We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Windtower Lodge & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windtower Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Windtower Lodge & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This hotel charges $140 per night for the basic room and for that we get a very very small dingy room that looks very tired. No airconditioning in the rooms although there is in the hall. We were told to keep the door of our room open to the hall to let some air in. Extra charges for the internet ($10) and the parking ($10). Please, it is Canmore and there is lots of parking around - other hotels do not charge for this "privilege"!

The place has potential but it really needs to get a reality grip!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    126
    72
    35
    29
See reviews for
45
175
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Awesome suite!!! Great to return to the hotel after a day's touring, nice to relax in the hot pool. Friendly and helpful staff at all levels. Stayed there last year and good to see the bigger televisions with dvd players in our suite. Breakfast was delicious. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Pros:
This is a nice hotel with great potential.
Nicely located (5 min walking distance from center of Canmore).
Suites are nice with well equipped kitchen.
Quiet.
Comfortable beds
Free internet
Free parking in the street; otherwise, you pay;

Cons:
Too expensive; many similar hotels in the area are less expensive;
Cleanliness is irregular; very young inexperimented staff;
Service is questionable-understaffed;
Breakfast is included but below expected standards;
Not a real restaurant;

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We have stayed at other places in the Bow Valley, AB and found many of them that claim to be "2 bedroom suites" are ridiculously small; however this place was perfect for our family of 5. We had a king bed in 1 room, 2 twins on the adjoining and a pull out couch in the living room next to the fireplace. The space was probably about 1600-1800 square feet, so a great size for the price we paid. We will definitely be back on our next ski trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

The room was so dusty that my company sneezed most of the night. And although it is impossible to be conclusive, I became ill with flu-like symptoms later the next day as well, and I virtually never get sick.

The towels were in such an odd state that both of us spent an inordinate amount of time trying to pull the fibres from our face and body; for example, my face sported a white Santa Clause-like beard, and we never really felt like the webbing was removed.

In fact ‘all suites’ do not feature a fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, fireplace, sofa-bed, washer/dryer, and balcony the amenities as quoted on their website, which really is pushing the envelope towards false advertising.

I found that many areas were unclean. For example, both in the room and in the breakfast area (generally the only areas of the facility we visited), the dishes and utensils were not properly washed. I found this particularly unfavourable as we looked through many cups, glasses, plates, and silverware before we found items that were sufficiently free from debris.

The suite was extremely small, with most of the space wasted.

Then there’s the parking charge, which has been noted on other reviews

Finally, after more careful review of my bill from the stay, I see a 15% charge for a restaurant gratuity. I have not seen this charge before, and I am not fond of seeing it here. I appreciate the effort of the Windtower staff during this busy time of the day, but I resent any type of charge for something that is marketed as ‘included’. In such a market as the resort business, is it really that advantageous to nickel and dime the guests? I suggest that this fee is either disclosed to the guest in advance, or that the fee is not charged at all.

In conclusion, I understand that the Windtower may not be a full-fledged lodge/hotel, and is an arrangement for absentee investors and condo owners to obtain cash flow/recovery from a capital investment in the mountains, but I would expect better from a property that is billing itself as a seat of luxury in the beautiful mountain town of Canmore.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Bathroom was quite small and dated. There was a washer and dryer but used clothing was left in both. No air conditioning was not an concern, but it was a cold night. There was no fan in our room. There was no restaurant and the free breakfast was poor. Street parking.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

we booked the hotel off of their website - when we got there they told us there was an additional charge for parking - this is not on their website, and we are in a small town parking is included in every hotel I have ever stayed at in Canmore. Street parking is available but not convienent and a lot of cars out there. Then when we were checking out another charge was added for their "going green initiative" - again not on their website nor were we told about it when we checked in. Small charges but annoying - put it on your website or include in price so I can decide if I want to stay there before I get there. For the price the room was very small - I think it is attached to a suite and gets closed off and rented separately. Just wasn't worth it - there are better hotels in Canmore.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Windtower Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windtower Lodge & Suites

Address: 160 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3E2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windtower Lodge & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Windtower Lodge & Suites Nestled in the Canadian Rockies, we are situated in Canmore, which is considered Canada's mountain playground. We offer a wide variety of adventure and leisure pursuits. The property boasts cedar, stone, and log construction. A picturesque view of the mountains can be experienced from the hotel rooms and suites. We are pleased to offer our guests the choice of staying in one of our room or suite accommodations. All accommodations are designed to provide exceptional value and optimal comfort, whether your stay is business or pleasure related. To make your stay with us that much better, we are happy to offer a variety of on-site amenities and services such as the Fitness Centre and Outdoor Whirlpool Hot Tub. It is our delight to introduce The Wandering Elk, a quaint cozy breakfast spot adjoining our main lobby. Dine with us each morning for a tasty assortment of hot and cold breakfast selections. The Wandering Elk is also open for lunch and dinner, and features a variety of fare to suit every palate! Enjoy our patio with a fabulous view of Three Sisters, Ha Ling Peak, and Rundle Range. Your Pet is Welcome Too!We wish to extend a warm welcome to you and your pet at the Windtower Lodge & Suites. As a "Pets Can Stay Certified" accommodation provider, we would like to outline our basic pet policies and services for your reference and to make your stay, and that of our other guests, comfortable and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Windtower Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windtower Lodge And Suites
Windtower Hotel Canmore
Windtower Lodge & Suites Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windtower Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.