We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel wonderful stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Canmore

Save Saved
You added Ramada Canmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Canmore
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1402 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N5, Canada (Formerly Canmore Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #16 of 32 hotels in Canmore
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel wonderful stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 nights and was aware by reading reviews that the railway was near , but no problem as on check in I asked and was given a room on the other side to the rail tracks, unfortunately the room smelt of cigarette smoke ( I had specified a non smoking room) So I phoned down to reception where I explained the problem and was told they would check if an other room was available and ring us back , after a few minutes they phoned and said they had a room it was 2 kings instead of a queen and was this ok no problem and they would not hear of us going back for the keys but had them sent up the new room was fine and after about half an hour a lady from reception phoned to make sure we were happy with the room, great service. The room was clean and very comfortable with everything you would need to be content during a stay the breakfast was 1st class plenty to eat the B.fast staff were great and worked non stop making sure the food was replenished. On the Sunday night we had the swimming pool and hot tub to ourselfs as all the kids were away home for school . A great stay thanks to all staff at this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It is certain that you originally reserved a smoke free room. All room in Banff, Canmore and Lake Louise are non–smoking in accordance with local bylaws it’s just that some people choose to smoke anyway and it is not always immediately apparent. We are very happy that we were able to accommodate you and the after changing your rooms that they upgraded you and phoned back to double check that you found everything to your satisfaction. We will certainly relay your comments to the kitchen staff about your experience with our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    234
    136
    43
    26
See reviews for
265
157
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Basically it was a comfortable place to stay for one night. I would not recommend the backside of the hotel if you are a light sleeper as there are trains every half hour or so.
Old TV's, ours kept turning off so we just left it off.
Hot tub was nice, but they alternate the tub and the waterslide so we only got 15 minutes in before they turned it off.
Couple of decent restaurants within walking distance.
Parking spots are very small.
Breakfast room was nice, selections was OK.
For the price it was what we expected. Nothing fancy although I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for you taking your valuable time to review your stay with us. As always at the time of reservation you have the option of train or roadside for your choice of room types. We're sorry the trains disturbed your sleep. During your next stay with us, please opt for the roadside; the rooms are alot quieter and the view from the rooms are just as breathtaking.
The hottub contols are on the wall next to the hottub, they are there for your use at anytime. Just add another 30 minutes whenever you feel like it. The jets are controlled on a timer for energy conservation. We're sorry about the size of the parking spaces. They are regulated by the Town of Canmore land use bylaws.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Let me start by saying how quick and painless the checkin was. It took less than five minutes. The suite we booked was just right for my family. It was two rooms that were joined together but not separated by a wall. Had a fridge and microwave plenty of things to crash on and a nice flat screen that my boys could plug their xbox into later in the evening. It was very easy to get to Banff and Lake Louise as the hotel is very close to the transcanada exits but I couldn't the highway. The kids must have run up the stairs to use the waterslide about 100 times and the breakfast was the best continental I've ever seen. Fresh coffee was available 24 hours, something I really appreciated.

Room Tip: Open concept suites are perfect for families with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are so happy your family enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again and you can expect the same level of service and amenities each and every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights here from Aug 19 to Aug 21. We had a big reunion with a big group of friends from more than 30 years ago. We booked directly with the hotel as the price is the same with hotels.com or the other websites.

The hotel is a little worn out, but we have no complaints about our room which is on the 2nd floor and facing the main street. The view (to the mountains) is great from our window. The breakfast is just regular continental breakfast, fulfilling, and plentiful but plain.

The location is great, as it is only 15 minutes from the Banff National Park, and very close to the highway. The great thing is you can ask to borrow a pass to the park (with a deposit of $150) and that wil save you the daily entrance fee of $20. They have a limited number of passes and it is first come first serve, so make sure you arrive early or ask the front desk when other people have checked out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. During your next stay please ask for one of our rooms that have completed renovations.
We are dissapointed you didn't find our Free Hot Continental breakfast to your liking, we mostly only receive very positive feedback. Please don't hesitate to make a suggestion about breakfast during your next stay. We're very, very pleased you found our Courtesy Park Pass useful and as you know please ask in advance if you're planning to borrow it, the numbers are limited.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The up side to this place is its daily room rate "compared to what everything else in the area" but it's still very expensive. This hotel looks and feels tired and in need of a some serious reinvestment of capital. Paid extra to have a room on the side that does not face the train tracks but then you will face the main street in Canmore. Fixtures in the room were broken, rug looked worn and bathroom was straight out of the 70's. Never paid so much to get so little! Breakfast was just sad unless you grew up eating toaster waffles and pancakes. The sausage was so cheap that it had a strange texture and kids settled on toast because none else was good. We were in the area to see the park so we did not use the indoor slide but it looked fun, and this hotel is in a great central location. Just bring your own wipes to clean before you settle in for the night.

