We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Fournil Bakery

Le Fournil Bakery
101A 1205 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1P5, Canada
403-675-5005
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #26 of 101 restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Le fournil Bakery provides small moments of pleasure to its customers, in the form of freshly baked breads, viennoiseries (croissants and more), pastries, quick lunches and specialty food items, all made in store using the highest quality natural ingredients,
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The little chocolate cakes were very tasty! The hot chocolate not as good as I hoped. Somewhat expensive too. But worth the treat.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    18
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was such a wonderful surprise. Great selection, beautiful ambience and gorgeous showcase of breads and treats. I rarely eat bread of any type but this is a worthwhile indulgence and reminder of the joy I good food. Well done! Ill be a frequent visitor

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything is shrinking - including quality control”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have always loved getting breakfast (and sometimes lunch) from this place. Croissants, pain au chocolat, and filled baguettes. Since last March when we discovered these buttery, light and fantastically authentic items we have noticed a real drop in quality over the last couple of months. The baguettes shrunk first, then the croissants and on his last visit my husband brought back our last purchase... Small, stale, pain au chocolat.... The last straw - it was 8.30 in the morning and we used to get them fresh and warm. - not sure if it is a change in ownership or cost cutting on ingredients but we will probably not be going back there again or recommending the place to friends or family :(

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
1 review
“You'll be glad you went in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Your senses are rewarded as soon as you walk through the door. The decor is chic and refreshing, with colourful accents from oven roasted tomatoes resting in pesto nests atop Mediterranean baguettes, pine nut coated prairie bread, heaping fresh berry tartes, and the sunshine glow of the tarte au citron! Your mouth will begin to crave all that your eyes behold, fresh fougasse, epis, croissants, pane aux chocolat, Trottoir aux pommes, carrot ricotta baguette sandwiches, quiches, chocolate salted caramel tartes, fresh steaming espresso!....You'll likely get a few more things than you came in for, and each treasure will be so delicious, you'll need to return again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Addictive Macarons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was the first time I had a macaron and now I'm completely addicted. When we were there we were able to try the vanilla ones and the passionfruit ones. Both were so delicious! Next time we're in Canmore we'll be stopping by for our macaron fix.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Fournil Bakery also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Le Fournil Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Fournil Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.