We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good reward for a short hike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grassi Lakes

Grassi Lakes
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 attractions in Canmore
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Cairo, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good reward for a short hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband, 19 yo daughter and I took this hike before heading over to the Oh Canada! Eh? dinner show. It was the perfect way to spend a couple of hours. We even got to see a rock climbing club! This is a relatively easy walk that was enjoyed by people of all ages on the day that we went.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    78
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great hike for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

There are two ways to access Grassi Lakes. One is a relatively easy walk up an old roadway access, the other a more strenuous hike through the woods and up rocky stairs to the lakes. The views are amazing!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Local Hike to take your guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a wonderful hike that you can do 2ways. An easy route, wide path and gradual walk up, but no scenery. The other route can be a little more challenging, view of the Bow Valley is stunning, the steps can be challenging but a much better way to go to get to the top. A full,loop starting on the more difficult going up and taking the easy route down should take you 45/50 min.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Grassi lakes was a quick hike to a beautiful cove of bright green water. The trails were sparse so we were able to enjoy without any noise to distract from the views. It's an easy hike and definitely worth the time if you're in the area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Great Little Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We enjoyed our little walk in Grassi Lakes. There were lots of places to take photos. The walk is not that difficult. There are lots of plants and trees to look at.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grassi Lakes also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Grassi Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grassi Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.