We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - "heated" pool is too cold for kids (and adults)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools to your Saves list
Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 get your 3rd FREE
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing - "heated" pool is too cold for kids (and adults)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I spend about 4 long weekends in Banff or Canmore per year, and the Thanksgiving weekend was my first try at Mystic Springs. I went with grade-4 twins, my mom and myself.
While the accommodations are very nice (great dining area, decent living room, bedrooms, kitchen), I would never return to this accommodation (despite it being a good coupon deal). For starters, the outdoor pool, although heated, was FAR TOO COLD TO USE IN THE WINTER. My daughter's lips turned purple in 5 minutes and we were done. And the hot pool was broken and down for the whole weekend. In addition, there's some strange cable set up on the television that if innocently clicked an innocuous looking TV icon instead of another very similar icon, your living room TV is down for 3 hours. This was especially infuriating on our last night - when the weather was really cold, and we all wanted to hang out and be warm.
Also, there's no bathroom on the main floor, which is frustrating, and although this is considered a dog-friendly facility, there's very little grass to take a little dog out late at night for relief.
I rented this condo because of the pool - when you have 2 hyper young kids in the winter, this is no small concern. I'll go back to the Douglas Fir, the Blackstone or Tunnel Mountain Lodge anytime. I was totally disappointed.
K.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for writing your experiences as it is very important for us to know when we haven't met expectations. This gives us a chance to learn and grow. So sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately the hot tub needed a part and because we are not in a bigger city where you can just get parts it takes longer to fix when these things happen as they have to be prdered and then shipped. It is unfortunate when some of our facilities break down but I assure you we do our best to rectify.....we hope that you will reconsider staying with us again and if you do wish to discuss this further please contact me judy@waymarker.ca I do look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    70
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
136
30
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have stayed here twice. Two bedrooms, a reasonable kitchen and dining area plus a cozy (yeah small) living room with electric fireplace. We had a nice view out the living room window of a small stone pond and the heated swimming pool.

The price was right and we liked the convenience of making breakfast ourselves before heading out. It was clean, quiet, and about 15 minutes from Banff and about an hour from Lake Louise.

Will probably return again. Only negative, no really good restaurants nearby. Still downtown Canmore is 5 minutes by car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for staying at Mystic SPrings!!!! We enjoyed having you and thank you for sharing with everyone your experiences with us!!! Cooking breakfast in your own suite is very convenient and saves you money in order to enjoy Canmore's various dining spots!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stay at Mystic Springs every year. The rates are competative, especially for what it has to offer. Each unit has three full beds in two bedrooms (one master with king and one bedroom with two queens), two full bathrooms, a full kitchen and dining area and a comfortable and cozy liviing space. The units are very clean and nicely decorated and, now under new management since late 2011, the hotel is well cared for with excellent service. In addition to the nature of the units, there are two signicant things about this hotel that make it the perfect getaway for families. First, it has a very large heated outdoor pool where the kids can swim outside (yes - that's right folks - kids can swim outside in winter) in all but the most bitter temperatures. The pool can be seen from the outdoor patio of most units - on the finer days and in the right unit, one can sit on ones patio right outside ones unit and watch the kids in the pool. The second significant thing about this hotel is that it is in Canmore, Alberta - an outdoor paradise for families in both summer and winter. The town of Canmore is lovely, hosts the Canmore Nordic Centre, sits right outside the park gates of Banff National Park and is a mere 10 minutes from the town of Banff itself. I highly recommend this hotel for a family getaway, family reunion, or any group getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Mystic SPrings caters to families and thank you for recognizing that and sharing this with the Trip Advisor community!!! We can't wait to see you again!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We thuroughly enjoyed our stay here! Very affordable, clean and had all the amenities of home. We stayed with another family, and we had more than enough room and privacy to sleep. The 2 bathrooms are wonderful, allowing everyone to get ready in the mornings in good time. Very clean, and a fully stocked kitchen allowed us to cook all our meals and eat in - even a Thanksgiving turkey diner!) We had stayed here before 5 years ago, and to our delight it was just as clean and fresh looking as we remembered it then. The kids enjoyed the pool day and night, again very clean and well kept. There was truly nothing more we could have wanted during our stay. We will all definately keep returning for many years to come.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing with Trip Advisor!!!! We are so greatful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be back!!!!! Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We love it here. We stay with our two young children every year. It was quite clean and nicely decorated. Comfy beds and really comfy housecoats, which were handy to wear out to the pool. The full kitchen was well stocked and it was nice to do all our cooking. The pool and hot tub provided the kids and us hours of entertainment, and were very clean with the perfect temperatures and not too strong of chemicals. Great service. Very friendly and quick to accommodate. Nothing bad to say! Didn't try out the restaraunt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Awesome!!! Thank you and we hope to see you again next year!!!! Glad we made your experience with us so memorable!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We gather for our annual September long weekend family reunion in Canmore. This year we booked at Mystic Springs and we were very pleased with the rates we received, cleanliness of the chalets and common areas and accommodations that were made for our large group such as blocking our rooms together and bringing a high chair and playpen for a toddler. The location is great and we would highly recommend staying here. We will be back next year! ~Joan & family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for staying at Mystic!!! We are so happy tohear that you enjoyed your stay with us!!! Thank you and we hope to see you again very soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We celebrated our Family Thanksgiving at the Mystic Springs facility and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I had specific requests when placing the booking and all were honored. We found the staff to be most obliging and quite friendly. They totally met our needs, supplying us with extra item requests without question. Our spacious and clean unit was extremely comfortable for my husband and I, our adult children, their spouses and our grandchildren. Plenty of closet space for storage. Loved the upstairs bedroom lay out, as there were two bedrooms at opposite ends of a corridor, with doors that closed, so the little ones could be put to bed at night without being disturbed. We were able to play cards downstairs together on the large dining table, once they were asleep without fear of waking them up. Also loved the fact that there were two full bathrooms for showering, as that certainly helped our large family. We made good use of the swimming pool which is quite large and beautifully lit at night. My husband and son liked to sit on the balcony once the children were in bed, sharing a drink together, facing that pool. My husband also enjoyed barbecuing our supper meat in full view of that pool, as he found that truly relaxing. Towel housecoats were supplied, which were excellent for adult use to and from the pool. They also came in handy for wrapping around the little ones when carrying them to and from the pool. Found the facility to be really quiet, the quietest we have experienced to date in Canmore. Loved the fact that there was security at all times, that helped me to sleep. We have stayed in other facilities in Canmore but our family liked this facility the best. We will definitely return when we make our annual family ski trip to the mountains. Thanks for the lovely stay, we were sorry to leave. Canmore is beautiful and less busy than Banff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for celebrating Thanksgiving at Mystic. We are greatful toi hear that you enjoyed your chalet so much and you enjoyed the quiet atmosphere. We can't wait for you to come back for your ski holiday and please feel free to book one of our ski packages, they will be online shortly!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools

Address: 140 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#6 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools Hotel Canmore
Mystic Springs Chalets And Hot Pools
Mystic Springs Canmore
Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.