We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand... resort... NOT” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club
Save
You added Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club to your Saves list
91B Three Sisters Dr, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Orange, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Grand... resort... NOT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Upon arrival, I was given a 1st-floor room next to the front desk and by the elevator. I feared it would be noisy, so requested a higher-floor room. The receptionist indicated that higher-floor rooms are reserved for owners. OK, let me understand this. I traded my Marriott Newport Coast Villas to this mediocre timeshare only to be treated like a 2nd class citizen.

The floors are paper thin. You can hear every step and noise from upstairs. The worst part was when the upstairs guests turned on the jetted tub in the master bathroom. It vibrated the entire downstairs like a helicopter was hovering above the room.

Furniture is old and needs a major upgrade. I can't recall the last time I saw a regular old fashion TV as opposed to the more common flat screen TV.

At the check-in, you are given a page of rules and policies. You are to clean up and dump your own trash before departing. Load all used flatware and run the dishwasher. Etc, etc.

Thanks to Interval World's mistake, I got traded into this place. Never would I return again and never would I use II ever again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    8
    9
    6
See reviews for
22
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Four of us (two couples) stayed here as part of a time share exchange. We had a 2-bedroom unit; it was spacious and clean, with washer/dryer, lots of closet space, and jacuzzi in one of the bedrooms. It is at the far end of Canmore, safe and quiet area, only a few minutes from the middle of town or major highways. Overall, it was comfortable and adequate, with just a few minor maintenance issues. However, with just a little bit of effort from whoever owns/manages it, it could have been great. As it is, there's no WiFi; sparse kitchen equipment, ie no blender; fan to AC unit very noisy; no amenities other than a small pool with only a few pool chairs; no food/snacks available; no picnic tables or sitting areas outside to enjoy the beautiful views; no way to print anything, ie boarding passes; front desk personnel friendly but not very helpful on touristy questions... As another reviewer mentioned, go next door to WorldMark for restaurant coupons. I'm recommending it because it served its purpose, but we spent most of the time out sightseeing and essentially only slept there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We came for a ski vacation and loved it. Huge 2 bedroom w a nice jacuzzi and laundry in the unit. Comfy beds. We cooked often. 1 minute to Canmore downtown. Less than 5 mins to the nordic centre. 10 mins into Banff. 30 mins to Sunshine and about 1 hr to Lake Louise.

Tons of parking spots, great views, a nice home away from home.

Ventilation system was loud but the white noise put our baby to sleep easily. Service izpsnt great but this is a timeshare not a hotel. They provide the aptmt and you do what you want.

Outdoor jacuzzi and pool were very warm andit felt like a winter spa. The sauna is nice too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Outdated furniture and surroundings. Pretty clean but old. Excellent location in Canmore. Lots of Elk sightings in town. Staff not very helpful.. Many hike and bike trails close by.
We kept going to the Worldmark By WYNDHAM next door for tips on sights, restaurants and other tourist questions. They were very helpful next door and I would stay there next time. The two vacation resorts share a common pool but the Worldmark By WYNDHAM has newer carpet, furnishings, TVs and a very helpful staff. Cleaner also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Looks good from the outside, but once inside, a different story. Minimally furnished (no blender, no wifi, one lamp in the main room). Carpet in the common areas was not vacuumed the entire time we were there. Noisy foundation work was conducted right outside our unit from 8 to 5. Water leaked into our unit and soaked the carpet in a bedroom and living room. When this was reported, the representative at the front desk (the only person there, from 8:30 to 5, daily), could not have been more unsympathetic. Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

carpet is very dirty and aged. door can't close without slamming it. swimming pool is dirty too since no one is maintaining it. curtains are dusty. grill is half broken. pull out sofa bed is in poor shape with no pillow and blanket.

staff is clueless, when asked for more blankets, pillows, and towels, answer is always "no". nothing is available in front office. house keeping only come once a week (on Saturdays). no one is in office between 4pm to next morning 9am. even someone is in office, she offers no help.

don't be fooled by its fancy website.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was a little disappointed in the building and facilities when we arrived although I struggled to really put my finger on exactly why. It just didnt seem as "fancy" as it looked on the website and for the price we paid.
That said, the apartment itself was very clean with a number of TV's, dishwasher, microwave etc, and great showers. The only thing really missing was a radio or ipod docking station. We all found the beds very comfortable.
The building was further outside downtown Canmore than I had realised, being a 40 minute walk each way but only an easy 10 minute or so drive. Our apartment had reasonable views of the mountains but not fantastic.
The gym is described as having a full range of free weights but all I found was a small room with just some cardio equipment and no weights. I may have just missed the weights room if there is one but I certainly looked around for it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club

Address: 91B Three Sisters Dr, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club Hotel Canmore
Grand Canadian Hotel Vacation
Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Canadian Resort Vacation Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.