We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELIGHTFUL STAY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 Mountain Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“DELIGHTFUL STAY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently stayed in a wonderful suite at this Inn for part of my birthday celebration. This was our second visit. The accommodations are comfortable and welcoming; very nice amenities including a spacious spa/bathtub with a view of nearby mountains; the huge bathroom also had a spacious shower, lots of soft and nice-smelling towels, bathrobes; large bed w/sitting area in front of a fireplace; separate area w/desk for internet, phone, etc. Also, an adjoining lanai with another great view and comfortable chairs and table for sipping wine or just enjoying the peace and quiet. The front desk agent was very polite, helpful and gracious, taking time to inform us of everything the hotel offered and more, including the local area. Definitely worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Room #412.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    186
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
172
189
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel, especially for a Best Western. I'm not sure how old the property is but it seems new and the rooms were equipped at a quality that you would expect to find in most luxury brand hotels.

I am loyal to Starwood properties such as Sheraton, Westin and St. Regis, but when there aren't any of those properties available I go with the trusted Best Western brand and save my money to splurge on nicer properties when I feel like it. But this property didn't feel like a budget hotel at all. In fact, it was much nicer than most Four Points and many Sheratons.

The front desk staff was excellent and while I had no interest in using it, the water slide in the pool area looked like great fun. I also found the location really convenient. I was blown away once again by the very fast internet that Canadian hotels seem to have—it clocked at over 20 MBPS. I would not hesitate to stay here again if in the Canmore/Banff area again. The value for the money is outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and had a great stay. Mountain view from the 2nd floor facing the pool. Breakfast was very good. The breakfast room was a great, other Best Westerns I have stayed at had rooms that were too small but this one was a good size. The pool was fun with the slide and a good size hot tub. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lobby and hallway were nicely decorated with vintage pieces of skates, sleds etc. Room had fridge, microwave, fireplace and coffe maker. Beds were comfortable and good size. Wifi was free.

Room Tip: As I said I think that every room has a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Night 2of our stay in Canada & total contrast to the dreadful experience we'd had in Calgary the previous night. Clean, spacious & very comfortable in our huge room with two queen beds, fire, spotless bathroom & mountain view. Only problem was the hairdryer didnt work. The hotel has a pool but we were too tired! Breakfast was self serve & the management had almond milk for me as dairy intolerant & gluten free cereal for the wheat intolerance! Lots of choice -fruit, cereals, eggs, sausages, omelettes, many pastries & bread and a selection of standard & specialist teas as well as fruit juices & coffee. Perfect. Price was very reasonable through book.com &certainly worth the money. Enjoyed Canmore as it wasn't as commercialised as nearby Banff & certainly cheaper. Recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the past 6 nights and were thrilled with everything. The accommodation (room 324) as standard room faced out on Bow Valley Rd and a beautiful view of the mountains. It had two (I believe queen size) beds, large bathroom, a fireplace and microwave and frig. Breakfast was included and there was ample choice of both hot and cold. In the afternoon there were fresh warm cookies and iced tea serve in the lobby. There was a very nice pool and hot tub as well as a fitness room. There was some noise from the frequent trains which past by but it did not bother us. Two grocery stores quite close had a great selection of ready meals which could be warmed up in our room to saved on travel costs. Great TV with a good selection of channels. Internet worked well. There was a Tim Hortons, Wendy's and a good family style restaurant (Craig's Way) within walking distance next door. If I am ever in Canmore again I would stay again.

Our only con was that the guest laundry was being renovated and was not available when we visited but we were directed to another local laundremat which we used and it was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. We rebooked this stay months ago due to the wonderful first experience. This time, however a wedding and reception was being held at the hotel. Our room selection (110) and our travelling companion's selection (111) was terrible. Lobby noise was very pronounced in our room. And reception music from the meeting room below was unacceptable. A small discount was given to us and our companions after 3 complaints. To place guests that have booked months in advance directly above the reception and adjacent to the lobby is poor guest management. Had we been placed on an upper floor away from the noise this would have been a non issue. It seems to me that placing wedding guests in close proximity to the party and separating them from other guests would be best business practice. As a result, we were very unhappy with our stay. The front desk staff did their best to control reception guests, but nothing short of staying on a different floor would alleviate the noise from the dance music in the room below. Very disappointing and ruined an otherwise wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Easy to find, great staff, friendly and knowledgeable, our room was very clean, internet worked great, the pool was terrific and we had easy access from our room to the pool, loved our non-smoking room, tv was easy to use with the remote and everything was great. We had a chance to stay at a more expensive hotel, because of family connections, but chose this one and it excelled over the other hotel. We actually visited the other hotel to see what we would have missed and we were really glad to have chosen this hotel. It was the best hotel on our entire vacation. One would have to be stupid to pass up this hotel. We were happy with our choice and nobody paid us anything to say these comments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn

Address: 1725 Mountain Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Canmore
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the towering peaks of the Canadian Rockies, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is your ideal lodging choice while visiting Canmore Alberta. From the warm welcome in our lobby to our spacious guest rooms, you are sure to experience superior service while staying with us.Our hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with a multitude of amenities including stunning views of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, fireplaces, free high-speed wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TV’s. Guests can enjoy our daily complimentary hot continental breakfast and access to our business centre, fitness facility, games room and meeting rooms. In addition, our hotel features a whirlpool, steam room, sauna and indoor swimming pool with a large waterslide perfect for the whole family to enjoy.Just minutes away from Banff National Park the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is a great place to explore the Canadian Rockies, natural hot springs, lakes, glaciers, canyons, and ski resorts. When visiting Canmore Alberta, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn will make your stay feel just like home, but better. Our relaxing atmosphere, tastefully appointed rooms and friendly hospitality are the perfect complement to your visit to the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pocaterra Hotel Canmore
Best Western Canmore
Canmore Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.