We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aroma Mexican Restaurant

Aroma Mexican Restaurant
837 Main Street, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
14036759913
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 87 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: The Wood
Description: "One of the Top Ten restaurants outside Calgary" - John Gilchrist. We are proud to introduce the Authentic Mexican cuisine in Canmore since 2009. Our top quality Mexican fine cuisine is what make us unique. All our menu item selections are artisanal handmade with natural ingredients from scratch. Our dishes are gluten free and veggie friendly. If you are looking for a marvelous dining experience, let your palate discover the ethnic flavours of our land, in an intimate and cozy setting enjoy truly healthy and exquisite meals, organic Mexican cafe and original signature drinks in an real Mexican ambiance. Please, keep your passport ready for this magical gourmet adventure at Welcome to Mexico in the Canadian Rockies!!!
Banff, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Service not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were seated quickly but the waitress was not friendly at all and eventually her mom took over our table. The food took a long time to arrive and was very greasy. I usually love Mexican food but won't go back to this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    49
    24
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“O.K. meal - impersonal service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The restaurant was nicely decorated and they played Mexican music which started to make it look like a winner. It was all downhill from there.

The service was impersonal giving you the feeling that you were on an assembly line ... "get in, get out we've got more folks on the way...." This despite the fact that there was only one other table when we got there.

it's too bad because there is lots of opportunity to talk to the client and make them feel special.

The food was fine and the serving was generous. If you like spicy this is not for you.

For the price, there are other, better choices for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmarth, North Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Good food. Great coffee. Nice atmosphere. Nice waiter.
Not cheap Mexican food or coffee......
Easy to get to.
Convenient to hotels, bank, etc.
Nice wine shop across the street.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not just a great Aroma!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is the real deal - authentic Mexican food. It is not your Americanized version of Mexican food. Delicious! The tostada plate is quite an experience for your palate! Wonderful flavors made with real ingredients. Service was excellent. We ate outside on a beautiful Canmore day! For something really different, try the Mango dessert.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband & I split a salad & main dish. Food was tasty and presentation appealing. Sharing provided us plenty of food and helped to make the meal more affordable. Service was slow, yet when we are on vacation, we tend to enjoy the slower pace. Try Aroma Cafe for delicious Mexican dishes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Aroma Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroma Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.