We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Resorts Canmore

Save Saved
You added Sunset Resorts Canmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Resorts Canmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Roomy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in a balcony two bedroom condo for two days Oct long weekend. Hot when first arrive but opening windows cooled down the place. Nice gas fireplace off to the side of the TV. The TV has HDMI connectors you can hook into if you have a portable Blue ray. The kitchen is stocked with dishes, pots, pans, cutlery but no salt and pepper. We used the washer and dryer so we went home with clean clothes, always a bonus. There was a table in the eating area off to the side of the kitchen and stools by the kitchen counter.

Dryer needed some work as it took 3 cycles to dry clothes, they said they would get their maintenance people on it as soon as the turkey wore off :-).

One good thing to know is that although they advertise a 10 am checkout, they are pretty easy going about extending this a couple of hours if you ask them.

The underground parkade is only 6 foot one inch but there is parking above ground as well. The place was pretty quiet for us when we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains opposite the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    16
    15
    16
See reviews for
37
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We prefer not to stay here but even on long weekends when everything else is booked up, this place still has availability. As a result, we have stayed a few times and in a pinch will continue to do so. We always prefer Grande Rockies over this place though. The units are clean but things are showing its age like leaks from the kitchen sink and all the batteries for all the remotes are dying. One time I upgraded to mountain view which was a terrible mistake. Not only is it mountain view but it's always highway view. To make matters worse, the windows in the bedroom and living room didn't seal well so you could hear the traffic all night long. When I checked out, I was asked how my stay was and I mentioned that the mountain view was a disappointment because of the highway noise. His reply was "well you got a mountain view though, didn't you?" I politely reminded him if he doesn't really care about people's opinions then perhaps he shouldn't ask. He then gave me the whole "I'll talk to my manager...." line and as expected, nothing was followed up.

Room Tip: Do NOT "upgrade" to mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Please note that we manage private units at both Sunset Resorts Canmore and Paradise Resort Club (Grande Rockies Resort) which allows you to choose your preferred property. If there are any unit deficiencies we ask that you report them to the front desk immediately so that maintenance can rectify the problem. As the resort is perpendicular to the highway, the mountain views are panoramic. For those guests who haven't been here, the highway is approximately 1 block away from the resort. If you are a light sleeper, please request a room in the other wing and we will do our best to accommodate you but most guests are mainly concerned about having a view.

Sincerely,

Sunset Resorts Canmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed with my husband and daughter which we exchanged through interval international and where very pleased with our apartment ( two bed ) lovely spacious apartment with all we needed and more ! Loved the spa bath in the master bedroom and the bed was very comfortable ( and enormous !! ) even though the resort was fully booked we did not hear any noise at all for the whole week we stayed ! The staff were very helpfull and we enjoyed a lovely BBQ which the resort laid on for everyone ( f o c ) .The town of Canmore is great and had the friendliest people we've ever met with lots to do but doesn't feel to touristy like Banff . best base to do lots of activities from .shops and bars/ restaurants where all within walking distance

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our family get together, after a wedding, was great.
The view! The spacious rooms! The facilities!
The Frisbee Golf was hilarious and enjoyed by all!
It was a good base to shop and explore and hike and bike.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family met in Canmore for a week's vacation. Our stay at Sunset Resorts was excellent. We had two spacious 2 bedroom units across the hall from each other, which was so convenient for visits back and forth. We cooked and enjoyed several meals in our suites. The kitchens were had pretty well everything we needed. Our group made good use of the gathering room, BBQ, lawn chairs and picnic table, as well as the pool table and foosball table on the main floor. There was a place to store our bikes too.
The hotel hosted a Monday night BBQ, organized hike of Grassi Lakes, a historic tour of Canmore and offered a frisbee golf outing! The staff were friendly and helpful.
Canmore and Sunset Resorts were great.

Room Tip: Choose a mountain view instead of the view facing the parking lot and neighbouring hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just back from a four night stay at Sunset Resorts in Canmore. The Word "resort" in the title is a little misleading, suggesting, at least to me, that it is a destination in itself. It is not. It is a good, relatively inexpensive place to stay while exploring the Canmore area.

The suite is reminiscent more of a normal residential condo than hotel accommodation. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with a balcony which looked out on the adjacent Grand Rockies Resort, but with great mountain views to the left and right. A great place for morning coffee. It also had a natural gas barbecue which we used for supper one evening. The suite was clean, had required utensils and crockery in the kitchen and had the expected appliances. Other than the toaster which burned one half of the bread while leaving the rest unheated, they worked fine. The living room had a fireplace, flat screen tv and DVD player. There is free wifi in the suite though the signal was a little weak at times, fine for browsing and email, but don't plan on playing games or doing much downloading. The bedrooms were adequate, though not large, while the laundry room was enormous and could easily accommodate a child's travel bed if needed.

Sunset does have a small fitness centre and games/pool room, but not a lot of other amenities. Other reviewers have commented re. pool use. It is as the resort's respondent has stated. Sunset does not have a pool, but has an arrangement with the neighbouring Grand Rockies resort that Sunset guests, who wish, may use their pool for a fee. At time of writing the fee was $50 week/condo. All residents of the condo are included in that $50, quite reasonable for a family for pools, slide, indoor-outdoor hot tub, kiddies pool and towels.

Sunset is well located with restaurants, stores pubs etc in easy walking distance. Downtown Canmore is a walkable distance, but perhaps not for small children. However the downtown area has plenty of free parking.

In summary, if you want a base to self cater while you explore the Canmore area, Sunset deserves a look. However, if you want pampering in a luxury environment, you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marystown, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After reading the review about charging a family who cancelled because of a recent diagnosis with Cancer has made this location a NEVER stay at for our friends and family. I will be sharing this information with all our friends to make sure that this injustice of charging the family $500 will be felt financially by the Sunset Resorts Canmore MANY TIMES over. BAD CHOICE!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi jeis3489,

First of all our organization is very sympathetic to any illness that we’ve come across and have donated tens of thousands of dollars to the various charities in need. However not only our industry but others such as the airlines, car rentals and tour operators offer trip interruption insurance or vacation coverage to help protect the consumer as multiple things can go wrong that could potentially ruin your vacation. We deeply advise all of our clients to take advantage of cancellation coverage for your own piece of mind as situations such as this would be covered. Also due to the unique nature of privately owned vacation properties last minute cancellations are extremely difficult to replace with new bookings. In most cases the property has been exclusively held for a specific guest for months. This unfortunately leaves most condo resort properties with little leeway for cancellations. If you feel that this is a unique situation we urge you to first contact your booking or travel agency and if this is unresolved please email the pertinent information to frontdesk@paradiseresortclub.com and we will respond accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Resorts Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resorts Canmore

Address: 1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Resorts Canmore 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sunset Resorts Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel Canmore
Sunset Hotel Canmore
Canmore Sunset Hotel
Sunset Resorts Canmore Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Resorts Canmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.