We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Resorts Canmore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Resorts Canmore to your Saves list
Sunset Resorts Canmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on the family day long week-end. Check-in was quick, and the fellow helping us was friendly and explained the amenities/discounts in the area. They also provided us with free wifi access which was great. We were booked in the 1 bdrm jacuzzi suite with a king bed. When we walked in there was a gift basket there for us as it was part of their promotion. The kitchen was well appointed with everything you need to make your own meals, and they even provided us with 2 dishwasher tablets, sponges and mini towels for the kitchen. There is also a game room on site with Wii but we didn't use the game room.
I would recommend you bring your own pillows if you're staying for more than 1 night as the pillows aren't very comfortable, and the king bed was very hard. This is the only reason I gave them 4/5 instead of 5/5. It was relatively quiet but occasionally you would here people walking in the hallway...
There is definitely a lot of value in staying here and we would come back again.

Room Tip: There is no balcony in the 1 bdrm jacuzzi suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    18
    15
    16
See reviews for
37
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a 3 night winter stay at the Sunset Resorts for 4 adults in the 2 bedroom Jacuzzi room.
If you're an independent traveler looking for a functional condo and plan to self cater, this property will meet your needs. However, if you're looking for a full service hotel with helpful staff and all the typical niceties/services of a hotel, you may be better off looking elsewhere.

The front desk is hard to find, especially if you arrive at night, as the entryway is poorly lit. There is a sign on the west side of the property that indicates you are in the Sunset resorts but not a hint of where the front desk is. It's quite easy to get confused with the neighbouring rental condominiums too. Front desk staff are competent but not overly welcoming. They also state that there is an additional $25 charge to have access to the pool. I've only seen additional facility charges like that at some hotels with the facilities on an executive level or using third party facilities so it's irksome. Parking is underground, which is quite welcome during the winter.

The 2 bedroom suite is more than amply sized to host four adults. The living area is comfortable. The flat screen TV has 40 some cable and local channels. The electric fireplace is a nice esthetic touch but has an annoyingly loud hum. There is another washroom with just a shower and toilet. Water pressure was adequate and there were no problems with temperature. The resort only provides you with soap, shampoo and a warning to not use towels for anything like cleaning off makeup --surcharges apply if there is stained towels. There were obvious small touch-ups of paint and furniture needed in some areas --things weren't falling apart but they obviously weren't concerned with minor repairs.

The kitchen area should have enough basic cookware and utensils for you to do basic cooking and eat a meal in. There is a full size stove, refridgerator and dishwasher with a small supply of soap provided. We were left with dishtowels that I'm sure were clean but should have probably been retired to use as cleaning rags, so stained they were. No dishrack was available, which was an annoyance for those diligent enough to wash dishes but not needing to run a dishwasher load. Extra pots and pans are available upon request from housekeeping but be sure to catch housekeeping staff while they are cleaning to ask for them. Otherwise, the front desk is unlikely to be able to assist. There is a decent sized washer/dryer in the room.

The larger bedroom had a large king sized bed, Jacuzzi in room, and washroom. The smaller bedroom had a small double bed. Plus there was a sofa bed in the living area. The beds were quite firm (which I do not enjoy but that's a personal preference. Bedding was just barely functional and made me think of hospital linen in its sparseness and utilitarian nature. With the door closed and poor ventilation, the room temperature would increase in the night. Pillows were uniformly awful --thin, no pillow support and I woke up every day with a sore neck.

Wi-Fi strength was adequate during the stay. The front desk agent didn't bother providing a password to us so we had to call down to find out how to log in. Cellular phone reception could be fleeting in the complex. There are enough electrical plug-ins that you won't have any trouble finding a spot to charge your electronics.

Other Trip Advisor reviewers have noted quirks with housekeeping and their alternating service schedule. My observation of the housekeeping staff was that they seemed a bit understaffed, rushing to clean all of the bungalows in the complex. Service varied from harried curtness to warm smiles.

The complex is an easy 10 minute walk to Canmore town centre. Groceries and supplies are easily bought at Safeway, Sobeys and Canadian Tire. The Georgetown pub is across the parking lot and guests of the Sunset resort get a 10% off card to use there. The complex is very close to the Canmore hospital. Street lighting isn't the best so it's very easy to miss the Sidney Street turn-off.

If you're looking for an unforgettable venue to stay in, the Sunset Resorts will disappoint. It is utilitarian and will provide a clean place to stay. Stay elsewhere if you want to be pampered.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a two bedroom jacuzzi suite for two days and it was great. After traveling all over Canada it was nice to relax in the jacuzzi.we did have some noise from the air con which was right outside our room but as there was only two of us we slept in the other bedroom and it was nice and quiet. I will Definately be back here with friends when I visit again already been talking about it.

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms ne'er the air con as can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay. We are happy that you were able to relax and enjoy your time here.

