We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai It Up

Thai It Up
731 Railway Ave, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
403-675-8424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 102 Restaurants in Canmore
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Delish!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were staying in a local hotel and decided to have food delivered and eat in our room. Heard about Thai it Up and gave it a try. WOW!. It was great. The Chicken Satay with peanut sauce was a great starter to share, and then the Panaeng Thai Curry was a great main dish. My partner had the Beef Massaman Curry and couldn't finish it. We'd opted for double protein in both dishes and they must have weighed two pounds each. Delivery in town was $5.00 and well worth having it delivered on a cold night. Everything was just great! OH....when I phoned to order, they were too busy to answer the phone, and their automated message said to call back later. However, a few minutes later, they phoned me, obviously from call display. I appreciated that! Delivery occurred within 15 minutes of ordering.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    6
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cheap, fresh asian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We got there just before the evening rush. What a line up--obviously the locals know it has the best Thai food. Green Curry and Chicken Paneng were both delicious. They made sure that the Chicken Paneng was Gluten and Dairy-free for me.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice surprise! Wholesome, fresh, fast...if not quite authentic...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were delighted to find a Thai place in little Canmore, so we ordered take out from Thai It Up, run by an ex-pat who went to Thailand, loved the food, and studied cooking. We ordered the Green Papaya Salad (one of our favorites) and the Chicken Panang Curry. Both were fresh, tasty, with authentic ingredients (Kaffir Lime leaves, Green Papaya, Thai Chiles - where do you GET this stuff in the middle of the Rockies??). Our only criticism was that the flavors were rather bland. Panang, for example, should have a rich spicy coconut-based sauce: this was really just a stir-fry on rice. I applaud the owner for offering food that is well-prepared and freshly served. I would just suggest making the effort to mimic true Thai flavors, balancing fish sauce, lime, sugar etc. (And more coconut in the Panang!). But we recommend this place as a good, healthy option for Canmore.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just on Railway Avenue, small little restaurant with BIG food. The butter chicken is to die for, best Thai food ever. Can eat in or take out

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The food taste pretty good and price is reasonable. I wish there are more sit down place so we don't have to bring the food back to our hotel.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai It Up also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Thai It Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai It Up, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.