We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Cute and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windtower Lodge & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windtower Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Windtower Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, Cute and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We booked a one bedroom suite. We had 2 adults and 1 tween. Although it seemed very small when we first walked in, we were pleasantly surprised that there was more than enough room for all of our food and luggage. We stayed for 3 nights. It was very quiet and we heard nothing from the hallways. Yes the bed is 2 twins with a topper, it was still very comfortable and we had no issue with it. The bathroom entrance is off the bedroom, which wasn't a huge deal for us. We had an issue with our shower door, told the front desk on our way out for the day and it was fixed when we returned. We would stay here again and would recommend it to others. We did not eat in the restaurant but had friends who did and they said it was great. Large portions and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room! I am also pleased to hear that you received such great customer service. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    114
    63
    33
    25
See reviews for
39
157
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Used a groupon...great place for the price I paid. King bed (actually two twins pushed together) with foamies was a little too soft for me. But the one bedroom suite was a big size. Very clean. Hotel restaurant wasn't very good and the continental breakfast was pretty slim pickings.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We got the Groupon and went the Family Day weekend. I never really asked what type of room we were getting- so we were really pleasantly surprised that we had a suite- with full kitchen, dishwasher and washer dryer and fireplace!!! It was lovely I wish we could have stayed longer. We had a room with an adjoining room and heard no noise at all from the room beside us and I know there were people there. No complaints about the room except it was really hot! We turned the heat right off as soon as we got there and we had to sleep with the balcony door open for both nights. The bedroom window would mot open.The underground parking was good did not find it too small at all. Lots of space. Food was good in the restaurant but we found the drinks really expensive. No Happy Hour during the weekend just week days which is too bad. So we only had 1 drink there, or we would have spent more time watching the Olypics and having drinks. I will go again- just hope they have a different desk staff as they were not very helpful at all, and gave us a bad taste at the start of our stay, but the room made up for that.I wil be watching for this deal again on Groupon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Great Family hotel. Suites are Very clean with great layout for families. Staff is super friendly, efficient & welcoming. Breakfast being included adds to the value & ease of the hotel. This is a fantastic place to stay for ski weekends. I would definitely recommend it to other ski families.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to leave such great comments about our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Suite was basic but clean and well stocked. Room accommodated our dog and walking paths are abundant directly out of the hotel. Hot tub was clean and basic but has an awesome mountain view. Service was great. Restaurant was excellent- cheap wing night was on during our stay which is always yummy. Breaky included in the price was such a lovely bonus! Heated indoor parking was secure and had lots of stalls. Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
I am so glad to hear you had such a good experience at the Windtower Lodge & Suites. Customer satisfaction is our #1 goal and I am always pleased to hear when we succeed!
Looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have stayed here 3 weekends in the past 2 months. First stay was great. Second stay we had paid extra to bring our 4 kids... They put us in a room with 2 single beds...we had to waste an hour to get moved into a room that was smaller than our first stay when it was just the two of us. Our last stay we were in a room that was the size of our car, we had to ask to change again because ( I should say the only reason we kept returning was because we had bought 4weekends through living social) the clerk at the desk said living social had great rooms set aside and couldn't understand why we were put there. So he put us into a nice room right above the garage door for the parkade, no sleep for two nights. I mentioned this and staff said "yeah we've had that complaint before" nice service yet again. We have our final weekend coming up and we shall see what they screw up this time. Worst part is the kids that work there have no idea what service is... We asked for a new coffee maker and 6 hours later I got back to the room and had to call again for a coffee maker... I was told I didn't know how to work it...wow they are amazing....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany P, Guest Relations Manager at Windtower Lodge & Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Mike,

I apologize for your unpleasant experience at the Windtower Lodge & Suites. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly at admin@windtower.ca to discuss these issues further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Easy to find. Nicely furnished suite. King bed is really 2 x twin mattresses with a memory foam topper. Standard egg / bacon / hashbrown breakfast, but the service overall was very good. Recommended, particularly for a ski trip. Had a washer/dryer in the unit and a Keurig coffee maker.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windtower Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windtower Lodge & Suites

Address: 160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windtower Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Windtower Lodge & Suites Nestled in the Canadian Rockies, we are situated in Canmore, which is considered Canada's mountain playground. We offer a wide variety of adventure and leisure pursuits. The property boasts cedar, stone, and log construction. A picturesque view of the mountains can be experienced from the hotel rooms and suites. We are pleased to offer our guests the choice of staying in one of our room or suite accommodations. All accommodations are designed to provide exceptional value and optimal comfort, whether your stay is business or pleasure related. To make your stay with us that much better, we are happy to offer a variety of on-site amenities and services such as the Fitness Centre and Outdoor Whirlpool Hot Tub. It is our delight to introduce The Wandering Elk, a quaint cozy breakfast spot adjoining our main lobby. Dine with us each morning for a tasty assortment of hot and cold breakfast selections. The Wandering Elk is also open for lunch and dinner, and features a variety of fare to suit every palate! Enjoy our patio with a fabulous view of Three Sisters, Ha Ling Peak, and Rundle Range. Your Pet is Welcome Too!We wish to extend a warm welcome to you and your pet at the Windtower Lodge & Suites. As a "Pets Can Stay Certified" accommodation provider, we would like to outline our basic pet policies and services for your reference and to make your stay, and that of our other guests, comfortable and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Windtower Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windtower Lodge And Suites
Windtower Hotel Canmore
Windtower Lodge & Suites Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windtower Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.