We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestead Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Homestead Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
168 Carey, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2R4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Canmore B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Colline and Ron are excellent hosts, friendly and helpful. We have stayed in many B&Bs all over the world and this rates among the very best. Beautiful patchwork quilts on the beds. A nice extra touch is the guests' kitchen where we could prepare our own lunch and suppers. This is in addition to the fabulous breakfast provided by Colline, along with friendly conversation, in the upstairs breakfast room which has great views. The natural garden was a great place to relax and we saw deer there. We stayed at first for 2 days and then returned for a further 2 after a not-so-good experience at another local B&B. Canmore is a nice alternative to the hustle and bustle of Banff which is only a half hour drive away. We were there for the Highland Games (Labour Day weekend) which we very much enjoyed, especially the massed pipes and drums with hundreds (maybe thousands!) of pipers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Colline and Ron Seabrook are the most wonderful friendly hosts. The cooked breakfasts were fantastic, they were completely flexible about what was on the menu. Lovely to have breakfast on the balcony looking out to amazing views of the Rockies. The room we were in was the Homestead suite which was lovely and spacious with a nice view onto the garden. Very comfortable bed and excellent ensuite. I would thoroughly recommend this B&B if you in Canmore and I think Canmore is a better place to stay than Banff if you are exporing the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

What a find - this has to be one of the best B and Bs we have stayed in. Colleen & Ron are wonderful hosts and very helpful. Room excellent with very comfortable bed, Lovely breakfast with the bonus of well equipped kitchenette if you want of make sandwiches for lunch and don't want to eat out every night. Local supermarket does great pre prepared food. Also very comfortable lounge for relaxing in the evening & choice of backyard or balcony for sitting outside. Amazing views all round.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Our room was very large including 1 queen, and 1 twin bed. Both rooms are non smoking and extremely clean. The breakfasts were generous and excellent quality. Colline and Ron provided great advice and are very knowledgeable about the area. This is a wonderful location at a reasonable price. The mountain views are outstanding right outside the door. There is no traffic noise or train noise as the location is well enough away from the centre of Canmore. The additional space provided as standard for guests included a large games room up above the garage with a 50" TV and fireplace, and kitchenette with a full sized refrigerator, microwave, and kitchen and dining utensils and dishes. It is a perfect location to take day trips to Lake Louise, Moraine Lake, and Banff, as well as scenic drives on 742, 93S into BC, and 1A as it takes less than 30 minutes to get to Banff. I would recommend a minimum of 3 nights stay to allow time to see some of the sights. After our initial 3 nights we returned for 2 additional nights on our return trip from Jasper and the Athabasca Glacier. Overall my wife and I had a great time at this B & B. The home is very quiet at all times and it is located away from major roadways in a recently developed neighbourhood.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Colleen & Bob were wonderful hosts. Good comfortable room - lovely and quiet, very clean and well kept beautiful house.
Breakfast was cooked (if you wanted a cooked one!!) otherwise cereals or most things catered for. We had leisurely breakfasts - with good conversation. In fact, we didn't want to go out - we enjoyed sitting round the breakfast table just talking, during and after breakfast. Canmore is a lovely little town - with some good bars - and we found it more friendly than Banff itself - which was just a tourist trap!!! it was a 20 minute drive to Banff (through the National Park) - but would definitely recommend staying in Canmore instead, and just visiting Banff centre like we did....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Wonderful hosts - so friendly and helpful, excellent advice for what to see and where to go, including 'off the beaten track'. Delicious breakfasts. Clean accommodations, comfortable beds, plenty of towels. We were made to feel at home immediately and found it hard to say good-by after 4 nights with Colline and Ron! Hope to return to Canada - will definitely stay with Colline and Ron when we do!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Can definitely recommend this home from home bed and breakfast. Ron and Colline made us very welcome in their home. The breakfasts were fantastic, the views from the house were spectacular and the facilities were great. Ron and Colline were full of great tips for where to go, how to get there and what to do. We were even given a detailed hand written map for the best way to get to Calgary airport avoiding most of the rush hour traffic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homestead Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Bed & Breakfast

Address: 168 Carey, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2R4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Mountain Views! Quiet,Spacious, Bright,Cozy,Clean & Convenient Suite. Queen bed, private en-suite bath with large walkin shower. Fireplace, 32'TV, Sofa/bed. Complimentry tea, coffee. Free WiFi. Free off street parking. Private Guest entrance. Well equipped Kitchenette for light meal preparation to eat in, take to your patio or for picnicking. Home-Cooked Breakfast choice served at 8:30 or Self Serve with no set time. Breakfast served in kitchenette to eat in or take to your patio to enjoy park and mountains. Located in a quiet forested area away from the railway tracks and highway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homestead Bed & Breakfast Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.