this was something we really wanted. When we arrived after making the fantastic ice fields parkway drive from Jasper, we were told that our room had been given to someone else. We were offered a bottle of wine as compensation. This, mind you, was in the parking lot before we entered the lodge. Immediately upon entering, we were asked to pay the balance due after the deposit which had already been charged. This we did.

Then, we were directed to our room which turned out to be tiny with 2 tiny windows, one looking at the green metal roof of the restaurant next door and the other of the parking lot. The bathroom was,as our hostess intimated in the parking lot, the only acceptable part of this ($210 Canadian) room. No mountain views except a pitifully small glimpse out the corner of one window over the top of the green roof. Absurd! Our room was called the Studio Suite. What? Let's at least be honest. The next morning we were shown the other rooms which would have been fine. Ours was over priced and very uncomfortable because of its diminutive (really!) size. If we had known, we would definitely haved booked another place. We can only hope that, in the future, potential clients are told that there are only, we think, 3 nice "suites" so that they can make an informed decision. The innkeepers had our contact number and could easily have let us know about any room change.

The good news is that the restaurant next door serves excellent food!

Room Tip: If you stay, ask for one of the larger suites and, if not available, look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
The Paintbox Lodge has 3 large suites that sleep 2-5 people and two smaller rooms, the Painter Valley and the Studio with queen beds. This reservation was for one of the smaller rooms, the Painter Valley room. A prior arrival was accidently checked into the Painter Valley Room and the guests were offered the Studio Room and a complimentary bottle of wine. Please accept our sincerest apologies for our mistake.

Our lodge is located in downtown Canmore. Since we are central, what you will see from your windows is a combination of town and mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Located in the charming town of Canmore, The Paintbox Lodge was home to my husband, myself and my stepdaughter, her husband and their two kids. EVERYONE in our party loved the accommodations, the location, the feel, the breakfast!!! - and mostly the people at Paintbox Lodge. We were in two great rooms this summer for 4 nights - the upstairs two bedroom and what I think is the honeymoon room - down the hall from one another. It was like being at home! Very thoughtful design throughout the entire lodge and the Miehle showcase kitchen is liking having breakfast in a Designer Kitchen magazine! The town is right there - so everything - restaurants, shopping, great walks and activities are literally right outside the door. Another benefit of The Paintbox Lodge is the town of Canmore. It is delightful. Wonderful boutiques, a great wine shop (you don't need more than one of those), plenty of very good restaurants, a fair share of grocery stores and pharmacies and art galleries and specialized stores with amazing art and offerings. If I were to return to Canmore I would only stay at The Paintbox Lodge.

Room Tip: There are 3 two-bedroom accommodations among the 5 "rooms" listed. Be sure to ask about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are tickled. Thank you and a review like this really does make our heart soar. We love our town too. Good advice on asking about the room configuration of the three larger suites as they are all slightly different.

The Loft Suite (the honeymoon suite) has a main area with a king bed and an adjoining bedroom with a queen bed.

The Wilderness Suite has a sitting area and two separate bedrooms, one with a queen bed and one with a bed that can be either two twins or a king. Let us know when booking how you would like the beds configured. A day bed can also be set up in the sitting area, making the Wilderness perfect for a family of 4-5.

The cabin suite has a king bed in the main area and an adjoining bedroom with a queen bed and a twin bunker above.

Thank you again. Blush!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for a three day weekend before heading to Assiniboine Lodge for hiking. It was a perfect place to relax, decompress and detach ourselves from work. The room was clean and comfortable, the wine and cheese the day we arrived was excellent. There is an excellent restaurant right next door, and the tapas was great. The breakfast was wonderful, and we had fun making ourselves lattes in the morning, and tea in the afternoon. We explored the nearby trails on the bikes provided. Everyone made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and it is nice to welcome Assiniboine Lodge guests before and after their backcountry adventures. We use award winning cheese from Sylvan Star Gouda in our cheese platter and we agree, it is tasty! Glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paintbox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paintbox Lodge

Address: 629 10th Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paintbox Lodge is an intimate boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown Canmore owned by Olympic medalist, Sara Renner and World Cup Champion, Thomas Grandi. After chasing ski racing gold in mountain towns throughout the world, they decided that paradise was in their own backyard. With a collection of ideas inspired from their travels, they have created the getaway of their dreams in Canmore. The Paintbox Lodge is a reflection of the local champions – relaxed, welcoming and professional. The magic of the Canadian Rockies takes care of the rest. Experience one of our five unique, comfortable suites and rooms. Conversations flow easily around the harvest breakfast table where guests enjoy wholesome food made with intention. Be your own barista, anytime, at the Miele coffee bar and feel free to explore Canmore on one of our complimentary town bikes. We have lots Cooking at “The BOX”. Sign up for a scheduled cooking class, or book a private dinner/cooking class for you and your friends in our Miele kitchen. Come play, (or simply relax) in our backyard paradise. Packages available year-round. We host special events, workshops, retreats and more Experience Canmore’s downtown boutique hotel, where locals send their friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paintbox Hotel Canmore
Paintbox Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paintbox Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.