We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what you are getting...look elsewhere!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Windtower Lodge & Suites

Save Saved
You added Windtower Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windtower Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what you are getting...look elsewhere!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just stayed in the past weekend (Aug 4-6); we had a queen room, this room is too small (if you like being in a box) with no air conditioning in any rooms (they have it hallway only...LOL), bed is foam so it made it even warmer. The room temperature is 30 degrees C with a ceiling fan going 24 hrs. and small window opened 24 hrs as well! We paid $150 per night, still have to pay parking $10/night (they owned parking underground) plus WIFI is $10 & there is a eco program charge at the end of your stay! Breakfast was included (eggs, sausage, bacon) same everyday, no fruits! The staff were unexperienced, not friendly at all! Cleaning staff came by at 5:00pm, when we were resting. No signs to put outside (eg. do not disturb or clean our room). Security lock does not work. WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN OR RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    92
    47
    27
    23
See reviews for
34
113
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I really want to express my appreciation to the staff at Windtower. This is our third visit, and we were treated like returning family. At check-in they recognized our previous stays and offered us an upgrade to a 2-bedroom suite (we had booked a 1 bedroom suite). Very kind and attentive, we most certainly have recommended this property to our friends and have heard similar feedback.

Room Tip: Book a suite, they are much larger than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I absolutely loved this lodge. I stayed here twice with my daughter and her husband and found it to be absolutely lovely! The views were beautiful the Three Sister Mountains were right outside our windows ---gorgeous! The grounds were well groomed and little wild bunnies ran loose all over the place.
The service was very good, food was great, and the Lodge was spotless.
It was pretty central to everything lots of nice areas to walk and in-ground parking.
The beds and rooms were very comfortable and spotless with a nice added touch, a fireplace.
I am not a winter person by no means but i must say that I cannot think of anything more cozy than sitting by a log fire with the snow falling outside and looking at the peaks of the "Three Sister Mountains" in the Canadian Rockies!! Would definitely stay here again when I go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Friendly staff greeted us when we checked in.This was our first stay here.Our room was clean although small.There was an extra charge for underground parking and for internet. Continental breakfast was included with our stay.A gratuity for the breakfast was automatically added to our bill at checkout.Next time we would try a suite so we have more room.

Room Tip: If you have the budget,get a suite.A standard room is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I have spent the past weekend with my friend at the Windtower in Canmore, AB. The price was right and we had a nice clean suite. Service was very friendly and accommodating. from the very start on Friday. I would recommend Windtower to all my friends - right price, excellent service and very friendly staff. Well done.
Elena

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

First of all, expensive,stayed here last minute, every where else that was pet friendly was booked. Room was ok, nothing special. No a/c, very hot in room, hallway freezing. Very noisy, could hear every step taken above, and what time the neighbors alarm clock went off. There is a additional charge to park in their parking lot and Internet. For $250 a night, this should be included. Also if there is more then 2 people in your group, they will pay if you go to the hotel breakfast. The hot tub is pathetically small. Won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This hotel charges $140 per night for the basic room and for that we get a very very small dingy room that looks very tired. No airconditioning in the rooms although there is in the hall. We were told to keep the door of our room open to the hall to let some air in. Extra charges for the internet ($10) and the parking ($10). Please, it is Canmore and there is lots of parking around - other hotels do not charge for this "privilege"!

The place has potential but it really needs to get a reality grip!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windtower Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windtower Lodge & Suites

Address: 160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windtower Lodge & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Windtower Lodge & Suites Nestled in the Canadian Rockies, we are situated in Canmore, which is considered Canada’s mountain playground. We offer a wide variety of adventure and leisure pursuits. The property boasts cedar, stone, and log construction. A picturesque view of the mountains can be experienced from the hotel rooms and suites. We are pleased to offer our guests the choice of staying in one of our room or suite accommodations. All accommodations are designed to provide exceptional value and optimal comfort, whether your stay is business or pleasure related. To make your stay with us that much better, we are happy to offer a variety of on-site amenities and services such as the Fitness Centre and Outdoor Whirlpool Hot Tub. It is our delight to introduce the Rundlestone Bar & Grill, a quaint cozy breakfast spot adjoining our main lobby. Dine with us each morning for a tasty assortment of hot and cold breakfast selections. The Rundlestone Bar & Grill is also open for lunch and dinner, and features a variety of fare to suit every palate! Enjoy our patio with a fabulous view of Three Sisters, Ha Ling Peak, and Rundle Range. The Rundlestone Bar & Grill is also open for select UFC PPV events; so come down and check us out! Your Pet is Welcome Too!We wish to extend a warm welcome to you and your pet at the Windtower Lodge & Suites. As a “Pets Can Stay Certified” accommodation provider, we would like to outline our basic pet policies and services for your reference and to make your stay, and that of our other guests, comfortable and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Windtower Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windtower Lodge And Suites
Windtower Hotel Canmore
Windtower Lodge & Suites Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windtower Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.