We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Resorts Canmore

Save Saved
You added Sunset Resorts Canmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sunset Resorts Canmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Canmore
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom jacuzzi suite for two days. No real issues, the condo unit was clean, the king size bed was fine, both washrooms had no issues, the jacuzzi was great. It has a full kitchen and a TV area with a couch and an electric fireplace. I liked the underground parking, the elevators make it easy to get to your room. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    13
    13
    15
See reviews for
35
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We rented a condo on line with sunset resorts and did not know that you are not included in the service the rest of the hotel guests will be privy to. The condo was lovely but dusty ++ we were given a dish cloth but no tea towel. Our garbage was getting full after the first day and we waited 5 hours for a tea towel and to have someone collect the garbage after 2 calls to the front desk. No maid service at all. The front desk was surprised when they heard no maid service had been that day but still no body showed up. I gave feed back when we checked out and told by the gentleman at the desk that "sunset resorts asks us to stay away from the condo guests and that my concerns should be brought to sunset resorts". How do you contact sunset resorts they are untouchable. If I owned a condo and had this type of service to the guests that were renting it I would not be happy. Advice to people booking ask questions as there may be weird rules like this and in other reviews about charging to use the pool. Having said that Canmore is such a beautiful town and we will be back but not thur sunset resorts but thru the hotel directly as per advice given by concierge due to the money we spent on 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are truly sorry to read about your disappointment on Trip Advisor! We did contract out services as we are located in two separate buildings. Since this review we have taken control of our own units in each building to ensure that all standards are being met and to avoid confusion in the future. We do appreciate your feedback as it has helped us reach that next step in providing great customer service for our guests.

We will be contacting you personally to follow up about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

This is not a posh resort but we were perfectly satisfied. We stayed the last two weeks in June through Interval International and enjoyed the area immensely. The unit was clean and certainly adequate. The staff was accommodating and the service was sufficient. We only had minor issues, such as the kitchen could have been better equipped and desperately needed a new coffee pot and frying pan. Also, the blinds in the master bedroom were broken. We would go back if the opportunity arose.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for visiting our hotel! We are very pleased that you experienced great service. We have corrected the minor details you mentioned and thank you for letting us know. We do hope you will return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

The people who work the front desk are not understanding and have ZERO patience or tolerance for any questions what so ever. Whoever owns this place should enroll thier staff in some serious customer service courses as they are rude and inefficient. They can't even get your Internet password right. Here's the kicker, you have to pay $25 a day to use the pool for a family when it is right on resort property. Never again. Stay away as there are many other properties in this area that WANT your business.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. We have taken steps to ensure a higher level of Customer service.

Sunset Resorts does not have a pool on site however, we are fortunate to have negotiated with the adjacent property allowing our guests access to their facilities for an additional fee.

You will be contacted personally to discuss further details by a hotel representative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I had this room for the Canada day long weekend. It was a gift from my parents, and at the given time, was the cheapest available.

When I checked in, I was told that I had to pay to use the pool facilities. In any hotel I've ever stayed in, I've never had to pay. Never. Period. The fact that I had to pay at a resort kind of left a bad taste in my mouth. We were told there was underground parking, but our card didn't work, so we had to go back and get the password to get in. The fellow at the front desk didn't care, he just fed me some bullcrap and sent me on my way.

Our room was like any other room, so I can't fault them. That weekend, I had a horrible cold and I'd ended up using the entire box of kleenex the first night. I'd set the empty box ontop of the bathroom counter so they'd be able to put a new one in when they came that afternoon. Well, we came back that night, and nothing in the room had been touched except for the garbage and the 'tip envelope' on a counter. It almost seemed as if they looked for a tip, found none, and left without doing anything else. The towels weren't replaced (they were ripped and stained to begin with) either.

Now, whenever I'm at a hotel, I tip on the last night based on the service. I'm not going to tip to get service, that's just ludicrous. The next day, I headed down to let the front desk clerk know about it. Once again, he didn't seem like he really cared. He phoned the head of housekeeping who informed us that the towels were done every second day. He once again fed us some bullcrap riddled with apathy and sent us on our way.

That night, we came back, the bed was done, fresh towels, everything that you'd expect. They left a note saying that 'first day/everyday service was for garbage, general tidying, and making the bed. Second day was for replacing sheets and towels'. So she says that the first day was for making the bed, yet they clearly didn't?

For the amount that was being paid to stay there, the service was ridiculous. Nothing was touched the first day except for the trash bin, the clerk didn't seem to care at all, services that would normally come with the room had to be paid for, it was ridiculous.

I'll say this, don't bother with Sunset Resorts unless you plan on staying for a timeshare for an extended period of time. Go somewhere else, don't waste your money here. It's not worth it.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback. While we are sorry to have received it, we appreciate the opportunity to learn from it and to connect personally with you.

Sunset Resorts does not have a pool on site however, we are fortunate to have negotiated with the adjacent property allowing our guests access to their facilities for an additional fee.

A resort representative will be in touch with you privately to answer the remainder of your question's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife, 12-year old son and I spent a week in early June through Interval International exchange. Resort is located approximately 80 minutes from Calgary airport. Canmore is a typical ski resort town with plenty of restaurants, shops and grocery stores. It is less than 30 minutes from downtown Banff. There are a number of hiking trails around Canmore so take the time to walk around.

This place is relatively small and not an all-in-one destination (i.e. no onsite restaurants, kids programs). There is an indoor swimming pool at the resort across the parking lot but does cost $50/family a week. There is a workout room that looked nice. Parking is free in an underground garage. There are a number of families that live here year-round.

Check-in was simple. NO timeshare selling tactics. Front desk was only manned by one person but he was quite friendly and helpful.

Accommodation
We stayed in a 2-bedroom accommodation that has been refurbished. It felt quite cozy and had nice mountain views. There were 2 full baths with a Jacuzzi tub in the master and a washer/dryer in the other. Décor and furniture were not fancy but pleasing. Kitchen had full-size refrigerator, full-size cooktop/oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and dishwasher. Appliances had some wear but were in working order. Carpet, along with rest of the condo, was clean. There were moderate size flat-screen TV in the living with an old TV in the master. No safe in the room.

We had daily housekeeping (trash service, making beds) which was an unexpected surprise considering it was a timeshare exchange. Only a few very minor complaints: ceiling could be better insulated, shower in master was a bit small, kitchen supplies were not quite adequate, and would like to see CFL bulbs in lamps.

Internet access via WiFi (no LAN) was free and fast. Each device needed a separate login. We were given 2 at check-in, but were given 2 more when we asked!

Summary
Don’t expect this to be a fancy resort with all the extra amenities. It felt more like you were renting from a condo owned by someone. But it was quite cozy and comfortable. I would certainly consider staying here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to make such a detailed posting on you trip to Canmore. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenstone, Staffordshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

There are numerous restaurants within walking distance and the town nestles in the Rocky Mountains, so a beautiful backdrop. Individual boutiques and lots of walking trails and just outside of Banff National Park.
Lodge was fine and staff friendly. resort and lodge were very clean. Amenities were few and had to pay for wi-fi! But overall no complaints and I would recommend this resort

Room Tip: Get a lodge with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Resorts Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resorts Canmore

Also Known As:
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel Canmore
Sunset Hotel Canmore
Canmore Sunset Hotel
Sunset Resorts Canmore Alberta
Address: 1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Resorts Canmore 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Sunset Resorts Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Resorts Canmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.