We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular hike that is both easy and rewarding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grassi Lakes

Grassi Lakes
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Attractions in Canmore
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Spectacular hike that is both easy and rewarding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently completed this hike as a group of 4 in April 2013 and had a wonderful time. The surroundings are gorgeous and there are a ton of great photo opportunities, especially when you reach the top of the trail. We saw no wildlife along the way, but still wouldn't hike here without bear spray. The trail does have some steep portions, and it was very iced-over when we visited which made these portions slippery and a little treacherous... but overall the hike was easy and can be managed by anyone in decent physical condition (especially during the summer months).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    97
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must in Canmore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Easy walk, fantastic views, place with history and surely so meditative if you are lucky to have not too many people around!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good reward for a short hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband, 19 yo daughter and I took this hike before heading over to the Oh Canada! Eh? dinner show. It was the perfect way to spend a couple of hours. We even got to see a rock climbing club! This is a relatively easy walk that was enjoyed by people of all ages on the day that we went.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great hike for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

There are two ways to access Grassi Lakes. One is a relatively easy walk up an old roadway access, the other a more strenuous hike through the woods and up rocky stairs to the lakes. The views are amazing!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Local Hike to take your guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a wonderful hike that you can do 2ways. An easy route, wide path and gradual walk up, but no scenery. The other route can be a little more challenging, view of the Bow Valley is stunning, the steps can be challenging but a much better way to go to get to the top. A full,loop starting on the more difficult going up and taking the easy route down should take you 45/50 min.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grassi Lakes also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Grassi Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grassi Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.