We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canadian Rockies Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canadian Rockies Chalets to your Saves list
Canadian Rockies Chalets
2.0 of 5 Cottage   |   1206 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had 7 people stay in a 3 bedroom cougar chalet. The chalet was big enough for us all and the beds were comfy. The place was clean but the carpet needed replacing and the bench top in the kitchen needed replacing. The bathrooms were nice. The rooms were a little stuffy so we had the windows open which meant the train and road noise was a little louder, but the road isn't too busy at night. The check in staff were nice, had to pay $100 deposit / guarantee for the key. Location is excellent. Would I stay again? I think I would if I was after another cheap night for lots of people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    50
    30
    19
    11
See reviews for
60
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights while visiting the Banff area. We spent the first two nights in a Cougar Chalet. It was nice and clean and fine for a family. The third night we had to move to a Bear Den. It was also fine but it was extremely noisy with the kids above us running around non-stop. We felt the Cougar Chalet was a little nicer with the window coverings since it is light out until very late. The train was also not a problem. I thought it would be louder than it was but it did not wake me up during the night. This isn't a 5 star resort but it is definitely a good price for a family and decent accommodations. The biggest complaint we had was that the sofabed was not comfortable at all so beware if you plan to use it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I was skeptical about staying here because I read a lot of negative reviews about the cleanliness of the rooms and the sound of the train. But because of the price and how close it is to the National Parks, I decided to try it out. We rented the Cougar Chalet (we have 6 people, all adults).

Price: For 4 days, 3 nights we paid around $400...that's it. Extremely cheap compared to all the other million hotels we looked at in Banff and Jasper.

First the room: It was like a house. All 6 of us could sleep and walk around comfortably...there is a nice kitchen, 3 bathrooms (2 of which have showers), a fridge, utensils...basically everything that a normal house would have. The beds themselves were comfortable as well.

The train: There is a train that runs through the area, but it honestly isn't that bad at all. Just don't open your window fully and you will be alright...I actually did keep the window open for my entire 4 days stay and the train only woke me up once.

Cleanliness and staff: I was extremely surprised at all the people saying the rooms are not clean....our entire place was clean and tidy. The staff was amazing...I called them about 4 different times with questions and they never got annoyed. Very nice!

Overall, the chalets are amazing. There is a grocery store nearby (Safeway is where we shopped) and the National Parks are close as well (we were able to go to Kooteney,Banff, and Jasper!)

The next time me and my family go to hike Banff, there is no question about where we are staying...DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Couger chalets are big enough for 6 full-grown adults...there is also a couch in the living room whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Firstly, this place is excellent value for money. We stayed in a clean, nice, 3 bedroom unit for roughly $100.00 per night. As standards go, this is a pretty good place.

This being said, we have read some reviews about other units being less well-maintained and I can understand why these people were upset with their stay. However, ours was clean and well maintained.

Secondly, the Chalet is in an excellent location. It is in the middle of town. There is a pedestrian crossing behind the Chalet that allows people to cross the CPR tracks easily to the main street in town

Thirdly, there is a hot tub, pool table and foosball table on site. In addition to a BBQ.

Fourthly, the staff is helpful and friendly.

The downsides are the following:

Firstly, it is very close to the railway tracks. But so what. The windows are new and shut out most of the noise and what isn't close to the CPR tracks in Canmore?!

Also, I generally bring ear-plugs whenever I am not sleeping at home because there can be a host of noises that a hotel/motel guest experiences in the course of their stay.

Secondly, the hot tub and other amenities closes at 9:30 pm. This is a little bit early, but perhaps there is a reason for this (e.g. partiers who make too much noise)

I would suggest that the hot tub remain open, on a case-by-case basis for more mature individuals.

Thirdly, the wi-fi was not always reliable. I am not sure where the main router is housed, but perhaps the Chalet could improve the wi-fi service -- it needs to be improved for total satisfaction.

Generally speaking, I would recommend this establishment for the above reasons. We were thoroughly impressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Four adults shared a two bedrooms apartment. The location was great, plenty of places to eat within walking location. We had a night at Oh Canada Eh, dinner show which was really good. The rooms could do with a revamp but it was still a pleasant place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Attracted to this place by an online coupon promo, sure was not disappointed. 2 floors, all 3 bedrooms on 2nd floor. Very spacious ideal for a family of 4 but not much more unless you are all single and drunk!

Room Tip: ask for the odd numbered rooms, away from rail track
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this propert for two nights during a girls weekend in Canmore. We were very pleased with our room. We stayed in the Railroad Retreat which had 3 bedrooms, 1 1/2 baths, kitchen, eating area and living room with fireplace.
It was great! Does it need updating? yes but for the same price as one night at a hotel for a regular room we got two night in a 3 bedroom suite. It did not feel like staying in a hotel at all, it was like staying in someones home. I found it to be clean with a few exceptions such as the chair in the living room. Everything could use a really good deep clean. The beds were very comfortable and we were not bothered bu the trains at all.We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go and the Front desk staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the trains if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canadian Rockies Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Rockies Chalets

Address: 1206 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadian Rockies Chalets 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Canadian Rockies Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadian Rockies Chalets Canmore, Alberta
Canadian Rockies Chalets Hotel Canmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadian Rockies Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.