We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good - customer care left something be be desired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gaucho Brazilian Barbecue

Gaucho Brazilian Barbecue
629 8th (Main) Street, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
403.678.9886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 87 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Takeout
Stony Plain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food was good - customer care left something be be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

The food was good, however the customer care left something to be desired. Before we arrived at the restaurant we knew our 9 year old daughter didn't feel 100%, however we were celebrating a special event as well as on a holiday so we went anyway as she assured us that she was fine. As it turned out our daughter began to feel worse and was unable to eat. This was clear to everyone who came to our table as she both had almost nothing on her plate and ended up almost laying down across my husband and myself.

We declined the ice cream that came with her meal, and when both the server (and who I believe to be) the manager were clearing the table we indicated that our daughter hadn't participated in the meal. Our bill came as though our daughter had ate her fill. I understand that it is in the restaurant's rights to charge us the full amount, but it left us feeling disappointed at the apparent lack of customer care/satisfaction. As we love Canmore and visit a couple of times a year, Gaucho's would have gained happy first time customers who would have told all our friends and come again if they had just stepped it up a little.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    45
    10
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gastromy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great variety, nice way to get to taste several different foods. One needs to remember to slow down on gobbling the food down. Great for teenage kids with huge appetites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalby, Australia
1 review
“Best meal of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

4 bottomless stomached, growing Australian blokes had heard on this place on the ski field and decided to give it a try. The food was absolutely amazing, an array of succulent meats, all brought out at precision timing. The staff were second to none, the wine was just as beautiful and all for a ridiculously low price. Do yourself a favour and check this place out!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk,
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful and unusual dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had gone to Canada to see our daughter and new Granddaughter for Christmas and were looking to find a special place to dine. My daughter had heard good things about the Gaucho so we decided to 'give it a go'.
The welcoming staff were very friendly and ushered us to our table where we were told what to do. Basically you take your plate to the very well stocked salad bar and help yourself to salad, potato, rice or numerous other 'goodies'. You go back to your table and as long as you have your little cardboard bull facing upward on green you have a never ending supply of meat carved and served at your table. The meat varies from rump steak, sirloin steak, chicken wings and hearts, pork, lamb and rather strangely mozzarella cheese balls (I can only assume as a gesture to vegetarians). If you had a particular favourite you only had to ask and the waiter/carver would return. This is all done in a very leisurely way which makes for a very relaxing meal. I also liked the fact that you could have jugs of pretty acceptable wine at a reasonable price.
If you have room for the puddings, they were also declared delicious by the members of our party who indulged!
This is by no means a cheap place to go and my only gripe is the compulsory 18% gratuity they add on for parties of 6 or more (which we were). But apparently this is fairly standard practice in Canada so the locals are used to it, but never the less it is still a bit of a shock when presented with the bill. In normal circumstances that would have detracted from the meal but we enjoyed ourselves so much and the service was, to be fair excellent, so they were forgiven!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go here,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

No booking, we got a table in what is a very busy restaurant in Canmore. Before you start it will cost $39 per head, so it is a little on the expensive side. However you will leave feeling full. You need to like meat. They also have help yourself fresh, green salads. Meats were really good, rib beef was the tastiest, along with the provolone cheese.
Good service, clean, a little on the bright side at the bar. No music. But as it's full the atmosphere is there. Cost $130 for Dinner and 4 glasses of house wine. Nb if you have kids under 11 it's great $15 for dinner and ice cream, soda.
Will go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho Brazilian Barbecue also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Gaucho Brazilian Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaucho Brazilian Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.