We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rates, But:” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Inn to your Saves list
Mountain View Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Ephrata, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good rates, But:”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The rates are good, beats paying Banff hotel prices, but: Don't stay here if it's hot out! The A/C does not work. Fan clatters and there is no way to shut it off. It's an older hotel. Because i heard another room air conditioner sounding crazy like ours. We managed ok, but if it would have been any hotter, it would have been a lousy, sweaty stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    38
    16
    31
See reviews for
39
32
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everything is average. A bit run down with the most basic of neccesities. No hair dryer. The front office staff at the time of check-in was not the most friendliest of people but did at least offer some directions to the restaurant we chose. The bed was hard as a rock. As always, you get what you pay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Elaina K said it best .. we were originally booked in for a 2 night stay thru a Groupon deal and we checked out after the first night .. I would never recommend this place to anyone ! We were there in May and the air conditioner was bashed in then .. reading Elaina's review only shows that whoever owns this place does not care about their investment !!

I have never seen a motel not have a fridge or coffee maker in their rooms before .. who wants to go down to the lobby for a coffee in their pj's ? seriously !!! the furniture was all stained .. the night stand had cigarette burn marks on it .. the ice bucket was a plastic container that you would find at the Bulk Barn to fill up ... and to make it worse .. they charge you a "resort fee" on check out .. what a joke !!!

DO NOT stay here !! this place needs a serious overhaul !!!

Room Tip: do not book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Within a short distance from the town center this hotel is a great value for money. We had a room facing away from the road, so had a good night sleep. For $60 a night we had a large private room with two double beds. We only stayed for one night, so did not use any facilities. If you are looking for a budget hotel in a Rockies, that is it. I would definitely stay there next time, over any expensive hotels in Banff of the center of Canmore.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from a trip to Alberta, We decided on the way home to stay at the Mountain View Inn since it seemed affordable for a quick overnight stay before heading home.
The location of the hotel is great, and the outside of the hotel looked okay at first glance, But once we parked and went to go in we realized there was a huge dent on the side of the building where a car must of drove in to ( not kidding ), The Air conditioner it hit had no back siding to it and they just left it looking that way. When we got in we were greeting buy a young gentleman, he was very friendly and knowledgeable . When we got into our room we were disgusted by it, the beds were hard as rock, There was a broken lamp , The tv was from the early 90's with squiggly lines on the channels that worked and half of them you couldn't see anything at all, When I had got on the bed I realized there was green glitter all over !. My boyfriend wanted to check something on the internet so he went down to get the password for the " highspeed " internet, only to be told that " well, you can try it in your room but the best place to get reception is down here " , To go on the internet , we would of had to go sit downstairs in the tiny lobby, and this isn't the worst of it, If we had wanted our room cleaned the next morning like what most hotels do complimentary , It would cost 50.00 for a room to be wiped down, or 20.00 for a super light clean, 0r 10.00 to get our bedding changed.
This hotel is disgusting, It had the potential to be a good hotel if they did a full makeover of the hotel and got new management (The new management it has clearly doesn't know how to run a hotel )....So my best advice is save up a extra 50$ and stay at another hotel in town, If you do plan on staying here anyways, Make sure you have a extra 100.00 for damage deposit ( yes this crappy hotel asks for a damage deposit ) .

Room Tip: Any room not in this hotel would be a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Beautiful views of the mountains out the window. Centrally located in Canmore, older but still in great condition. The air conditioner makes a lot of noise. Lacks conveniences like a pool and breakfast. Otherwise a nice room and quiet stay.

Room Tip: A nice Vietnamese restaurant around the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorette, MB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Room was dark, carpet was dirty, there was a plywood slab between mattress & boxspring.
The room smelled of lemon scented bug spray. I noticed the unoccupied rooms windows were open all night - is that a sign? The desk clerk was slow as molasses & we were informed there would be no one on the premises after 11 pm - there is a phone in lobby if we need assistance

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
0.7 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 33 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Canmore
Econo Lodge Canmore
#8 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
#12 of 33 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#17 of 33 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 100 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Canmore
Mountain View Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.