We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 Mountain Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night en route to our more long term stays in Lake Louise and Jasper. The hotel is located on a side road paralleling the TransCanada Hwy. We had a very nice room on the top floor facing this highway. The room furnishings were modern, well maintained and the king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large modern and clean. There are trees obscuring the view of the highway from the room but you can hear the traffic from it if you open the balcony door. Otherwise the room was very quiet. The views of the mountains across the highway and valley are fantastic, in fact both sides of the hotel have views of the surrounding mountains. Coming up the elevator to the top floor we always noticed a pleasant scent in the hallways. The hotel is a short drive to downtown Canmore where most of the shopping and restaurants are. The lobby looks a bit like something from the 70's/80's but overall we thought everything seemed fairly well maintained. We were introduced to and very much appreciated the lemongrass-scented toiletries provided in our bathroom, made by Rocky Mt. Soap Co., a local company in Canmore. Definitely a step above the toiletries provided by most hotels. WiFi is complimentary and works well, a plus since being from the US, we were relying solely on WiFi to communicate with family and friends back home to let them know we were OK.

The only negative thing we noticed involved the complimentary breakfast in the morning. There were quite a lot of people in the breakfast room that morning and it seemed that they were very understaffed to cope with it. When we arrived, they were completely out of all dishes and utensils and had to wait quite a while until they were replenished. Same for some of the foods. When we were finally able to eat though we thought the food was decent. Overall we thought this hotel was a good place to stay and decently priced and conveniently located just outside of Banff National Park. If you plan to make this your base for exploration and intend to spend a lot of time hiking in the Lake Louise area, be aware that you will have about an hour's drive each way. That is why we chose to stay in the Lake Louise area for most of our trip vs. Canmore. Otherwise this hotel is a good choice budget and location-wise to use as a base.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    218
    47
    15
    9
See reviews for
218
228
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were blown away by the hotel, the staff, and even the view from the windows. We confused our reservations and showed up a day early. The desk staff were exceptionally helpful in accommodating us and adjusting our reservations. The views from all the rooms are great - beautiful mountains on both sides. Our king room and bathroom were large and very nice and well maintained. The beds were very comfortable and the room came with a refrigerator. The breakfast was good but unfortunately in too small an area for such a large group of people. The breakfast staff were overwhelmed - too many people and too small a space, yet they were very efficient, always having a smile and nice disposition, and they did an excellent job considering what they had to deal with. The only downside at the hotel was there was only one elevator which became very busy during the mornings and waits were a few minutes at times. Overall, I would definitely pick this hotel again as a base for our several day adventure in the Banff/Lake Louise/Jasper area. It is much less expensive than hotel near Banff and Lake Louise but provided excellent accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Canmore is a lovely town, surrounded by mountains and convenient to the Banff National Park. There are a number of good restaurants (see our review of the excellent Spice Hut Indian food restaurant). WIFI at the hotel is good. Beds are excellent. It is a quiet location with ample parking. Hot breakfast is provided. It is good, not great, but there is plenty to eat. Oatmeal, eggs, sausages, french toast, sometimes potatoes, and cold cereals. Coffee was ok, Hot Black tea was good. Juices provided as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

On the plus side, the hotel has a good location to get to Banff or Lake Louise without enduring the crowds. There is petrol and fast food nearby and some decent restaurants in Canmore.
The beds are firm and the pillows okay. It was nice to have a fridge and microwave.
On the negative side, staff service needed improvement. We ran out of facial tissue and a call to desk did not result in any delivery. Even after the room was made up the next day, still no tissue.
I finally found an employee in the lobby and got the tissue. The breakfast buffet was adequate but nothing special. The egg dish was like shoe leather. Some afternoons there were cookies in the lobby and they were good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitou-Charentes, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during our road trip. The hotel is very pretty and is in a great situation for sightseeing. Our room was spacious and clean, and the beds large and comfortable.. reception staff were adequate!! All in all, a reasonable choice. Canmore is fabulous! Swimming pool smells filled reception!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is very well situated if you want to visit Banff and area. It is much quieter in Canmore and there are lots of great eating places. The hotel rooms were nice. The carpets need to be replaced or at least cleaned in the reception area, elevator and hall ways. Our main problem was Room 319. If you left the room and let the door close behind you it did not latch. We returned to find the door open because it caught on the metal slider and was not only not locked, it was not closed so anyone could just walk in. The staff had finished cleaning and when they left they did not check to see that the door was closed and locked. We reported it to the front desk and they said they would talk to housekeeping. The next day the same thing happened. We again reported it to the front desk and were told they could not get it fixed today but would talk to housekeeping. We made sure we took our computer, passports and anything of value and kept it in the car. The final day there the door was locked when ever we returned. This hotel also charges a $100 per room security deposit in case of damage etc. which is deducted when you check out. That was the first time we had encountered this. The pool is inside and there is a very strong chlorine smell when you enter the lobby. We did not use the pool at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very comfortable, clean and excellent breakfast. Using the laundry there, I could not control temp of dryer very well. My clothes dried too hot. It was in a good centralized location since we were visiting various areas around Banff National Park and Calgary Alberta. I could not find any way to control the fridge and it froze everything we put in it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.5 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#1 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 33 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 33 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Canmore
Econo Lodge Canmore
#8 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.6 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
0.9 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#7 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn

Address: 1725 Mountain Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Canmore
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the towering peaks of the Canadian Rockies, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is your ideal lodging choice while visiting Canmore Alberta. From the warm welcome in our lobby to our spacious guest rooms, you are sure to experience superior service while staying with us.Our hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with a multitude of amenities including stunning views of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, fireplaces, free high-speed wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TV’s. Guests can enjoy our daily complimentary hot continental breakfast and access to our business centre, fitness facility, games room and meeting rooms. In addition, our hotel features a whirlpool, steam room, sauna and indoor swimming pool with a large waterslide perfect for the whole family to enjoy.Just minutes away from Banff National Park the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is a great place to explore the Canadian Rockies, natural hot springs, lakes, glaciers, canyons, and ski resorts. When visiting Canmore Alberta, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn will make your stay feel just like home, but better. Our relaxing atmosphere, tastefully appointed rooms and friendly hospitality are the perfect complement to your visit to the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pocaterra Hotel Canmore
Best Western Canmore
Canmore Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.