We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy with how its advertised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windtower Lodge & Suites

Save Saved
You added Windtower Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windtower Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not happy with how its advertised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Booked a 1 bedroom suite through expedia. Expedia advertised it as a "mountain view" room however, the balcony was facing the courtyard where the swimming pool was with only a glimpse of the mountain summit. Wasnt pleased with that because I had been expecting a proper mountain-view room. However, the free breakfast was good. I wouldnt mind recommending this hotel to friends though. Just be careful of what you are charged at checkout since I got charged for the extra person rate twice - once by expedia and once by the hotel at checkout.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    93
    48
    28
    23
See reviews for
34
116
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I just spent a very nice weekend at this hotel. We had an online deal which turned out to be great value. Our little suite was ideal for a couple. It had a full kitchen, which we like for making our own breakfast. But we chose the full hot buffet breakfast provided on our first morning and kept going back daily. The suite also had a washer and dryer which is terrific when you travel.

Personally didn't like he pillows, but you may. They were too thick for our preference. Other than that, we were extremely comfortable there. We would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Get the suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A 10 minute walk to the centre of town and away from the main roads this is well located hotel offers well equipped suites. Ours included a bedroom with large king bed, lounge, clothes washer and dryer and well equipped kitchen but it was oh so hot and stuffy, even with windows open and overnight outside temperatures down to zero. Unfortunately the heating was sub-floor and so even turning the thermostat to its lowest setting, the ambient heat of the room (and hotel in general) meant that it really didn't cool much at all. If you like a warm room when sleeping then ignore this but for us who are used to sleeping in an unheated bedroom, it made sleep very uncomfortable. Even the restaurant was hot!
Notwithstanding all of the above, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the service in the restaurant excellent and the rates quite reasonable. The Windtower is not technically a hotel but as well as having a number of privately owned suites, offers all of the facilities of a traditional hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have great mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A pretty good hotel, but I'd be cautious of staying here in winter. The shower took ages (like 15 minutes) to get decently hot, and the in-room heating resulted in two bathroom tiles being warm.

The walls are quite thin so I could hear people in the next room talking pretty clearly. The bed was fine, it had a mattress topper of some kind on it so it was reasonably soft. The hot tub was out on the lawn between buildings, didn't look very inviting.

We ate at the restaurant and it was OK, the wings were very good but my chicken curry arrived without any chicken (though it was a nice vegie curry I guess). When I pointed out the lack of chicken they removed some of the cost from the bill. The free breakfast was actually pretty good, the pancakes and bacon being the highlights.

I wouldn't stay here expecting a resort experience, but for a night on the way to somewhere else it's just fine.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Beautiful decor:
The entire hotel has a feel of elegance and style meeting with nature. The room was cozy but stylish. Aaand our suite had a Keurig, not the usual, bitter instant coffee packets.

Breakfast:
One of the best parts of the stay was the hot breakfast buffet. There was the usual assortment of continental items. But they also had serving trays of eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browned potatoes, and crepes with a selection of toppings.

Staff was warm and helpful:
Having never been there before, we booked just a standard room. When we arrived, the front desk agent noticed our two year old and offered a complimentary upgrade to a suite, saying that it would be squishy in a standard room with a playpen. She was incredibly helpful and friendly!

Room Tip: If you are staying longer than a night, be sure to book a suite! The suites have full kitchens, inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on thanksgiving weekend. Our room was large, bright, and comfortable. We bought a coupon for our stay and it was well worth it. The service was just fine, although we didn't ever have to ask for anything other than a few extra towels. We stayed in room 226. It was a corner room and had plenty of natural light. I have stayed at a number of other places in the area and this one was by far the best value.
The breakfast was amazing, although Monday morning they were a little slow to keep things stocked. It was however a holiday and only one girl was running the whole area.
We will be purchasing more coupons and staying here again before the deal expires!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September. Had no hot water from the taps the whole of the stay. Complained twice and was told it was because our room was "far away", I think by that comment the young man meant we were at the end of the line, however we were there 2 days and it never reached us! Things missing in the room, insufficient drapes so people could look into our room from the street which was annoying as we were on street level, one bedside light and mirror in lounge area was so dirty we could write in the dirt. The service at breakfast was poor,no crokery or glass ware on the last day - had to drink out of paper cups which for a three star establishment I consider very poor. Will we be back - definitely no!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windtower Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windtower Lodge & Suites

Address: 160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windtower Lodge & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Windtower Lodge & Suites Nestled in the Canadian Rockies, we are situated in Canmore, which is considered Canada’s mountain playground. We offer a wide variety of adventure and leisure pursuits. The property boasts cedar, stone, and log construction. A picturesque view of the mountains can be experienced from the hotel rooms and suites. We are pleased to offer our guests the choice of staying in one of our room or suite accommodations. All accommodations are designed to provide exceptional value and optimal comfort, whether your stay is business or pleasure related. To make your stay with us that much better, we are happy to offer a variety of on-site amenities and services such as the Fitness Centre and Outdoor Whirlpool Hot Tub. It is our delight to introduce the Rundlestone Bar & Grill, a quaint cozy breakfast spot adjoining our main lobby. Dine with us each morning for a tasty assortment of hot and cold breakfast selections. The Rundlestone Bar & Grill is also open for lunch and dinner, and features a variety of fare to suit every palate! Enjoy our patio with a fabulous view of Three Sisters, Ha Ling Peak, and Rundle Range. The Rundlestone Bar & Grill is also open for select UFC PPV events; so come down and check us out! Your Pet is Welcome Too!We wish to extend a warm welcome to you and your pet at the Windtower Lodge & Suites. As a “Pets Can Stay Certified” accommodation provider, we would like to outline our basic pet policies and services for your reference and to make your stay, and that of our other guests, comfortable and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Windtower Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windtower Lodge And Suites
Windtower Hotel Canmore
Windtower Lodge & Suites Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windtower Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.