We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tub plugged, furnace broken, nails sticking out of carpet floor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windtower Lodge & Suites

Save Saved
You added Windtower Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windtower Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    93
    48
    28
    23
See reviews for
34
116
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I've stayed here several times, and the management and service this time around was much improved.

Best feature is the two bedroom apartments, which are good for family groups. A bedroom and bathroom open off each side of a central living room / kitchen. The bedrooms don't have much space beyond the beds, but the living rooms are comfortable. Internal laundry with washer and dryer.

The living room has a gas fire, dining table, lounge, cable TV. Dishwasher, oven, large fridge in kitchen. There is a large heated parking garage, small gym room, two shared outside hot tubs.

My principal disappointment was with the wireless Internet - it was always cutting out or jamming - probably with kids downloading movie-length videos. They need to install some industrial grade routers with proper load management software.

Room Tip: Choose a room furthest from reception - you are less likely to have traffic in your hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here overnight, just to get out ot Calgary.

Overall very clean. Quiet. Good stay for around $80, taxes and fees included. Booked through Expedia with this deal.

The only thing we didn't like was the hot tub was in the middle of all the rooms. Everyone could sit there and watch you, even at the resturant. Not much privacy. Also there was no fridge in our room. That would have been a nice little extra. Maybe they are in other rooms.

Room Tip: Best to have a car, for easy access to resturants and other attractions. You can walk to a couple f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Save your money and book elsewhere (better value to be found else where in Canmore)... A standard room is SUPER small (I mean SUPER small!!)! The building isn't very well constructed (wood construction with no sound proofing) so has the potential to be VERY noisy (glad it wasn't busy while we stayed there)... Bed was of poor quality - every time my spouse or I shifted the entire bed moved. A meal/food voucher was included ($12 x 2) which we used for breakfast, but you have to make your own coffee (Tassimo - not very convenient for a restaurant and not environmentally friendly) and we found out that it doesn't cover drinks so we had to scramble to find enough change for an orange juice (so the one and only server unfortunately got a small tip - wasn't our intention). Food was decent, but nothing special...To top it all off, they charge for parking (but you can park for free on the street)! When did hotels start charging to park on site?! Extremely chintzy IMHO - especially when it's not terribly busy! Two positives, it was very clean and pet friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here with my family at Christmas on a ski trip as it would accomodate 5 people. It is located in Canmore by the traffic circle along with all the other condo buildings. It would probably be a 20 min walk to downtown, so a car would make it easier.
We had the 2 bedroom option which is basically two sepatare hotel rooms with a door between connecting them. The the standard hotel room and then the kitchen and bedroom side. If you are only booking one or the other, there might be a bit of noise through the walls..but I am not sure.
We had a kitchen, fireplace, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a pull out couch. It was a great space for our family and a nice option to cook meals if we wanted.
There is a hot tub outside for guests to use as well.
We had a complimentary hot breakfast which was really good. Much better than your average hotel continental breakfast.
It would be a great place to spend a few days/a week at and we would return back here again. It is a great option for a group of people and cheaper than booking multiple rooms in a hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a 2 bedroom joining room kind of thing. They only had twin beds in each room but they did push the twins in one room together for us and put a mattress topper on it so that wasn't so bad but the other room had just the two twins which wasn't great for a couple. Would probably be better for a family. We liked the resort however they had a bit of an issue with their hot tub. Chlorine level was astronomically high to the point it ate some of the top layer of my skin and even though it didn't fade my bathing suit I did wash it out several times after getting out then when I washed it at home with the other darks - bleach! That was unexpected and not cool. Don't recommend their breakfast buffet much that certainly needs improvement.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the Windtower only for one night September 15. (our second stay at this property). It was a beautiful weekend with the autumn colours but we were only at the hotel for the night. With that in mind we choose the room with one queen bed. It is very cramped by Canadian standards. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the location of the hotel is very quite as commared to many other properties in Canmore. The check in staff was very accomodating and the price (all be it off season) was very reasonable. The full hot breakfast was excellent. The only caution I would offer is that with most properties in Canmore there was no air conditioning in the rooms. If it is a hot summer day in Canmore it can be really uncomfortable in the rooms. I don't think there is a pool only hot tubs.

Room Tip: If you are there for a few nights you will probably want to have a suite for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windtower Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windtower Lodge & Suites

Address: 160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windtower Lodge & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Windtower Lodge & Suites Nestled in the Canadian Rockies, we are situated in Canmore, which is considered Canada’s mountain playground. We offer a wide variety of adventure and leisure pursuits. The property boasts cedar, stone, and log construction. A picturesque view of the mountains can be experienced from the hotel rooms and suites. We are pleased to offer our guests the choice of staying in one of our room or suite accommodations. All accommodations are designed to provide exceptional value and optimal comfort, whether your stay is business or pleasure related. To make your stay with us that much better, we are happy to offer a variety of on-site amenities and services such as the Fitness Centre and Outdoor Whirlpool Hot Tub. It is our delight to introduce the Rundlestone Bar & Grill, a quaint cozy breakfast spot adjoining our main lobby. Dine with us each morning for a tasty assortment of hot and cold breakfast selections. The Rundlestone Bar & Grill is also open for lunch and dinner, and features a variety of fare to suit every palate! Enjoy our patio with a fabulous view of Three Sisters, Ha Ling Peak, and Rundle Range. The Rundlestone Bar & Grill is also open for select UFC PPV events; so come down and check us out! Your Pet is Welcome Too!We wish to extend a warm welcome to you and your pet at the Windtower Lodge & Suites. As a “Pets Can Stay Certified” accommodation provider, we would like to outline our basic pet policies and services for your reference and to make your stay, and that of our other guests, comfortable and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Windtower Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windtower Lodge And Suites
Windtower Hotel Canmore
Windtower Lodge & Suites Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windtower Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.