We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Total Dump! Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Mountain View Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 33 hotels in Canmore
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Total Dump! Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Well where to begin..A Total Disappointment. I just stayed their with my child this past Sat/Sun night on a Groupon Deal and we almost left after first night. We arrive to be told it's a $100 deposit per room key, overall hotel is in very poor condition. Room had no pictures on walls (maybe afraid someone would steal them? lol) stains on wall, chairs, carpet. Beds were hard as rock. If you wanted a fridge it was an extra $15 per night. No Coffee or anything in room that every other hotel I have stayed at had complimentary (low budget or highend). Lobby coffee machine was always empty and we were told they only make coffee at 7 am. Wifi if your lucky is only in lobby area. TV is a 20 inch 90's big boxstyle. No restaurant, gym, no amenities etc...
The Sat night other guests across hall were yelling slamming doors most of night, onsite security in building did nothing. Another guest had to ask them to be quiet finally.
If this wasn't a prepaid Groupon Voucher I would of left after first night. With the $21.60 in tax due upon arrival and the voucher cost it wasn't a deal at all for the accommodations you got.
I suggest anyone with a Groupon deal here that has used it and feels the same disgust I do, Call Groupon and complain. They will help and did redeem my confidence in using them again to purchase travel deals. Report this hotel so they do not keep offering this deal online to buy. This hotel needs to be shut down for complete renovations and needs new management to really put the guests needs first. This is my first Poor hotel experience finding deals online.
I have read many other complaints now for this hotel on here and wish I saw them before my trip!
Hope my review saves someone else this awful experience or buying this "not a deal" online!
Cheers

Room Tip: I was actually "upgraded" to the mountainview side when I booked the reservation. I laugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    22
    11
    23
See reviews for
19
22
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Mountain View Inn is a very simple place to stay, and I mean that literally. Looks to me like it was built in the 1980s or so and the building is still of that era. Very little modernization or updating to be seen. Things have a tired and somewhat worn look but that said, the place is clean. Don't expect many amenities. WiFi? Wired internet? Certainly not in your room. There is free wifi in the lobby but even this basic modern travel convenience is not available to from the comfort of your room. Rooms also were old looking, with bulky fuzzy CRT television (no flat screens here). No breakfast, no making up of your room every day. But a clean with a reasonably comfortable bed. If that's what you want, then this place is for you. There are far better accommodations available around there area so I'll not be back.

Room Tip: If you want a really good room stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was passing through Canmore again and looking for a good deal - the Mtn View Inn was pretty hard to pass up with rates so much lower than the others in town. I was a little wary even though I'd been here before but everything was fine. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the people at reception were helpful, the TV was new, and the wifi worked just fine in my room. In general, it was a great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had to cancel just hours past the "deadline" due to legitimate bereavement issues. They were cold, unsympathetic and just to add insult to or suffering dinged us $63.00 to NOT stay at their dump in the mountains!!!!! If they are like this for the big issues how good will they be if you have a small complaint about towels or noise or room cleanliness?

Profoundly disappointed,
Bruce Mohacsy

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The rates are good, beats paying Banff hotel prices, but: Don't stay here if it's hot out! The A/C does not work. Fan clatters and there is no way to shut it off. It's an older hotel. Because i heard another room air conditioner sounding crazy like ours. We managed ok, but if it would have been any hotter, it would have been a lousy, sweaty stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everything is average. A bit run down with the most basic of neccesities. No hair dryer. The front office staff at the time of check-in was not the most friendliest of people but did at least offer some directions to the restaurant we chose. The bed was hard as a rock. As always, you get what you pay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Elaina K said it best .. we were originally booked in for a 2 night stay thru a Groupon deal and we checked out after the first night .. I would never recommend this place to anyone ! We were there in May and the air conditioner was bashed in then .. reading Elaina's review only shows that whoever owns this place does not care about their investment !!

I have never seen a motel not have a fridge or coffee maker in their rooms before .. who wants to go down to the lobby for a coffee in their pj's ? seriously !!! the furniture was all stained .. the night stand had cigarette burn marks on it .. the ice bucket was a plastic container that you would find at the Bulk Barn to fill up ... and to make it worse .. they charge you a "resort fee" on check out .. what a joke !!!

DO NOT stay here !! this place needs a serious overhaul !!!

Room Tip: do not book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Canmore
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Inn Canmore
Mountain View Inn Canmore, Alberta
Address: 100 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mountain View Inn to your Saves list