We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family get away in the mountains.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Resorts Canmore

Save Saved
You added Sunset Resorts Canmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Resorts Canmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family get away in the mountains.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom condo for the Canada Day long weekend, week. There was 7 adults and 2 toddlers in our group. The condo we had was very accomidating for all of us with the exception that a balcony would have been nice to have for those late night drinks and views of the beautiful mountains while the kids slept. The front desk staff was very helpful with all our questions and enquiries and provided us with extra dishes for the week. During our stay we signed up for a hike in the mountains which was fantastic! We had a tour guide (Julie) who was very informative and energetic with things to do in the area and some history of Canmore. It was nice that the resort gave options for guests to do different activities through out the week. With unfortunate flooding the week before the pool was closed, but there was a recreational centre just down the street to enjoy. We would definitely recommend Sunset Resort to others. Canmore is a very strong family friendly community!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    16
    15
    16
See reviews for
36
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

All of our arrangements through Interval International were for Sunset but when we arrived we were "upgraded" to the adjoining property of Rockie Mountain Resorts so not sure which one to put it under. We did not have to pay the extra $50/week for use of the pool although we didn't use it.
The room was recently upgraded with a multifunctional shower that massaged everything! The kitchen was adequate. The staff that we interfaced with was the Sunset and we couldn't have asked for more. They met with a group and for nearly 2 hours and reviewed all the places we should visit in the area and it was extrememly helpful. They also gave us discount coupons for restaurants. They also have free WI FI. They also lead a hike to Grassi Lake followed by lunch and also a trip to play disc golf. I would definitely recommend it

Room Tip: Not 134 or 136 if possible. The garage door goes up and down regularly within earshot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The reason I have given this hotel a 5, although it truthfully would only should be a 4, is to make up for all the reviewers that give it a low rating because they have to pay to use the pool which is part of the adjoining property.

We paid the $50 to use the pool next door for a week, which worked out to be $12.50 per person (or less than $2 per person per day) which I felt was reasonable as I would pay more for towels service at my local gym, and the hotel next door does provide towels. My girls loved the waterslides so much that it was probably only about 2 cents per ride! I knew in advance that I would need to pay, as it seems to be an issue with a lot of people who complain in their reviews about having to pay to use the pool. I also like the indoor outdoor hot tub, although it would be better if the hot tub had a view. (5 stars)

Although we knew in advance about the free weekly bar-b-que, I think all of our family were impressed with the quality of the food! So Kudos for that. (5 stars)

We went to the Habitat restaurant twice, as we found it to be one of the best in the local area. One tip would be to go on Sunday, as the reserve wines are 1/2 price and there is a deal on the chateaubriand (one of the house specialties). (5 stars)

We have also stayed at the Grande Rockies resort next door, and prefer the accomodations there, although the rates are better (at least for our stay) at Sunset resorts. Our room a 2 bedroom on the 3rd floor was also larger at Sunset resorts. I found both hotels to be dusty, although that is a problem I think for all of the hotels in the Banff area as it is very dry in the mountains. (4 stars)

There wasn't a flat screen tv in the bedroom, but rather an old school tv, which made the hotel seem more dated than it is. Even though we really didn't watch tv much as there are a lot of other activities to do, this just seemed wrong. (2 stars)

I like a firm bed so I found the bed at Sunset Resorts better than the one next door but the Frette linens at Grande Rockies resort are 100% better than those at Sunset Resorts. (4 stars bed 2 stars linens).

I found both hotels are too hot, had to open patio doors to cool off which can't be good for their heating costs! (4 stars) Maybe that is the reason the hotels are dry and dusty?

The hallways are some of the furniture starting to look rundown although probably have a few years left in them. (4 stars),

We made some of our meals in the kitchen in our suite which saved some money, Superstore and Safeway are walking distance (3 - 4 blocks). (5 stars)

Overall, I felt that we received good value for our stay, not the best hotel for a honeymoon unless you are on a budget, but an excellent hotel for an affordable family vacation.

Room Tip: If you have kids, you can pay to use the pool at the Grande Rockies resort next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Haven, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We arrived late and they went out of their way to get us in our room at 2am... Then the rooms were very clean and set up nice with everything you need to make food and live comfortably for the stay... They had a nice recreation and lobby area where the owners and staff stay involved by scheduling events and dinners with the guests weekly, where you get to meet them and other resort guests... Very fun and I recommend signing up for the activities... Very friendly people that will help you out in any way they can... They are also affiliated with the next door resort which has an indoor watermark for the kids... Good location in Canmore with easy access to the main road through town and an indoor underground parking lot... Very accommodating ... Five Stars...

