We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Croissant Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Fournil Bakery

Le Fournil Bakery
1205 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1P5, Canada
+1 403-675-5005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 103 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Le fournil Bakery provides small moments of pleasure to its customers, in the form of freshly baked breads, viennoiseries (croissants and more), pastries, quick lunches and specialty food items, all made in store using the highest quality natural ingredients,
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Croissant Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Beautiful pastries, lovely owner and baker couple. Took home three boxes of incredible Danish pastries on the plane! Unfortunately they do not ship!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The little chocolate cakes were very tasty! The hot chocolate not as good as I hoped. Somewhat expensive too. But worth the treat.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was such a wonderful surprise. Great selection, beautiful ambience and gorgeous showcase of breads and treats. I rarely eat bread of any type but this is a worthwhile indulgence and reminder of the joy I good food. Well done! Ill be a frequent visitor

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything is shrinking - including quality control”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have always loved getting breakfast (and sometimes lunch) from this place. Croissants, pain au chocolat, and filled baguettes. Since last March when we discovered these buttery, light and fantastically authentic items we have noticed a real drop in quality over the last couple of months. The baguettes shrunk first, then the croissants and on his last visit my husband brought back our last purchase... Small, stale, pain au chocolat.... The last straw - it was 8.30 in the morning and we used to get them fresh and warm. - not sure if it is a change in ownership or cost cutting on ingredients but we will probably not be going back there again or recommending the place to friends or family :(

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
1 review
“You'll be glad you went in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Your senses are rewarded as soon as you walk through the door. The decor is chic and refreshing, with colourful accents from oven roasted tomatoes resting in pesto nests atop Mediterranean baguettes, pine nut coated prairie bread, heaping fresh berry tartes, and the sunshine glow of the tarte au citron! Your mouth will begin to crave all that your eyes behold, fresh fougasse, epis, croissants, pane aux chocolat, Trottoir aux pommes, carrot ricotta baguette sandwiches, quiches, chocolate salted caramel tartes, fresh steaming espresso!....You'll likely get a few more things than you came in for, and each treasure will be so delicious, you'll need to return again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Fournil Bakery also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Le Fournil Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Fournil Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.