We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as adversised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools

Save Saved
You added Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not as adversised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Overall I was quite dissapointed with this hotel. We booked it for the weekend for my Dad's birthday. I booked just based on what I read on the website and was quite excited as the place looked farily fancy. The price was also high so I assumed it must be quite nice. First thing I noticed is that it is not nearly as big as it looks on the website (all suites are the same). The used some creative photography to make things look bigger. It says it can accomodate up to 6 adults but neither the living room or dining area had enough seating for any more than 4 adults. There are only 4 chairs at the dining table. Also, it says it has gourmet kitchenware. It does not, and it seems there are a lot of things missing. Certain things like a small paring knife, vegetable peeler, or wine/bottle opener were missing. Had to peel veggies with a massive knife. The dishwasher was also not working and the dishes in the cupboard were dirty as a result. We had to handwash dishes. The cupboards in the bedrooms were falling apart. When my Dad opened the TV cupboard in the master bedroom the door fell off. Also, the BBQ's in the BBQ area are in major disrepair. They said they would have someone look at them the next day but they didn't. It woudlnt have mattered anyways as the BBQ's were so bad they didnt need repairing, they need entirely new BBQ's. Also, it says there is a private patio area for all the suites, which I was looking forward to as it was a nice weekend, this does not exist at all. There were a couple chairs outside of the front door and not enough room for more than a couple people, and the area was not private at all. Also, the hot tub was not working when we went. It is under renovations and it looks like it has been for quite some time. I know that the owners of this place also own the Solara resort and my understanding is there is some financial difficulty there so I think this explains some of the disrepair. I wouldnt have even minded but the website really made it seem like it was going to be so much better than it was so I was very dissapointed.

The pluses were that the staff were friendly and when I told them my complaints it seemed like they heard them all the time. They tried to do what they could to help. It was also very clean (with exception of the dishes).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmBSHRCan, General Manager at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
I am sorry that your experience at Mystic Springs Chalets was not what you had expected. We review these comments with our team daily, and put an action plan together to ensure that your concerns are taken care of.

Our company works with the owners of the individual units through their Condominium Board, to ensure that the property is being upgraded in a timely fashion. Working with the condominium board, a plan is being presented that will have some upgrades in each of the units to get them more aligned with what the expectation of todays guests are. This will include items such as new bedding, and furniture, as well as public area items. The resort is well funded, and is looking to make the necessary investments to upgrade the property to the standards demanded by guests.

We thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, and be assured that the team on the ground is working hard to provide a great experience for all our guests, and we take this feedback very seriously.

Sincerely
R Noble
Area Director - Canmroe
Bellstar Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    62
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
116
27
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have stayed at Mystic Springs many times over the past 10+ years. This time we were disappointed with the units and the property itself. The units have been somewhat redone over the years but the unit we were in was very dirty. The floors were filthy and the walls were full of dirt, finger prints, grease and gouges. They advertise the units as being able to hold 6 people however there wasn't 6 of everything...only 5 bowls, 4 small plates, 5 glasses, not enough cutlery, etc.. The kitchen only has 4 chairs so we had to bring in the plastic chairs from the outside to have enough chairs for our group to eat at the table. The bedding upstairs is nice, and it is evident that the sheets get changed but I wonder if the duvets have ever been washed! They only clean the rooms every 4 days if you are staying longer but no one came to see if we needed soap for the dishwasher or garbage bags. We had to go ask as they only provided 2 of each.

One of the big draws for us is the pool and hot tub. We arrived to find that the hot tub is closed as it has a leak and they don't know where it is. We were not told of the problem before we arrived and were not happy to only find out when we arrived. We were told that they were not letting people know because they were worried people would cancel their reservations...which we would have! When we checked out, we were told they hope the hot tub will be fixed soon but it could be until at least the middle of Oct. Plus, they aren't sure if the leak is under the BBQ area or even the pool so does that mean there could be no BBQ or pool when guests arrive if they have to start digging in those areas?