Room Tip: Second floor, north side was very nice and quiet with a great view of the Rockies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on the family day long week-end. Check-in was quick, and the fellow helping us was friendly and explained the amenities/discounts in the area. They also provided us with free wifi access which was great. We were booked in the 1 bdrm jacuzzi suite with a king bed. When we walked in there was a gift basket there for us as it was part of their promotion. The kitchen was well appointed with everything you need to make your own meals, and they even provided us with 2 dishwasher tablets, sponges and mini towels for the kitchen. There is also a game room on site with Wii but we didn't use the game room.
I would recommend you bring your own pillows if you're staying for more than 1 night as the pillows aren't very comfortable, and the king bed was very hard. This is the only reason I gave them 4/5 instead of 5/5. It was relatively quiet but occasionally you would here people walking in the hallway...
There is definitely a lot of value in staying here and we would come back again.

Room Tip: There is no balcony in the 1 bdrm jacuzzi suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a 3 night winter stay at the Sunset Resorts for 4 adults in the 2 bedroom Jacuzzi room.
If you're an independent traveler looking for a functional condo and plan to self cater, this property will meet your needs. However, if you're looking for a full service hotel with helpful staff and all the typical niceties/services of a hotel, you may be better off looking elsewhere.

The front desk is hard to find, especially if you arrive at night, as the entryway is poorly lit. There is a sign on the west side of the property that indicates you are in the Sunset resorts but not a hint of where the front desk is. It's quite easy to get confused with the neighbouring rental condominiums too. Front desk staff are competent but not overly welcoming. They also state that there is an additional $25 charge to have access to the pool. I've only seen additional facility charges like that at some hotels with the facilities on an executive level or using third party facilities so it's irksome. Parking is underground, which is quite welcome during the winter.

The 2 bedroom suite is more than amply sized to host four adults. The living area is comfortable. The flat screen TV has 40 some cable and local channels. The electric fireplace is a nice esthetic touch but has an annoyingly loud hum. There is another washroom with just a shower and toilet. Water pressure was adequate and there were no problems with temperature. The resort only provides you with soap, shampoo and a warning to not use towels for anything like cleaning off makeup --surcharges apply if there is stained towels. There were obvious small touch-ups of paint and furniture needed in some areas --things weren't falling apart but they obviously weren't concerned with minor repairs.

The kitchen area should have enough basic cookware and utensils for you to do basic cooking and eat a meal in. There is a full size stove, refridgerator and dishwasher with a small supply of soap provided. We were left with dishtowels that I'm sure were clean but should have probably been retired to use as cleaning rags, so stained they were. No dishrack was available, which was an annoyance for those diligent enough to wash dishes but not needing to run a dishwasher load. Extra pots and pans are available upon request from housekeeping but be sure to catch housekeeping staff while they are cleaning to ask for them. Otherwise, the front desk is unlikely to be able to assist. There is a decent sized washer/dryer in the room.

The larger bedroom had a large king sized bed, Jacuzzi in room, and washroom. The smaller bedroom had a small double bed. Plus there was a sofa bed in the living area. The beds were quite firm (which I do not enjoy but that's a personal preference. Bedding was just barely functional and made me think of hospital linen in its sparseness and utilitarian nature. With the door closed and poor ventilation, the room temperature would increase in the night. Pillows were uniformly awful --thin, no pillow support and I woke up every day with a sore neck.

Wi-Fi strength was adequate during the stay. The front desk agent didn't bother providing a password to us so we had to call down to find out how to log in. Cellular phone reception could be fleeting in the complex. There are enough electrical plug-ins that you won't have any trouble finding a spot to charge your electronics.

Other Trip Advisor reviewers have noted quirks with housekeeping and their alternating service schedule. My observation of the housekeeping staff was that they seemed a bit understaffed, rushing to clean all of the bungalows in the complex. Service varied from harried curtness to warm smiles.

The complex is an easy 10 minute walk to Canmore town centre. Groceries and supplies are easily bought at Safeway, Sobeys and Canadian Tire. The Georgetown pub is across the parking lot and guests of the Sunset resort get a 10% off card to use there. The complex is very close to the Canmore hospital. Street lighting isn't the best so it's very easy to miss the Sidney Street turn-off.

If you're looking for an unforgettable venue to stay in, the Sunset Resorts will disappoint. It is utilitarian and will provide a clean place to stay. Stay elsewhere if you want to be pampered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a two bedroom jacuzzi suite for two days and it was great. After traveling all over Canada it was nice to relax in the jacuzzi.we did have some noise from the air con which was right outside our room but as there was only two of us we slept in the other bedroom and it was nice and quiet. I will Definately be back here with friends when I visit again already been talking about it.

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms ne'er the air con as can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay. We are happy that you were able to relax and enjoy your time here.

We are having the air conditioner looked at an appreciate you letting us know about it.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Resorts Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resorts Canmore

Address: 1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Resorts Canmore 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sunset Resorts Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel Canmore
Sunset Hotel Canmore
Canmore Sunset Hotel
Sunset Resorts Canmore Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Resorts Canmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.