We are having the air conditioner looked at an appreciate you letting us know about it.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have stayed at Sunset Resorts on two occasions, most recently in September 2012 for a week. We stayed through Interval as a time share week. As we were not staying as a hotel guest, our services were limited. We were to receive daily garbage collection and only one mid week service. During the daily garbage collection, not all garbage was collected. I had to remind them that there was other garbage in the bathrooms to be collected. We had to go ask for a kleenex box to be replenished. We were entitled to mid week maid service. I am really not sure what they did. They do not clean or exchange towels (we washed all towels ourselves); they do not change linen and we kept the resort in good condition so this was confusing. Then we found it appalling that an envelope was left to give a tip.

If you used any extra towels or linen, there was a sign that indicated you would be charged $25. If you left any marks on the towels (ie. make up) you would be charged $25. The towels we received were old and with ragged edges so I found this interesting.

The resort itself is older, weathered and adequately maintained. There was a stairwell with boxes around, and generally dirty. Inside the resort, there are almost no services. There is an old gym, a small room with a pool table and another room with couches and a flat screen tv which I am not sure why it is necessary when you have a full living area and tv's in your own suite. If you want to use the pool/ hot tub, you need to pay $25. I was shocked by this.

In the suites, there is much renovation needed. The towel rack in the bathroom was falling off; an outlet in the kitchen was loose and as far as I'm concerned...dangerous. The carpets were stained; the linen and towels old; sparse supplies in kitchen and furniture was scratched and old in some rooms. The mattresses in some rooms were squeaky and needed replacement. Some rooms had no drawers at all which we could not understand. The master bedroom had only one night stand with two small drawers for your clothes. The third bedroom does not have a window and was stuffy and hot even with the air on.

I do love Canmore and this hotel is ideally located. This is truly a positive! On the other side of the street, hotels have to contend with the train rails behind them. This is not the case on the side this hotel is on. It is a quick walk to the main downtown area and easy access to highway to enter the provincial park.

Our room faced the balconies of another resort and a parking lot. The other side does give a better view and you will see some of the mountains. Make sure and ask for that view if you decide to stay there. The suites are fairly spacious despite they need cleaning, dusting and more furniture and newer furniture.

This resort has given up and does not seem to cater to their clients much anymore. Our experience in 2010 was more positive.

Room Tip: Ask to face the side with the mountain view. The higher up the better. I think there are only 3 or 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for writing about your experience as we use it as a tool to grow. We are sorry you have not had your expectations met, we appreciate the opportunity to learn from it and to connect personally with you.

Sunset Resorts does not have a pool on site however, we are fortunate to have negotiated with the adjacent property allowing our guests access to their facilities for an additional fee.

A resort representative will be in touch with you privately to answer the remainder of your question's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom jacuzzi suite for two days. No real issues, the condo unit was clean, the king size bed was fine, both washrooms had no issues, the jacuzzi was great. It has a full kitchen and a TV area with a couch and an electric fireplace. I liked the underground parking, the elevators make it easy to get to your room. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We rented a condo on line with sunset resorts and did not know that you are not included in the service the rest of the hotel guests will be privy to. The condo was lovely but dusty ++ we were given a dish cloth but no tea towel. Our garbage was getting full after the first day and we waited 5 hours for a tea towel and to have someone collect the garbage after 2 calls to the front desk. No maid service at all. The front desk was surprised when they heard no maid service had been that day but still no body showed up. I gave feed back when we checked out and told by the gentleman at the desk that "sunset resorts asks us to stay away from the condo guests and that my concerns should be brought to sunset resorts". How do you contact sunset resorts they are untouchable. If I owned a condo and had this type of service to the guests that were renting it I would not be happy. Advice to people booking ask questions as there may be weird rules like this and in other reviews about charging to use the pool. Having said that Canmore is such a beautiful town and we will be back but not thur sunset resorts but thru the hotel directly as per advice given by concierge due to the money we spent on 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are truly sorry to read about your disappointment on Trip Advisor! We did contract out services as we are located in two separate buildings. Since this review we have taken control of our own units in each building to ensure that all standards are being met and to avoid confusion in the future. We do appreciate your feedback as it has helped us reach that next step in providing great customer service for our guests.

We will be contacting you personally to follow up about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

This is not a posh resort but we were perfectly satisfied. We stayed the last two weeks in June through Interval International and enjoyed the area immensely. The unit was clean and certainly adequate. The staff was accommodating and the service was sufficient. We only had minor issues, such as the kitchen could have been better equipped and desperately needed a new coffee pot and frying pan. Also, the blinds in the master bedroom were broken. We would go back if the opportunity arose.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for visiting our hotel! We are very pleased that you experienced great service. We have corrected the minor details you mentioned and thank you for letting us know. We do hope you will return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Resorts Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resorts Canmore

Address: 1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Resorts Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Resorts Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel Canmore
Sunset Hotel Canmore
Canmore Sunset Hotel
Sunset Resorts Canmore Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Resorts Canmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.