We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Inn

Save Saved
You added Mountain View Inn to your Saves list
Mountain View Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain View Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 32 hotels in Canmore
1 review
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Super cheap place to stay! We were here over New Years.

The staff is super friendly and were very helpful!

The rooms were not as bad as the people before me said. I've stayed in much worse places for far more money!

There are no housekeepers, but we were told that when we checked in. People really need to pay attention and stop whining. They have a vaccuum and other cleaning supplies available if needed.

If you want all the in room comforts like a coffee maker and fridge. Or if you are looking for somebody to replace your towels and bed sheets every morning then pay more money and stay somewhere else.

This is now my go to place when coming to the mountains. It is soooo cheap!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    26
    12
    26
See reviews for
25
24
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a dump! Very ran down the whole place was burned with cigarets burns everywhere. I never seen housekeeping once and they never cleaned our room, had to ask for a garbage bag and the garbage can looked like it had not been cleaned since 1999. The toilet and bathroom smelled of urine, shower was so terrible had to take a bath. No fridge or coffee maker in room, beds as hard as Rock. They charged u 100 dollars per key :/ Cheap prices so I guess u get what u paid for best thing about this hotel is location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Ab, Playa del Carmen MX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was the WORST groupon experience I have every had, such a disappointment! The Hotel was TERRIBLE,

1.When I first called to book they told me I had to book by Dec first which was not listed anywhere on my groupon

2. When we arrived we had to pay 100.00 deposit for a key per room ( I now have a 200.00 hold on my card for 3 days)

3. The bathrooms were dirty!

4. No one came to clean or do anything in our room there were additional charges for cleaning making beds, vacuuming even taking out the garbage.When I asked about it apparently the lady who checked us in was suppose to have told us this. How about they tell you this BEFORE you book!

5.We couldn't get fresh towels unless we took our soiled towels to the front desk to exchange them
6. No coffee machines in room Lobby coffee machine was always empty and we were told they only make coffee at 7 am.

7. They state you get free wifi but if your lucky it only worked lobby area sometimes

8. Beds are hard as a rock!

I am sorry but this has made me very nervous of buying another groupon

This is what I also wrote to the groupon company today we just checked out this morning what a disapointment

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Well where to begin..A Total Disappointment. I just stayed their with my child this past Sat/Sun night on a Groupon Deal and we almost left after first night. We arrive to be told it's a $100 deposit per room key, overall hotel is in very poor condition. Room had no pictures on walls (maybe afraid someone would steal them? lol) stains on wall, chairs, carpet. Beds were hard as rock. If you wanted a fridge it was an extra $15 per night. No Coffee or anything in room that every other hotel I have stayed at had complimentary (low budget or highend). Lobby coffee machine was always empty and we were told they only make coffee at 7 am. Wifi if your lucky is only in lobby area. TV is a 20 inch 90's big boxstyle. No restaurant, gym, no amenities etc...
The Sat night other guests across hall were yelling slamming doors most of night, onsite security in building did nothing. Another guest had to ask them to be quiet finally.
If this wasn't a prepaid Groupon Voucher I would of left after first night. With the $21.60 in tax due upon arrival and the voucher cost it wasn't a deal at all for the accommodations you got.
I suggest anyone with a Groupon deal here that has used it and feels the same disgust I do, Call Groupon and complain. They will help and did redeem my confidence in using them again to purchase travel deals. Report this hotel so they do not keep offering this deal online to buy. This hotel needs to be shut down for complete renovations and needs new management to really put the guests needs first. This is my first Poor hotel experience finding deals online.
I have read many other complaints now for this hotel on here and wish I saw them before my trip!
Hope my review saves someone else this awful experience or buying this "not a deal" online!
Cheers

Room Tip: I was actually "upgraded" to the mountainview side when I booked the reservation. I laugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Mountain View Inn is a very simple place to stay, and I mean that literally. Looks to me like it was built in the 1980s or so and the building is still of that era. Very little modernization or updating to be seen. Things have a tired and somewhat worn look but that said, the place is clean. Don't expect many amenities. WiFi? Wired internet? Certainly not in your room. There is free wifi in the lobby but even this basic modern travel convenience is not available to from the comfort of your room. Rooms also were old looking, with bulky fuzzy CRT television (no flat screens here). No breakfast, no making up of your room every day. But a clean with a reasonably comfortable bed. If that's what you want, then this place is for you. There are far better accommodations available around there area so I'll not be back.

Room Tip: If you want a really good room stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was passing through Canmore again and looking for a good deal - the Mtn View Inn was pretty hard to pass up with rates so much lower than the others in town. I was a little wary even though I'd been here before but everything was fine. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the people at reception were helpful, the TV was new, and the wifi worked just fine in my room. In general, it was a great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had to cancel just hours past the "deadline" due to legitimate bereavement issues. They were cold, unsympathetic and just to add insult to or suffering dinged us $63.00 to NOT stay at their dump in the mountains!!!!! If they are like this for the big issues how good will they be if you have a small complaint about towels or noise or room cleanliness?

Profoundly disappointed,
Bruce Mohacsy

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 100 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Canmore
Mountain View Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.