We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good over all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 Mountain Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
calgary
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“pretty good over all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

we stayed over new years for two nights. Hotel staff very friendly. Decent breakfast kept my children happy. A nice view with balcony, fireplace. Beds were a 6 of 10 ...comfortable but maybe a little worn as I awoke with a backache both mornings. We enjoyed the pool and spa except the pool or spa irrated my skin and my children's skin on the second day. I wrote to the hotel and got the politically correct email back that the pool is checked daily and nothing was out of order. Yup guess I am just out of my mind. I thought management dropped the ball on that one
All in all we would stay again.

  • Liked — nice breakfast, large dinning area ,very good staff
  • Disliked — management blew off my complaint on the web survey
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    186
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
171
189
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Best Western Port O Call in Calgary and had a wonderful experience so while we were in Edmonton we were looking for a place to stay after our trip to Jasper and decided that we would stay just outside of the hustle and bustle of Banff. What a treat this place was! This hotel had all the quiet amenities of the Port O Call hotel but in addition every room has a fire place and there was a huge water park in the hotel itself. There was a great breakfast room although we only managed to make it to it one day. A down side to this hotel was that there was no restaurant on site but there is no shortage of them near the hotel. One other problem with the hotel is the elevator is extremely slow and there is only one of them - it would be nice if there were at least one more.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the great rooms
  • Disliked — The elevator!!!!!
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

When I my wife and I go away for a rare short week end get away we don't want to break the bank and we want clean, quiet comfort. We got this all at the Best Western. Beautiful room with a fireplace, balcony and a view of the Rockies. Very comfortable bed. Pool,Hot tub, and sauna. We enjoyed wine on the balcony, relaxed in the hot tub and walked to a near by restaurant. Was a memorable stay. The complimentary continental breakfast was probably the best I have ever encountered at any hotel. Most give you just muffins and coffee, maybe some toast and fruit. But this was way more than we ever anticipated. Such a wide variety. The room was very clean. My wife rarely takes off her shoes in many hotel rooms because we are not sure of the cleanness of the floor. However here, she was totally satisfied. Definitely we will stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville BC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

What a great super little hotel! A well run breakfast room - clean and fully stocked.

Very comfortable large room with a fireplace and windows that actually opened to let in fresh air. We got a king size bed with a hide a bed and a nice office table to write on. The room had a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and a sink. Staff were very courteous, friendly, and made good suggestions for dinner restaurants. This place was so clean you could have eaten off the elevator floor!

The main lobby was filled with antiques on the walls which made for great atmosphere.

At $140 for the night it was more than a fair price in a high priced tourist area. The Inn was close to all the shops, restaurants, and museums with the staff giving good directions. Loved our stay, just wished we had more time to spend in Canmore. The scenery from our window was breathtaking.

  • Liked — Clean, Clean, Clean
  • Disliked — A bit of highway noise in the morning.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

stayed here two nights,great scenery,peaceful.rooms clean and spacious ours even had a gas (logtype)fire which made it cosy.Near to banff great for a base,for day trips,Found some very good restaurants.can,t remember their names still jet lagged.pool and gym both good.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENICE
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night during a two week road trip through the Canadain Rockies and British Columbia. We loved the location of this hotel...just 10 miles East of Banff.

The room was spacious and nicely decorated and the bedding was excellent with plush pillow tops. The desk clerks were very friendly and helpful.

I hightly recommend this hotel when visiting Banff National Park.

  • Liked — Location and bedding
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

My wife son and I booked a week at the Pocaterra Inn, mid August and we were well satisfied with our stay. We had been travelling almost continually for 2 weeks and our aim was to chill out and take things a bit more easy during our last weeks vacation.

The great draw here (at least for my son) was the presence of a good size pool and water slide. When we arrived however, it was undergoing some emergency maintenance. so my son's enthusiasm for the place was somewhat tempered. However the ever obliging staff had made an arrangment with the hotel next door that also had a pool (albeit somewhat smalle) and they did have the pool up the next day.

I will say that I found the staff ever so co-operative. No little thing was too much trouble (and we asked for a lot of little things). They were even able to have a room ready at 11am in the morning, just what we needed after a tiring trip.

The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and very clean. The air conditioning was effective but a bit on the noisy side, so we couldnt use much at night when we needed it.

The continental breakfast is fine, but a bit monotonous if you are there for more than a few days. By way of a change try Craigs Way Station right next door for a really appetising cooked breakfast.

All in all a very good experience and I would stay here with the family

  • Liked — Cleanliness and space
  • Disliked — noisy airconditioner
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn

Address: 1725 Mountain Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Canmore
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the towering peaks of the Canadian Rockies, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is your ideal lodging choice while visiting Canmore Alberta. From the warm welcome in our lobby to our spacious guest rooms, you are sure to experience superior service while staying with us.Our hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with a multitude of amenities including stunning views of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, fireplaces, free high-speed wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TV’s. Guests can enjoy our daily complimentary hot continental breakfast and access to our business centre, fitness facility, games room and meeting rooms. In addition, our hotel features a whirlpool, steam room, sauna and indoor swimming pool with a large waterslide perfect for the whole family to enjoy.Just minutes away from Banff National Park the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is a great place to explore the Canadian Rockies, natural hot springs, lakes, glaciers, canyons, and ski resorts. When visiting Canmore Alberta, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn will make your stay feel just like home, but better. Our relaxing atmosphere, tastefully appointed rooms and friendly hospitality are the perfect complement to your visit to the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pocaterra Hotel Canmore
Best Western Canmore
Canmore Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.