Room Tip: choose a road side room away from train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay with us. We are glad you found our daily rate to be better than the rest of the hotels in the area. We have been told over and over by guests that we offer the best value in the Cnamore/Banff area. Please keep in mind that August is High season in the valley; the rates are quite lower from October to May.
We are disappointed that you did not find our Free Hot continental breakfast, as you can see by other posted reviews, we mostly receive only very positive feedback about it.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our last hotel stay on our trip across Canada and the worst hotel (we stayed in 10 others over two weeks). We stayed 23rd-25th August. The room was not clean, I had to go back to Reception and inform them it had not been vacuumed. I received no apology from the front desk, a call to housekeeping was made and somebody turned up to vacuum where there was also no apology. The room itself was dusty, I ended up going around the room dusting myself! Tops of headboards and the bedside tables, desk and other furniture were dusty and with ground in stains. Behind the TV on the chest of drawers had not seen a duster for months! The lamps were also in a state of disrepair. One of the handles on the chest of drawers came off in my hand as I opened the drawer. The sheets were stained and had a few odd hairs and were very old. It was a huge disappointment due to us staying there for 3 nights. The whole room was very dated and needed a complete makeover. The swimming pool also was extremely busy and completely inadequate for the number of people. Both my children had skin rashes after using the pool. There were large very dangerous pools of water on the ground due to inadequate drainage. This area is also in need of complete renovation. There was also an occasion where no towels were available. After staying at all the other hotels on our holiday, this hotel stood out so negatively I felt I had to write this review. The breakfast was very very well replenished by the staff, but the seating was also completely inadequate for the number of people staying, the saying "feeding time at the zoo" springs to mind! On our last morning before checking out I checked under the beds for anything we might have left, and found old sweet wrappers, an old pen and pad (not ours!) which just shows the very poor housekeeping. I cannot believe this hotel is a Ramada as my experience of Ramada Hotels in the past certainly do not match this one. The only good thing about this hotel was the view of the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Normally I would never write a bad review, its not my style, instead just forget about it and not go back but this place was filthy and my husband said I should write about it on trip adviser so that when people stop going here they will know why. The bathroom was not very clean and we found what looked like pubic hairs in the sink. There was also a big sticky greasy blob (about 1" around) on the dresser and more than one stain on the very starchy stiff sheets.....yuk. I also got a big rash all over my body after coming out of the hot tub, yes an itchy red rash that luckily went away after an immediate all over soapy shower. We went to this place often when it was the Canmore Inns and Suites and never had a problem, we always enjoyed it but now we will NEVER go back here again.The front reception staff were nice though. I would say the cleaners were the problem here, or lack of cleaning care and attention.

Room Tip: Rooms were nice and big but not clean.....at all!Very dirty place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking your valuable time to review your stay with us. We invite you to contact us directly so that we may better pinpoint the problem areas you’ve mentioned. The hotel is under the same management as your last stay here when it was the Canmore Inn & Suites so you can expect the same level of caring when speaking to our management. We would like to isolate which room and which dates you occupied them so we may better take care of the above mentioned issues. We have no record of your issues and problems at the front desk.
Please, feel free to reach us directly at 1-888-678-4656.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Canmore

Address: 1402 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N5, Canada (Formerly Canmore Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Canmore 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a combination of great value and friendly service, the Ramada Inn & Suites in Canmore is ideal for families, conference, meetings, and anyone looking to enjoy the Rockies. The resort offers a three-story waterslide, swimming pool, hot tub and fitness room. The Ramada Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Canmore, Alberta, in the Canadian Rockies. Canmore is home to spectacular mountain views, great family fun, year-round outdoor adventure, and is only minutes from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ramada Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Canmore Hotel Canmore
Ramada Inn And Suites Canmore
Canmore Hotel
Ramada Canmore Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Canmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.