We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Host with the Most” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paintbox Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paintbox Lodge
629 10th Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2A2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 34 Canmore B&B and Inns
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Host with the Most”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Talking to two-time World Cup Champion skier Thomas Grandi made the experience for me. So interesting and so accomplished and so humble. Plus a terrific cook. I learned a lot about the psychology of winning -- you have to be willing to take risks and be scared! And when you have a bad run, be professional! Instead of shaking it off, analyze what you did wrong and what you need to do differently next time. Recommit, refocus, and bring yourself to a whole new level.
All that world class inspiration on top of a lovely place to stay! How unique is that!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Glad you enjoyed some tips on ski racing with your morning frittata. It was a pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    3
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
58
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Myself and two girlfriends stayed in the Cabin Suite on the main floor for the August long weekend in 2011. It was a wonderful, unique accommodation, so close to downtown we could pop in and stow our shopping bags and go out again. We were spoiled by our breakfast chef, who made apple cinnamon French toast and eggs benedict. We were addicted to the European coffee machine! An intimate, relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Glad you enjoyed the girls weekend, breakfast, the cabin suite and of course, that Miele Coffee Station. Hope to see the crew again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We held our intimate wedding last weekend at the Paintbox and everything about the Paintbox was note perfect. We had booked the entire lodge (5 rooms, with a few of them being suites) to host our immediate families. Mallory was incredibly helpful throughout.

We had yummy breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday in the kitchen. The kitchen is fantastic - and on Saturday night it was transformed into a private dinning room with Chef George Bayne cooking an incredible meal for us.

The rooms are spotless, big, bright and a perfect fit for a rustic Canmore. The beds are super comfy. The in room thermostats and fireplaces were a treat.

We can't wait to come back for another visit and our families felt the same way.

Room Tip: The loft suite was our favorite but really, all the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Congratulations on a wonderful wedding. Happy to hear the private dining, rooms and mountain vibe was to your liking! Come back on a Sunday night and try out on of our Cooking Classes @ The BOX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

A birthday celebration + fireplace + bathtub for two + run of the hotel = memorable weekend :)
Abosolutely lovely accommodation and service. Arrived in the evening, so were given the code to let ourselves in. We wandered the Lodge and admired all the 'little touches', before settling in front of our fireplace while we waited for the tub to fill. Enjoyed our breakfast in the morning and conversations with the hotel staff. Can't wait to get back again -- perhaps for a chef's night to enjoy that wonderful kitchen! Great location too - right in the middle of 'old Canmore', tapas next door, and main street shops a short walk away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and glad you had a good time at the Paintbox. We hope to see you again and do try our our personal chef for a dinner in our Miele Mountain Kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We started out our stay in Canmore by staying at the Silver Creek Lodge. What a mistake. We later ran into a guest of the Paintbox Lodge. It was fate. He told us how great it was and the next morning we we booked in. It's me, my husband and our 15 month old son. What a great place. Excellent location, beautiful views, comfortable and relaxing rooms with plenty of natural light and the staff is so kind, friendly and welcoming. That is what i love best about staying in B and B's and small Lodges- the staff is really attentive and they want your stay to be the best. Youre not just another number. Mallory was even kind enough to pick us up at the Silver Creek Lodge and take us to the Paintbox. Small acts of kindness like that really go a long way in the overall impression and memories of a place. Breakfast was delicious- fresh crepes, muffins, bread, granola, yogurt and a whole slew of tasty jams and spreads. Plus, the kitchen is gorgeous and includes and an amazing Miele espresso machine so you can have delicious coffee or hot water for a variety of teas any time of day. Also, when traveling with small children it's great to have a nice tub to sink them into at the end of the day. The beds are uber comfy and the comforters are heavenly. Did I mention free bike rentals to cruise the many trails or hit up the market in summer?
There is not a single negative thing I can say about this place. Thank you for putting the icing on our cake, Paintbox Lodge. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the wildflower room but they all looked great. The wildflower faces the front of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Paintbox Lodge is hands down the best spot to stay in Canmore. The owners and staff go out of there way to provide a great experience and the balance between privacy and community is unique with hotel room privacy but a community kitchen and breakfast experience. The location couldn't be better for walking to all amenities and access to the trails around Canmore is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a lovely boutique hotel,breakfast in the wonderful kitchen (great coffee machine) included

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paintbox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paintbox Lodge

Address: 629 10th Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paintbox Lodge is an intimate boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown Canmore owned by Olympic medalist, Sara Renner and World Cup Champion, Thomas Grandi. After chasing ski racing gold in mountain towns throughout the world, they decided that paradise was in their own backyard. With a collection of ideas inspired from their travels, they have created the getaway of their dreams in Canmore. The Paintbox Lodge is a reflection of the local champions – relaxed, welcoming and professional. The magic of the Canadian Rockies takes care of the rest. Experience one of our five unique, comfortable suites and rooms. Conversations flow easily around the harvest breakfast table where guests enjoy wholesome food made with intention. Be your own barista, anytime, at the Miele coffee bar and feel free to explore Canmore on one of our complimentary town bikes. We have lots Cooking at “The BOX”. Sign up for a scheduled cooking class, or book a private dinner/cooking class for you and your friends in our Miele kitchen. Come play, (or simply relax) in our backyard paradise. Packages available year-round. We host special events, workshops, retreats and more Experience Canmore’s downtown boutique hotel, where locals send their friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paintbox Hotel Canmore
Paintbox Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paintbox Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paintbox Lodge to your Saves list