We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYE family getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 Mountain Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NYE family getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My fmaily and I spent NYE in Canmore and stayed at the Pocaterra. Service was exceptional. All the staff very helpful and friendly. Even the non-English speaking cleaning staff wished us a Happy New Year the next morning. The staff made us feel very welcome. The rooms were very clean and quite modern. Beds were comfy. HD TV was a nice bonus. The pool area was very clean including the hot tub. I will defintiley stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators, as there is a lot of activity. Also, I would not want to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    178
    38
    11
    8
See reviews for
161
176
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked a suite with a jaccuzi for our 15 year wedding anniversary and the room was huge with a 2 way fireplace, sitting area, 2 washrooms - 1 ensuite with jaccuzi and a poster king bed, 2 TV's. Very spacious and well furnished. This room was lovely. The only problem we encountered was that the jaccuzi went off after 5 minutes for some reason. The view was fabulous. We've stayed here on our honeymoon and had a nice room then as well. The front desk staff were young and friendly. However, not very in tune with providing that 'extra' service, ie. I mentioned upon check-in that it was our anniversary and they did not send up anything to acknowledge this special occasion for us, not even a few chocolates or wine, even though we spent almost $300.00 on the room. Upon check-out the next morning, there was no mention of how we enjoyed our stay, we were simply thanked and handed the receipt. Rather disappointing that sometimes the attention to detail is lacking and this did not make our visit memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel as it is convenient to go to Kananaskis for snowshoeing and not too far from Lake Louise. We stayed in a second floor balcony room. Even though there is mountain view from the balcony, we didn't stay in the room enough to enjoy it. The room was very clean and spacious, especially the bathroom. The queen beds were a bit on the firm side. I thought my bed at home was firm, but these beds were firmer. It was okay for me but my young adult kids and spouse did not have a good sleep. The parking was tight. We went for dinner in the town center but couldn't find any parking in the property when we returned and was told to park in the restaurant parking lot next door. The breakfast was continental breakfast but it ran out quickly. Even though it ends at 11:00 am, we found that by the time we went down at about 10:15 am, pretty much everything were gone. Sausages were very good though.

Room Tip: If you don't spend a lot of time in the room, don't pay extra for the balcony. The view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have stayed at the Pocaterra Inn in Canmore several times over the last few years. It is always a Very Comfortable and Relaxing stay. The rooms are Clean and Quiet. The view of the mountains is Beautiful. The continental breakfast is more than at some hotels as it includes sausage, eggs, pancakes and waffles. Of course that varies a bit but Always Good and the breakfast room is Big and Clean and Relaxing. The staff is Very Helpful and Friendly. There is a pool which we did not use But others were enjoying it. It is a very pleasant walk to "downtown" Canmore. This is our Favourite place to stay in Canmore.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been Good. There are some rooms with balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was such a cosy, clean and comfortable stay over. We were feeling that we needed to get out of the city, (Calgary) so last minute we booked a night out here and we were really happy that we did. It has been quite cold lately and when we arrived in Canmore last Saturday afternoon, there was a lot of snow. Then we checked into our room, that is my husband, myself and our little dog, and started to relax, and it felt wonderful. We enjoyed all of the facilities, that is the steam room, sauna, fitness centre , the hot-tub and even the water slide. The pool lit up in different colours and it was just great. Our room was so clean and the fireplace was cosy and warm. All in all, this Best Western experience was well worth every penny. Next time though we will go for two nights. Actually we have already booked it for late in January.

Room Tip: I am quite sure the rooms are all good. A balcony is always nice but when you have a dog there are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel. We stayed in a second floor balcony room that had a great view of the mountains. The room was very clean and larger than I expected (especially the bathroom) with comfortable beds and a gas fireplace which made the room toasty warm after a day in the cold.
My kids really enjoyed the pool and waterslide. The staff were very helpful when I needed directions to our tour and asked for advice on where to go for dinner.

The only downside (and the reason they get a 4 rating) was the breakfast. Both mornings by the time we made it downstairs (between 9:30 and 10:00) there was very little left to choose from. On the second morning we went down three times (9:30, 9:45 and 10:10) thinking they would eventually replenish the hot items, muffins etc but they didn't.
I thought I misread the hotel directory so I went to the front desk and they confirmed the breakfast was until 11:00. Needless to say we had to go elsewhere and pay for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a second floor balcony room. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our stay was very quiet, the room was very cozy,nice and clean with a beautiful view of the mountain side. Hotel staff were also friendly and helpful.
The pool, hot tub and water slide were all very clean and the water warm with plenty of clean towels available. Nice to see for a change.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn

Address: 1725 Mountain Avenue, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Canmore
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the towering peaks of the Canadian Rockies, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is your ideal lodging choice while visiting Canmore Alberta. From the warm welcome in our lobby to our spacious guest rooms, you are sure to experience superior service while staying with us.Our hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with a multitude of amenities including stunning views of the surrounding Rocky Mountains, fireplaces, free high-speed wireless internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TV’s. Guests can enjoy our daily complimentary hot continental breakfast and access to our business centre, fitness facility, games room and meeting rooms. In addition, our hotel features a whirlpool, steam room, sauna and indoor swimming pool with a large waterslide perfect for the whole family to enjoy.Just minutes away from Banff National Park the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn is a great place to explore the Canadian Rockies, natural hot springs, lakes, glaciers, canyons, and ski resorts. When visiting Canmore Alberta, the Best Western Plus Pocaterra Inn will make your stay feel just like home, but better. Our relaxing atmosphere, tastefully appointed rooms and friendly hospitality are the perfect complement to your visit to the Canadian Rockies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pocaterra Hotel Canmore
Best Western Canmore
Canmore Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.