In the past I would have written glowing reviews about Mystic Springs but it seems like things have gone very downhill and unfortunately, we won't be staying there again unless things change greatly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmBSHRCan, General Manager at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property recently. Your feedback is improtant to us, and I would like to assure you that we have reviewed your comments with our management team in an effort to ensure that your concerns are addressed. Recently we have changed our housekeeping services to Vacation Style services as our guests were telling us that they did not feel that they wanted the intrusion on a daily basis of a housekeeper. With that change we updated the amentities that we were putting into each unit, and it appears that this was not the case with your unit. We have reviewed this with our team, and we are working to ensure that all units are appropriately outfitted with amenities and equipment for our guests stay. In regards to the hot tub, we have found the leak, and fortunately, the leak was not too far undergroung. It is now in the process of getting repaired, and should be operational on your next visit. We are working closely with the ownership group of Mystic Springs, and the upgrades to the unit that are now necessary are being addressed. The bedding is scheduled to be changed over to a triple sheeting system, which is a cleaner and crisper look than the current look, and you can be assured that the sheets will be changed for every guest. Also, there are upgrades happening within the unit including some new furniture. In all the ownership group understands the need to upgrade to ensure a smooth and pleasant experience, and as a team, we are all looking forward to these things happening. We have also recently upgraded the internet service at Mystic Springs to ensure that guests can utilize their electronic devices including smartphones, laptops etc.. So please be assured that the comments that you are sending are taken seriously, and we are working towards ensuring that you have the type of experience you expect at Mystic Springs Chalets and Hot Pools.

SIncerely
R Noble
Area Director - Canmore
Bellstar Hotels and Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

beautifull
a real house
great beds
kitchen fully equepy
clean
comfertable
good location

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmBSHRCan, General Manager at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of Mystic Springs Chalets and Hot Pools. Many of our guests also feel the same way you do about Mystic Springs,and continue to come back year after year. The condos are very comfortable and with the pools, have a great feel to them. Once again, thank you for your comments, and we hope to see you back some time soon.

R Noble
Area Director - Canmore
Bellstar Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was my third time to this resort. Our last 2 stays were in 2008 and 2009. We didn't enjoy this particular stay. The condo's need work. They are showing wear. The hot tub was closed while we were there and the pool wasn't as warm as other stays. I felt they should have told us about the hot tub not working. We would have stayed else where as a hot tub is something we enjoy after a long days hike. I did let the front desk know of my complaints and they did compensate our rate a bit. I felt it could have been more in my option but whatever....at least it was something. The court yard where the pool is can be loud when the partiers head home. This I did not enjoy either as you have to keep your window closed. In all...I probably won't be back. I did check out the Blackstone which is right down the street. They are from the same group. It looks nicer and I'll probably head there for out next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmBSHRCan, General Manager at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your feedback of our resort. Mystic Springs is one of the family favourites here in Canmore, and with the pools this makes a great place for families to stay. The hot tub has had some problems as it had a major leak in the undergroud piping which we are in the process of getting fixed. Also, the board of directors for Mystic Springs Chalets, which represents the owner group has been working hard to put together a package that will upgrade the interior of the units and bring them up to a more contemporary look and feel with some new furniture and bedding. They are excited to get this work done, and look forward to having all our guests come back and see these improvements when they are completed.

R Noble
Area Director - Canmore
Bellstar Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Loved the condo unit and would definately stay there again. Very clean,decorated nicely, lots of room, kitchen well stocked, I also used the tread mill and pool.
Everything was perfect. Reception was very helpful with the bookings we wished to make.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmBSHRCan, General Manager at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is a pleasure to read comments such as yours, and we will be sure to pass them on to the team. Mystic Springs is a favourite of many guests who come back year after year.

Sincerely
R Noble
Area Director - Canmore
Bellstar Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed in a chalet nearest to the highway. As a result the traffic noise in the second bedroom was very loud even during the night. The air-conditioning is quite limited on the second floor so that the downstairs would be frozen before the upstairs would be cool. We could not sleep with the window open at night due to the traffic noise. During our week stay the hot pool was out of order the whole time. It took a few days and several complaints for them to provide an alternate solution. The solution was to walk about a block and a half to a nearby resort. While this was better than no access it was still inconvenient.

The chalets will sleep 8 however chalets are only set up for 4 people. An additional chair for the kitchen table was requested and a plastic patio chair was brought in. Additional towels and other items needed to be requested for more than 4people.

Room cleaning occurs each day to empty garbage and change towels but additional services only occur every 4th day.

No Internet is available in the rooms and wireless is only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Request a chalet away from the highway to reduce traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmBSHRCan, General Manager at Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We can understand the frustration with the hot tub being down over the course of your stay. I am happy that we were able to provide a solution to you during your stay. In regards to the internet, the overall service has recently been upgraded, and we now have wireless internet available throughout the property for our guests to use. This was necessary as the proliferation of electronic devices had a detrimnetal affect on the overall speed of our service.

SIncerely,

R Noble
Area Director - Canmore
Bellstar Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

It was nice but a few things could be better. No internet in room, pool was not 30 degrees like it was supposed to be and our room was not cleaned in 3 days we were there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools

Address: 140 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#6 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Springs Chalets And Hot Pools
Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools Hotel Canmore
Mystic Springs Canmore
Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.