We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike and views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grassi Lakes

Grassi Lakes
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 attractions in Canmore
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great hike and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We did the more difficult hike and it was moderate difficulty. At times i was out of breath but it was very good exercise. Magnificent views. You pass 2 waterfalls and 2 lakes. The views along the way are top notch.
We all enjoyed the hike very much. When you reach the lake, it is a beautiful blue/green color. So much to see. It is worth the effort.
There is another hike option if you prefer an easier hike as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    69
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice short walk,very close to Canmore,easy to find,beautiful colour on the small "lakes" (ponds really) on the higher ground,good place to find your feet before venturing further afield

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Go early in the morning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Early morning mist rising off the mountains combined with the serenity of a solitary walk: makes the rest of the world melt away.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent walko Grassi Lakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were advised to take the "more difficult" route and it's well worth it. The route takes you close to a pretty decent waterfall and the overall views are great. The lakes are intense blues and greens. You may also find rock climbers on the rock face overlooking the upper lake - they may be slightly unhinged but it is enthralling just to sit by the lake and watch them in action.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what a beautiful hike. Only 1.6 km on the easy route (1.4 km on the more difficult route). Two amazing blue/green clear lakes await you at the end! We have a family of four (2, 6, 9, 11 years old) and we took the easy route on the way there with a sturdy stroller for our 2 yr old - worked good. Definitely could not take the stroller back on the difficult trail but myself and my 6 yr old boy managed the difficult route on the way back and it's well worth it as the views are spectacular.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grassi Lakes also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Grassi Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grassi Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grassi Lakes to your Saves list