We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ammonite Factory

Ammonite Factory
106 Bow Meadows Crescent, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W9, Canada
+1 403-678-1786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 38 Activities in Canmore
Type: Factory Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Showroom/retail store/museum/factory. We offer interpretive tours of our factory and we also offer a wide variety of ammolite jewelry and gem grade ammonite fossils or fossil pieces for sale.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was expecting a tour of a factory. It is a showroom where they do the cutting, polishing and design on one side. The tour encompasses 2 walls of the showroom and takes 30 to 45 minutes. However, they are the smallest company that is able to mine ammonite and they have very contemporary designs. You can purchase jewelry or stones from AA to B quality.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    6
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We enjoyed seeing these. Located away from the main shopping areas. Staff there was very nice and helpful. Although we didn't get one from them, we would recommend viewing their selection prior to purchasing one. Prices about the same as everywhere else.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't take your kids!!! Totally rude women working there!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

First thing we walked in no one greeted us just yelled out and said All CHILDREN MUST BE supervised!!! We left. Do not reccomend

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful jewelry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice staff and beautiful pieces of ammonite to choose from. Good price ranges also.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ammonites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

They have lots of ammonites both for sale and for viewing. The tour that they offer does cost money and we did not take the tour. We saw ammonites in many stores throughout the rockies, but these were the prettiest and best selection. Prices were all about the same.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ammonite Factory also viewed

 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Ammonite Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ammonite Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.